Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 5 of 7 FirstFirst ... 34567 LastLast
    Results 41 to 50 of 63

    New connection

    This is a discussion on New connection within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Originally Posted by jimbombo hmm you could be right my router has not arrived again, was told it would be ...

    1. #41
      I_Hate_Sky_Awnsers's Avatar
      I_Hate_Sky_Awnsers is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Virgin Standard
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Virgin
      Join Date
      Mar 2011
      Posts
      965
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 59 Times in 57 Posts

      Re: New connection

      Quote Originally Posted by jimbombo View Post
      hmm you could be right

      my router has not arrived again, was told it would be here on Sat and to stay in which i did.
      got a callback today from the agent who set it up who apoligised and said he got intouch with parcelforce who said it would be with me today (up to6pm).

      so i phoned up and got a woman who couldnt tell me anything about it, nothing in notes about a router or parcelforce .
      the guy said he'd phone back tomorrow but thats 2 days iv'e stayed in and nothing.
      really annoyed
      If you have to call tell them to look in order tracking. It will then give a tracking number that can be pulled up on the royal mail website. You could ask for the tracking number to track it yourself.
      Links Router Stats Useful Tutorials Speed Test Check For Test Socket Repetitive Electrical Impulse Noise

      Results from http://www.speed.io (Copied on 2011-04-08 16:36:58)
      Download: 50000 Kbit/s Upload : 4361 kbit/s Connects : 2446 conn/min Ping: 21 ms


    2. Advertisement
    3. #42
      jimbombo's Avatar
      jimbombo is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Dumbarton
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: D-Link DSL-2640S
      Sky TV: Other
      Join Date
      Mar 2011
      Posts
      41
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: New connection

      got my new router on wednesday same one (D-Link) with same problems: wont apply settings and not upgrading.

      phoned up today and getting another router sent , agent said she would put a note in saying to send a netgear or sagem.

      when i changed the router and cables and filter i went from 7999 to 6555 so i used my BE filter again and went back up to 7999.

      looks like my line does not like sky filters , thats four ive tried.

    4. #43
      jimbombo's Avatar
      jimbombo is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Dumbarton
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: D-Link DSL-2640S
      Sky TV: Other
      Join Date
      Mar 2011
      Posts
      41
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: New connection

      can someone tell me whats happening here it be appreciated:

      kernel: Line 0: xDSL G.994 training
      kernel: Line 0: ADSL G.992 started
      kernel: Line 0: ADSL G.992 channel analysis
      kernel: Line 0: ADSL G.992 message exchange
      kernel: Line 0: ADSL link up, Path 0, us=767, ds=7999
      syslog: PPP LCP UP.
      syslog: Received valid IP address from server. Connection UP.
      kernel: eth0 Link DOWN.
      kernel: eth0 Link UP 100 mbps full duplex
      kernel: eth0 Link DOWN.
      kernel: eth0 Link UP 100 mbps full duplex
      kernel: eth0 Link DOWN.
      kernel: eth0 Link UP 100 mbps full duplex
      kernel: eth0 Link DOWN.
      kernel: eth0 Link UP 100 mbps full duplex
      kernel: eth0 Link DOWN.
      kernel: eth0 Link UP 100 mbps full duplex
      kernel: eth0 Link DOWN.
      kernel: eth0 Link UP 100 mbps full duplex
      kernel: eth0 Link DOWN.
      kernel: eth0 Link UP 100 mbps full duplex
      kernel: eth0 Link DOWN.
      kernel: eth0 Link UP 100 mbps full duplex
      kernel: eth0 Link DOWN.
      kernel: eth0 Link UP 100 mbps full duplex
      kernel: eth0 Link DOWN.
      kernel: eth0 Link UP 100 mbps full duplex
      kernel: eth0 Link DOWN.
      kernel: eth0 Link UP 100 mbps full duplex
      kernel: eth0 Link DOWN.
      kernel: eth0 Link UP 100 mbps full duplex
      kernel: eth0 Link DOWN.
      kernel: eth0 Link UP 100 mbps full duplex
      kernel: eth0 Link DOWN.
      kernel: eth0 Link UP 100 mbps full duplex
      kernel: eth0 Link DOWN.
      kernel: eth0 Link UP 100 mbps full duplex
      kernel: eth0 Link DOWN.
      kernel: eth0 Link UP 100 mbps full duplex
      kernel: eth0 Link DOWN.
      kernel: eth0 Link UP 100 mbps full duplex
      kernel: eth0 Link DOWN.
      kernel: eth0 Link UP 100 mbps full duplex
      kernel: eth0 Link DOWN.
      kernel: eth0 Link UP 100 mbps full duplex
      kernel: eth0 Link DOWN.
      kernel: eth0 Link UP 100 mbps full duplex
      kernel: eth0 Link DOWN.
      kernel: eth0 Link UP 100 mbps full duplex
      kernel: eth0 Link DOWN.
      kernel: eth0 Link UP 100 mbps full duplex
      kernel: eth0 Link DOWN.
      kernel: eth0 Link UP 100 mbps full duplex
      kernel: eth0 Link DOWN.
      kernel: eth0 Link UP 100 mbps full duplex

      is this normal?

      im using the D-Link router just incase heres my stats

      Port Status TxPkts RxPkts Collisions Tx B/s Rx B/s Up Time
      WAN PPPoA 822463 1356492 0 222 6874 73:27:39
      LAN 1459422 937542 0 7239 377 73:28:22
      WLAN 72125 34169 0 565 104 12:02:40
      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 7999 kbps 767 kbps
      Line Attenuation 44.5db 26.1db
      Noise Margin 8.1db 16.4db
      Last edited by jimbombo; 20-03-11 at 01:19 AM. Reason: added stats

    5. #44
      I_Hate_Sky_Awnsers's Avatar
      I_Hate_Sky_Awnsers is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Virgin Standard
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Virgin
      Join Date
      Mar 2011
      Posts
      965
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 59 Times in 57 Posts

      Re: New connection

      Looks like DLM has started. Either that or it was just syncing with the exchange.

      There is also a great deal about Ethernet
      Links Router Stats Useful Tutorials Speed Test Check For Test Socket Repetitive Electrical Impulse Noise

      Results from http://www.speed.io (Copied on 2011-04-08 16:36:58)
      Download: 50000 Kbit/s Upload : 4361 kbit/s Connects : 2446 conn/min Ping: 21 ms

    6. #45
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: New connection

      Is there no date/times against these entries? The kernel events could be taking place in a fraction of a second. These are on the router side of the device, so it is possible the modem is loosing contact with the router for a brief period. Its possibly a bug in the firmware. Fuzzy will probably know.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    7. #46
      jimbombo's Avatar
      jimbombo is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Dumbarton
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: D-Link DSL-2640S
      Sky TV: Other
      Join Date
      Mar 2011
      Posts
      41
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: New connection

      ive asked for a different router because the d-link is pants

      i get that constantly on my logs it wont show anything else even if ticked.

    8. #47
      jimbombo's Avatar
      jimbombo is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Dumbarton
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: D-Link DSL-2640S
      Sky TV: Other
      Join Date
      Mar 2011
      Posts
      41
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: New connection

      hi

      my router is at the scottish distibution centre being processed
      do you think it will be delivered today ?


      cheers

    9. #48
      jimbombo's Avatar
      jimbombo is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Dumbarton
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: D-Link DSL-2640S
      Sky TV: Other
      Join Date
      Mar 2011
      Posts
      41
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: New connection

      received new router (sagem 2034n) today and phoned sky to reconfigure line.
      agent said he'd email his manager to get it going over the next 2 days.
      im on mer

    10. #49
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: New connection

      Have your stats changed that much? Apart from a wee bit low on the upload, they were pretty good. Let's hope they don't mess it up.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    11. #50
      jimbombo's Avatar
      jimbombo is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Dumbarton
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: D-Link DSL-2640S
      Sky TV: Other
      Join Date
      Mar 2011
      Posts
      41
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: New connection

      No, stats are same but sky routers have a problem with my firefox 4 rc. I still cant tick and apply the router log boxes but in opera it works no problem(d-link)didnt work with any of them)

      yes i hope everything runs smoother this time.

     

     
    Page 5 of 7 FirstFirst ... 34567 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION