Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 10 of 10

    Connection speed and DLM

    This is a discussion on Connection speed and DLM within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Hello, I have been viewing the threads here trying to improve my understanding of the 'sky broadband' systems. I was ...

    1. #1
      akalozz's Avatar
      akalozz is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Humberston
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Mar 2011
      Posts
      4
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Connection speed and DLM

      Hello, I have been viewing the threads here trying to improve my understanding of the 'sky broadband' systems.

      I was until last week happily using Xilo as my ISP, providing me with a solid 7.1mbits connection (business package) non 21CN or LLU.
      Sky have unbundled my exchange so for the great price and good reports I signed up, my line went live on Thursday 03-03-11 and I believe I have been subject to DLM since this time.
      My question, prior to sky I was receiving a great speed for my location using a draytek vigor 110 modem - up speed 832000, down speed 8128000, 37dB Loop Att and SNR margin was 10.
      I am now using a Linksys WAG320N and my stats are:

      DSL Mode: ADSL2+
      DSL Channel:
      DSL Upstream Rate: 605 Kbps
      DSL Downstream Rate: 4095 Kbps

      Down up
      DSL Noise Margin: 14.3 dB 17.9 dB
      DSL Attenuation: 41.5 dB 24.5 dB
      DSL Transmit Power: 19.4 dBm 4.9 dBm

      I have seen my attenuation drop over the past few days, can anybody identify when my line will begin to increase in speed? It seems there is no hard and fast rule.

      Thank you for taking the time to read my post, any help/guidance is greatly appreciated!


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Connection speed and DLM

      Your attenuation has increased due to the move to ADSL2+. Different routers also read the attenuation slightly different, which probably accounts for your 4.5db increase. If you have a test socket, try the router stats there. ADSL2+ requires a cleaner line than ADSLMax, which you were previously on and any slight problem with your wiring will be amplified.

      If you have been connected for more than 4 days, call Sky and ask them to configure your line as DLM has not started. It usually starts in 1 to 3 days, but some are finding that it is not starting as it should.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    4. #3
      siege2's Avatar
      siege2 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: FenceHouses
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2304n
      Sky TV: Other
      Join Date
      Feb 2011
      Location
      DH4 Area North East
      Posts
      45
      Thanks
      7
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Connection speed and DLM

      "it looks like they have not started the DLM the Women on the phone at sky said to me" yours could be exactly the same do what Isitme has said and ask nicely as I did, Person at sky to check If DLM has Started then they should get somebody to sort it whilst your on hold watch your modem stats change like I did :-)

    5. #4
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: Connection speed and DLM

      If you've not been live for 10 days then Sky shouldn't manually set the line and just enable DLM. If it's been over 10 days since activation then they'll probably just manually configure the line

      In your case you've not been live for over 10 days yet so Sky should just enable DLM and then you'll see an increase over the next 7-10 days
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    6. #5
      akalozz's Avatar
      akalozz is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Humberston
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Mar 2011
      Posts
      4
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Connection speed and DLM

      Just called sky and amazingly got an instant pick-up with no wait! Friendly guy increased my speeds and has restarted the DLM process from this position.

      Thanks for the advice.

    7. #6
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: Connection speed and DLM

      They shouldn't have really increased the speed if DLM hasn't run the first time but it's done now
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    8. #7
      akalozz's Avatar
      akalozz is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Humberston
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Mar 2011
      Posts
      4
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Connection speed and DLM

      Speed has picked up via my VNC'd speed test from the office. I'm now looking forward to see what is achievable over the next 10 days.

    9. #8
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Connection speed and DLM

      A download of 9.2 Mb means a connection speed of over 10 Mb. I doubt if you will get much more, but that is very good for your attenuation.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    10. #9
      akalozz's Avatar
      akalozz is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Humberston
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Mar 2011
      Posts
      4
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Connection speed and DLM

      I'm happy its now moving, stats are now
      DSL Upstream Rate: 766 Kbps
      DSL Downstream Rate: 10755 Kbps

      Down up
      DSL Noise Margin: 7.2 dB 17.1 dB
      DSL Attenuation: 41.5 dB 24.6 dB
      DSL Transmit Power: 18.9 dBm 9.4 dBm

      Sky helpdesk said they would start the sync at 10 and set a max of 16 on the line, then the DLM will train between. I'm happy where I am but any extra achievable will be welcome!

    11. #10
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Connection speed and DLM

      You should get a good bit more on your upload. You must have a very good line to get 10.7 sync with a +7 noise margin.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION