Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 6 of 7 FirstFirst ... 4567 LastLast
    Results 51 to 60 of 63

    New connection

    This is a discussion on New connection within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; It is an RC so there may still be some bugs in it, it may not be the router to ...

    1. #51
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: New connection

      It is an RC so there may still be some bugs in it, it may not be the router to blame. How is it otherwise, I am thinking about installing it as I am having some problems with FF 3.6.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.






    2. Advertisement
    3. #52
      jimbombo's Avatar
      jimbombo is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Dumbarton
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: D-Link DSL-2640S
      Sky TV: Other
      Join Date
      Mar 2011
      Posts
      41
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: New connection

      It's been running good apart from said router bugs and keyscrambler (having to right clik tray to start it when starting browser)

      oh and the plugin container giving me jip with sandboxie

    4. #53
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: New connection

      I think I will install it later. I am getting few up with 3.6 loosing tabs. ie, When I click a link to move to another page, the previous page disappears and I can't go back to it. It doesn't happen all the time but enough to be annoying. Probably an incompatible add on or extension.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    5. #54
      I_Hate_Sky_Awnsers's Avatar
      I_Hate_Sky_Awnsers is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Virgin Standard
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Virgin
      Join Date
      Mar 2011
      Posts
      965
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 59 Times in 57 Posts

      Re: New connection

      Has been some issues with one of the sagems not applying settings.
      Last edited by I_Hate_Sky_Awnsers; 24-03-11 at 11:56 AM.
      Links Router Stats Useful Tutorials Speed Test Check For Test Socket Repetitive Electrical Impulse Noise

      Results from http://www.speed.io (Copied on 2011-04-08 16:36:58)
      Download: 50000 Kbit/s Upload : 4361 kbit/s Connects : 2446 conn/min Ping: 21 ms

    6. #55
      jimbombo's Avatar
      jimbombo is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Dumbarton
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: D-Link DSL-2640S
      Sky TV: Other
      Join Date
      Mar 2011
      Posts
      41
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: New connection

      hi

      Well after the fifth try DLM has now completed , so says MySky account.
      said it completed on the 26th.Ive had 3 changes to my stats

      8249 down 945 up
      8190 down 450 up
      8396 down 945 up

      On MySky acoount it said its been set at up to 16MB and 1mb, why?

      regards

    7. #56
      I_Hate_Sky_Awnsers's Avatar
      I_Hate_Sky_Awnsers is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Virgin Standard
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Virgin
      Join Date
      Mar 2011
      Posts
      965
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 59 Times in 57 Posts

      Re: New connection

      Quote Originally Posted by jimbombo View Post
      hi

      Well after the fifth try DLM has now completed , so says MySky account.
      said it completed on the 26th.Ive had 3 changes to my stats

      8249 down 945 up
      8190 down 450 up
      8396 down 945 up

      On MySky acoount it said its been set at up to 16MB and 1mb, why?

      regards
      Sounds like an error with your MySky account. Either that or you have a terrible line fault making your attenuation read much higher than it actually is.

      Or maybe its just another DLM issue with it setting it really poorly, might not be a bad idea to give sky a call and ask them what your line is configured to Tier 1 will be able to tell you what it is configured to, they just won't be able to make any adjustments.
      Links Router Stats Useful Tutorials Speed Test Check For Test Socket Repetitive Electrical Impulse Noise

      Results from http://www.speed.io (Copied on 2011-04-08 16:36:58)
      Download: 50000 Kbit/s Upload : 4361 kbit/s Connects : 2446 conn/min Ping: 21 ms

    8. #57
      jimbombo's Avatar
      jimbombo is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Dumbarton
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: D-Link DSL-2640S
      Sky TV: Other
      Join Date
      Mar 2011
      Posts
      41
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: New connection

      I thought it an error too and i will give them a call tomorrow.

      I still think the D-Links where the problem.

      ive used 6 sky filters which brought my download to 6555 but the filter i have from BE gives me what i get now , strange

    9. #58
      I_Hate_Sky_Awnsers's Avatar
      I_Hate_Sky_Awnsers is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Virgin Standard
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Virgin
      Join Date
      Mar 2011
      Posts
      965
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 59 Times in 57 Posts

      Re: New connection

      Better quality filters from BE I'm guessing
      Links Router Stats Useful Tutorials Speed Test Check For Test Socket Repetitive Electrical Impulse Noise

      Results from http://www.speed.io (Copied on 2011-04-08 16:36:58)
      Download: 50000 Kbit/s Upload : 4361 kbit/s Connects : 2446 conn/min Ping: 21 ms

    10. #59
      jimbombo's Avatar
      jimbombo is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Dumbarton
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: D-Link DSL-2640S
      Sky TV: Other
      Join Date
      Mar 2011
      Posts
      41
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: New connection

      Stats changed to 8260 down 945 up this morning

      I take it DLM hasnt finished then, im not going to phone sky until im sure DLM is finished.
      Wonder why it says on mysky page it completed on the 26th (another error)

      I'm glad something is actually happening though.

    11. #60
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: New connection

      Why do you want to phone Sky? If you are getting over 8Mb down and nearly a Mb up with an attenuation of 44.5db, your connection is like Mr Kipling's cakes.

      What is your noise margin like? Possibly it has been too low and resynced the line to stabilise it.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





     

     
    Page 6 of 7 FirstFirst ... 4567 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION