Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 8 of 8

    Sky test

    This is a discussion on Sky test within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; ADSL Link Downstream Upstream Connection Speed 4095 kbps 605 kbps Line Attenuation 32.0db 18.3db Noise Margin 17.1db 17.8db Hi.. My ...

    1. #1
      rocky3434's Avatar
      rocky3434 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: NEWAS
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: D-Link DSL-2640S
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Aug 2010
      Location
      North East
      Posts
      36
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Sky test

      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 4095 kbps 605 kbps
      Line Attenuation 32.0db 18.3db
      Noise Margin 17.1db 17.8db


      Hi.. My Sky unlimited broadband was activated yesterday...no problems so far..
      What does the Sky Test mean in the router maintenance...
      It says..

      TEST COMPLETED SUCCESSFULLY

      Return Code:0

      Thanks


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: Sky test

      Sky test is to diagnose connection issues, if you're connected then ignore it
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    4. #3
      siege2's Avatar
      siege2 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: FenceHouses
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2304n
      Sky TV: Other
      Join Date
      Feb 2011
      Location
      DH4 Area North East
      Posts
      45
      Thanks
      7
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky test

      Hi Rocky
      Mine also activated on the 3rd around 1 30 pm and also have the same connection speed as you I am now past my second day by a few hours and my connection speeds are the same, shall I update here If they do change !

      Kenneth
      PS I am also 0191 :-)

    5. #4
      I_Hate_Sky_Awnsers's Avatar
      I_Hate_Sky_Awnsers is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Virgin Standard
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Virgin
      Join Date
      Mar 2011
      Posts
      965
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 59 Times in 57 Posts

      Re: Sky test

      If your attenuation and SNR are the same i would say that you should both be good for about 14Mb
      Links Router Stats Useful Tutorials Speed Test Check For Test Socket Repetitive Electrical Impulse Noise

      Results from http://www.speed.io (Copied on 2011-04-08 16:36:58)
      Download: 50000 Kbit/s Upload : 4361 kbit/s Connects : 2446 conn/min Ping: 21 ms

    6. #5
      joss's Avatar
      joss is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Adwick-le-Street
      Broadband ISP: sky max
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+HDmultiroom
      Join Date
      May 2009
      Location
      South Yorkshire
      Posts
      621
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky test

      If all being well I would say 12400kbps after over heads taken off.

      adsl2+ (LLU) 13824 kbps Throughput 12234kbps

    7. #6
      siege2's Avatar
      siege2 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: FenceHouses
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2304n
      Sky TV: Other
      Join Date
      Feb 2011
      Location
      DH4 Area North East
      Posts
      45
      Thanks
      7
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky test

      Quote Originally Posted by I_Hate_Sky_Awnsers View Post
      If your attenuation and SNR are the same i would say that you should both be good for about 14Mb
      My attenuation is at 2.5 down and sky llu has snr at 15.1 although was on 11 snr with idnet ISP, dont sky put your snr to 7?
      Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Sky test-nearly-day-three-71-hours-27-minutes.jpg  

    8. #7
      PaulSky's Avatar
      PaulSky is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Location
      Essex
      Posts
      4,202
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 16 Times in 16 Posts

      Re: Sky test

      Sky DLM will look to lower the noise margin automatically and will target around 7db.

    9. #8
      steve61's Avatar
      steve61 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Falmouth
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Other
      Join Date
      Mar 2008
      Location
      Cornwall
      Posts
      51
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky test

      Quote Originally Posted by siege2 View Post
      My attenuation is at 2.5 down and sky llu has snr at 15.1 although was on 11 snr with idnet ISP, dont sky put your snr to 7?
      Holy doodah do you plug directly into the exchange?

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION