Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 2 of 8 FirstFirst 1234 ... LastLast
    Results 11 to 20 of 72

    DLM Not Started - Line Active for 6 Days

    This is a discussion on DLM Not Started - Line Active for 6 Days within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Originally Posted by rocky3434 Hi...Cresswell80 I was in the same situation as you..My broadband was activated on the 4th.. I ...

    1. #11
      pat46's Avatar
      pat46 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: D-Link DSL-2640S
      Sky TV: Other
      Join Date
      Mar 2011
      Posts
      102
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts

      Re: DLM Not Started - Line Active for 6 Days

      Quote Originally Posted by rocky3434 View Post
      Hi...Cresswell80

      I was in the same situation as you..My broadband was activated on the 4th..
      I rang sky this morning asking about DLM and they started it as I was on the phone..
      Even watched it start on my router stats page as I spoke to them...
      i just rang and i spoke to a lovely lady who was really helpfull,and said my DLM hadnt started(activated on the 4th) but would keep a eye on it today and would call me back today or tommrow and confirm when it will start.fantatic customer service and the lady had a lovely voice aswell


    2. Advertisement
    3. #12
      cresswell80's Avatar
      cresswell80 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: WETHERBY
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: D-Link DSL-2640S
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Mar 2011
      Posts
      11
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: DLM Not Started - Line Active for 6 Days

      pretty good service pat46!

      I called up again and the guy on the phone said that his system said that DLM is currently managing my line...

      Still no change on the stats though, and mysky status still says "Line testing is not currently in progress."


    4. #13
      cresswell80's Avatar
      cresswell80 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: WETHERBY
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: D-Link DSL-2640S
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Mar 2011
      Posts
      11
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: DLM Not Started - Line Active for 6 Days

      this looks more like it:

      Connection Speed 16382 kbps 945 kbps
      Line Attenuation 14.5db 8.9db
      Noise Margin 11.4db 9.0db


      still room for improvement on speed too I would have thought, at noise margin of 11.4db?

    5. #14
      pat46's Avatar
      pat46 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: D-Link DSL-2640S
      Sky TV: Other
      Join Date
      Mar 2011
      Posts
      102
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts

      Re: DLM Not Started - Line Active for 6 Days

      DLM kicked in overnight and my speed has gone from 4 mg to 16mg

      speedtest.net says im on 14mg,TBH im happy with what i have now

      see below......

      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 16376 kbps 945 kbps
      Line Attenuation 25.0db 14.1db
      Noise Margin 7.6db 8.1db

    6. #15
      Sebby's Avatar
      Sebby is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Potters Bar
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2008
      Posts
      258
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: DLM Not Started - Line Active for 6 Days

      Quote Originally Posted by cresswell80 View Post
      this looks more like it:

      Connection Speed 16382 kbps 945 kbps
      Line Attenuation 14.5db 8.9db
      Noise Margin 11.4db 9.0db


      still room for improvement on speed too I would have thought, at noise margin of 11.4db?
      I'm not sure if it's a coincidence, but DLM did start on mine, although it got stuck after the first night with a similar noise margin. It never did sort itself and I'm still trying to sort with Sky.

    7. #16
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      27,894
      Thanks
      810
      Thanked 2,194 Times in 2,064 Posts

      Re: DLM Not Started - Line Active for 6 Days

      Glad to see that for both of you DLM finally appears to be working.

      For cresswell80: Yes things still have room for improvement with that noise margin. If you are not already doing so, could you use the test socket.

      For pat46: The difference in the figures is due to conversion factor from kbps to Mb/s, overheads & the fact that you are comparing actual connection rate with what a site reports back with delays in between.

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    8. The Following User Says Thank You to Scubbie For This Useful Post:

      pat46 (09-03-11)

    9. #17
      pat46's Avatar
      pat46 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: D-Link DSL-2640S
      Sky TV: Other
      Join Date
      Mar 2011
      Posts
      102
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts

      Re: DLM Not Started - Line Active for 6 Days

      The difference in the figures is due to conversion factor from kbps to Mb/s, overheads & the fact that you are comparing actual connection rate with what a site reports back with delays in between
      Thanks Scubbie for that info i didnt realise that until now

    10. #18
      il_dottore's Avatar
      il_dottore is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Drighlington
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Mar 2011
      Posts
      9
      Thanks
      9
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: DLM Not Started - Line Active for 6 Days

      I recently migrated to Sky Unlimited on the 7th March

      My speeds started on the 4095kbps downstream like everyone else. And funnily enough my stats changed this morning to the same down/up as you guys, although mysky doesn't show any record of DLM starting yet?

      Downstream 16383 kbps / Upstream 945 kbps
      Line Attenuation 18.5db / 11.1 db
      Noise margin 7.4db / 15.4

    11. #19
      User05's Avatar
      User05 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Dec 2008
      Posts
      3,030
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 171 Times in 164 Posts

      Re: DLM Not Started - Line Active for 6 Days

      Mysky's information regarding DLM is usually miles behind. It's active if the line re-syncs between the hours of 1-6am.

    12. The Following User Says Thank You to User05 For This Useful Post:

      il_dottore (09-03-11)

    13. #20
      pat46's Avatar
      pat46 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: D-Link DSL-2640S
      Sky TV: Other
      Join Date
      Mar 2011
      Posts
      102
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts

      Re: DLM Not Started - Line Active for 6 Days

      Quote Originally Posted by il_dottore View Post
      I recently migrated to Sky Unlimited on the 7th March

      My speeds started on the 4095kbps downstream like everyone else. And funnily enough my stats changed this morning to the same down/up as you guys, although mysky doesn't show any record of DLM starting yet?

      Downstream 16383 kbps / Upstream 945 kbps
      Line Attenuation 18.5db / 11.1 db
      Noise margin 7.4db / 15.4
      i rang sky yesterday to ask them to start testing. funny how a few peeps DLM kicked in this morning,probaly down to a fair few calls they must have recived.nothing like a bit of people power

     

     
    Page 2 of 8 FirstFirst 1234 ... LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION