Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 123
    Results 21 to 30 of 30

    Check my stats

    This is a discussion on Check my stats within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; As expected, you had a resync between 2 and 3. You will just have to wait it out now until ...

    1. #21
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Check my stats

      As expected, you had a resync between 2 and 3. You will just have to wait it out now until DLM completes. As I mentioned in post 19 you have been moved to ADSL2+, if you don't get your original speed back, you can request to be put back to G.DMT. You have quite a bit of noise margin to spare so it might not be necessary.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.






    2. Advertisement
    3. #22
      markm9's Avatar
      markm9 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 0191
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky Q Silver
      Join Date
      Dec 2007
      Location
      NE England
      Posts
      201
      Thanks
      24
      Thanked 12 Times in 10 Posts

      Re: Check my stats

      posted below are my stats after dlm has kicked in, i have a couple of questions.
      1. My router didnt resync between 2 and 3 this morning, does this mean dlm has already finished after only 2 days, dlm started on the 9th?
      2. after dlm has finished i want to move my router, but the grey cable sky have provided me with is not long enough, i need a cable about 2m in length, any recommendations out there.
      BTW my router is connected to master socket with a filter plate attached, before dlm kicked in i was getting just over 3.3 mb speed.

      Router StatisticsSystem Up Time: 68:25:22

      Port Status TxPkts RxPkts Collisions Tx B/s Rx B/s Up Time
      WAN PPPoA 2125113 3358652 0 1976 473 41:08:52
      LAN 0 0 0 0 0 00:00:00
      WLAN 3928176 2550632 0 7707 4193 25:32:22
      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 2047 kbps 718 kbps
      Line Attenuation 57.0db 35.3db
      Noise Margin 7.6db 9.5db
      Poll Interval: (secs)
      Thanks for your help

    4. #23
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Check my stats

      Call Sky and ask them to return your connection to G.DMT as it was before as ADSL2+ is not suiting it. They may tell you you have to wait the 10 days until DLM officially finishes. You can try telling them that it is doing no good, but it depends a lot on who takes your call, whether they will change it back right away..

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    5. #24
      markm9's Avatar
      markm9 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 0191
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky Q Silver
      Join Date
      Dec 2007
      Location
      NE England
      Posts
      201
      Thanks
      24
      Thanked 12 Times in 10 Posts

      Re: Check my stats

      Just rang sky, who have reconfigured my line, and restarted my line with DLM, below are my new stats, noise margin on d/load and u/load have both increased with these figs., what speeds both u/load and d/load could i expect at the end of 10 days.

      Router StatisticsSystem Up Time: 83:29:47

      Port Status TxPkts RxPkts Collisions Tx B/s Rx B/s Up Time
      WAN PPPoA 3241 5414 0 1573 28480 00:03:38
      LAN 0 0 0 0 0 00:00:00
      WLAN 4483441 2910412 0 6684145 2097089 00:03:28
      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 2048 kbps 800 kbps
      Line Attenuation 56.5db 31.5db
      Noise Margin 14.6db 13.0db
      Poll Interval: (secs)

    6. #25
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Check my stats

      That's good, they have put you back on G.DMT. Try resyncing your router by turnig the power off for a minute then back on again. You may find you get a speed increase. I did not think DLM worked on G.DMT as it is designed to optimise ADSL2+ lines, but I could be wrong.

      With your present stats you should get pretty near 4Mb down and 900+kb up.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    7. #26
      markm9's Avatar
      markm9 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 0191
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky Q Silver
      Join Date
      Dec 2007
      Location
      NE England
      Posts
      201
      Thanks
      24
      Thanked 12 Times in 10 Posts

      Re: Check my stats

      Tried resyncing my router, with no change in speed, ill just leave it for next 10 days, and post stats up, ill be more than happy if i get near 4mb and 900kbs when finished

    8. #27
      markm9's Avatar
      markm9 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 0191
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky Q Silver
      Join Date
      Dec 2007
      Location
      NE England
      Posts
      201
      Thanks
      24
      Thanked 12 Times in 10 Posts

      Stats are wrong!!!

      I have just checked my sky, for my bband testing and it is showing that my line testing is complete as of 12/03/2011, after only 3 days testing on DLM, with figures of Download Speed
      Your connection has been set to a download speed of up to
      2.0Mb (2048Kb)

      Upload Speed
      Your connection has been set to an upload speed of up to
      0.8Mb (800Kb)

      However when i checked my router page i have stats of
      Router StatisticsSystem Up Time: 23:10:28

      Port Status TxPkts RxPkts Collisions Tx B/s Rx B/s Up Time
      WAN PPPoA 21231 27644 0 233 930 08:45:16
      LAN 0 0 0 0 0 00:00:00
      WLAN 2968456 1797399 0 68156 6681 08:45:08
      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 3008 kbps 625 kbps
      Line Attenuation 57.0db 35.3db
      Noise Margin 6.9db 9.5db
      Poll Interval: (secs)
      I did ring sky yesterday, and they restarted DLM, how come stats are different?

    9. #28
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Check my stats

      It looks like I was right. When DLM is put on the line it moves you back to ADSL2+, which is not what you want. You will be better of on G.DMT. If I were you I would call them and ask them to put you back on this and configure it for its best speed. You are going to get no more from ADSL2+ and it does not look like it will be stable. Once again, it depends on who you get if it is to be done properly.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    10. The Following User Says Thank You to Isitme For This Useful Post:

      markm9 (13-03-11)

    11. #29
      markm9's Avatar
      markm9 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 0191
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky Q Silver
      Join Date
      Dec 2007
      Location
      NE England
      Posts
      201
      Thanks
      24
      Thanked 12 Times in 10 Posts

      Re: Check my stats

      Thanks for that, ill give em a ring, fingers crossed i get through to someone who can do this for me, when i ring up is there any specific dept. i need to ask for

    12. #30
      markm9's Avatar
      markm9 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 0191
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky Q Silver
      Join Date
      Dec 2007
      Location
      NE England
      Posts
      201
      Thanks
      24
      Thanked 12 Times in 10 Posts

      Re: Check my stats

      Just got through to cst team, who have put my line onto g.dmt, this will automatically kick me off DLM, posted below are my new stats


      ystem Up Time: 03:23:10
      Port Status TxPkts RxPkts Collisions Tx B/s Rx B/s Up Time
      WAN PPPoA 539 631 0 730 2745 00:02:53
      LAN 0 0 0 0 0 00:00:00
      WLAN 118101 75281 0 859529 54221 00:02:43
      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 3200 kbps 960 kbps
      Line Attenuation 56.5db 31.5db
      Noise Margin 8.1db 6.0d

      Thanks to Isitme for all your help

     

     
    Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 123

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION