Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
    Results 11 to 20 of 30

    Check my stats

    This is a discussion on Check my stats within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Stats from my master socket,looking at system up time 35 hrs., is different to wan/ wlan time, does this mean ...

    1. #11
      markm9's Avatar
      markm9 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 0191
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky Q Silver
      Join Date
      Dec 2007
      Location
      NE England
      Posts
      201
      Thanks
      24
      Thanked 12 Times in 10 Posts

      Re: Check my stats

      Stats from my master socket,looking at system up time 35 hrs., is different to wan/ wlan time, does this mean DLM has kicked in.

      ROUTER STATISTICS

      System Up Time: 35:40:36
      Port Status TxPkts RxPkts Collisions Tx B/s Rx B/s Up Time
      WAN PPPoA 115736 143999 0 631 7077 04:34:35
      LAN 0 0 0 0 0 00:00:00
      WLAN 1244084 931024 0 70631 5814 04:34:25
      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 2720 kbps 512 kbps
      Line Attenuation 57.0db 31.5db
      Noise Margin 6.4db 13.0db


    2. Advertisement
    3. #12
      User05's Avatar
      User05 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Dec 2008
      Posts
      3,030
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 171 Times in 164 Posts

      Re: Check my stats

      That's a bit more like it for the attenuation. SNRs a tad low, suggesting still a bit of noise ongoing. As a last thing to see if you'll be able to get any more, throw up a set of stats from the test socket (unscrewing the master socket faceplate off and connecting just a filter to the test socket and the short grey dsl cable to the router).

      In regards to DLM - it still doesn't look like it's started. WAN uptime just means you moved/the router re-synced 4 odd hours ago.

    4. #13
      markm9's Avatar
      markm9 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 0191
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky Q Silver
      Join Date
      Dec 2007
      Location
      NE England
      Posts
      201
      Thanks
      24
      Thanked 12 Times in 10 Posts

      Re: Check my stats

      Thanks for that, router must have re-synced, how and why does this happen, ill post stats up from test socket also

    5. #14
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is online now Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Check my stats

      If the noise margin drops too low to maintain the signal, the router will resync. The resync for DLM is always in the early hours, unless the line is unstable. Did you look at your stats in the early morning? It is possible DLM reset your speed, but could not sustain it. Have a look in your router log and see if it resynced between 2 and 3 am.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    6. #15
      markm9's Avatar
      markm9 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 0191
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky Q Silver
      Join Date
      Dec 2007
      Location
      NE England
      Posts
      201
      Thanks
      24
      Thanked 12 Times in 10 Posts

      Re: Check my stats

      posted below are my stats with a filterplate fitted;

      ystem Up Time: 00:13:50
      Port Status TxPkts RxPkts Collisions Tx B/s Rx B/s Up Time
      WAN PPPoA 1947 2089 0 1002 2182 00:12:30
      LAN 0 0 0 0 0 00:00:00
      WLAN 10230 8367 0 23662 4459 00:05:57
      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 3328 kbps 512 kbps
      Line Attenuation 56.5db 31.5db
      Noise Margin 7.4db 14.0db

      this is with the router plugged straight into filterplate, my phones work fine, only issue i have is that when i move router to extension, i get no bband signal, ive asked previously on this forum, but this is the furthest ive manged to get, ill post a copy of my wiring up from master socket, if anyone can help that would be great,as i previously got totally lost in what i was doing

    7. #16
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is online now Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Check my stats

      when i move router to extension, i get no bband
      That is to be expected, the whole idea of a filtered faceplate is to remove interference from the extensions. It does this by filtering out the signal required for the phone, feeding this to the extensions and feeding the raw signal to the ADSL port. Depending on the type of plate you have, it also feeds the full signal to the A-B terminals on the back of the plate. These can be used to extend the broadband signal to extensions.

      The full benefit of a filtered faceplate can only be obtained by plugging the router directly into it.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    8. #17
      markm9's Avatar
      markm9 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 0191
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky Q Silver
      Join Date
      Dec 2007
      Location
      NE England
      Posts
      201
      Thanks
      24
      Thanked 12 Times in 10 Posts

      Re: Check my stats

      thanks for that

    9. #18
      markm9's Avatar
      markm9 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 0191
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky Q Silver
      Join Date
      Dec 2007
      Location
      NE England
      Posts
      201
      Thanks
      24
      Thanked 12 Times in 10 Posts

      Re: Check my stats

      is it worth me ringing sky, to ask to be put on dlm, been connected for about week now, or should i just leave alone

    10. #19
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is online now Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Check my stats

      At the moment you are on G.DMT which is probably best for your line. If you get DLM started you will probably be put on ADSL2+ which may not suit your line and drop your speed back. It is sometimes difficult to get back where you were when this happens, so I would leave things as they are for the time being. If DLM starts there is not much you can do about it, except wait till it finishes and see how things work out.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    11. #20
      markm9's Avatar
      markm9 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 0191
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky Q Silver
      Join Date
      Dec 2007
      Location
      NE England
      Posts
      201
      Thanks
      24
      Thanked 12 Times in 10 Posts

      Re: Check my stats

      looks like DLM has kicked in just checked my connection d/load droped by just over 1mb, u/load has increased;

      System Up Time: 07:19:13
      Port Status TxPkts RxPkts Collisions Tx B/s Rx B/s Up Time
      WAN PPPoA 2134 2259 0 53 96 03:47:23
      LAN 0 0 0 0 0 00:00:00
      WLAN 96872 67372 0 8064 848 03:47:13
      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 2048 kbps 639 kbps
      Line Attenuation 57.5db 35.3db
      Noise Margin 12.4db 9.0db

     

     
    Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION