Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 21

    So what could be wrong with my wiring.

    This is a discussion on So what could be wrong with my wiring. within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; I usually get around 6000kbps downstream and usually during the day 6.1db noise margin which usually drops all the time ...

    1. #1
      MattyRockster's Avatar
      MattyRockster is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: mattrock93@hotmail.com
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Feb 2011
      Posts
      14
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      So what could be wrong with my wiring.

      I usually get around 6000kbps downstream and usually during the day 6.1db noise margin which usually drops all the time and makes me reset my router i have plugged it into the test socket and got these stats which was shocking to me

      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 7871 kbps 838 kbps
      Line Attenuation 46.0 db 27.5 db
      Noise Margin 9.2 db 8.5 db

      Does anyone know what this shows? a fault wire a faulty phone socket?
      Thanks for the help you guys are great


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      User05's Avatar
      User05 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Dec 2008
      Posts
      3,030
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 171 Times in 164 Posts

      Re: So what could be wrong with my wiring.

      Do you have extension sockets?
      What exactly do you have plugged into them?

    4. #3
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: So what could be wrong with my wiring.

      Poor internal wiring from the faceplate onwards - but a filtered faceplate and then have the router in it at all times
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    5. #4
      MattyRockster's Avatar
      MattyRockster is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: mattrock93@hotmail.com
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Feb 2011
      Posts
      14
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: So what could be wrong with my wiring.

      I have only the ADSL cable plugged into a micro filter and then a phone line splitter sort of thing with the phone plugged in, I believe its the interactive TV wire. that is all then the router.

      From the phone socket there is 1 Mincrofilter (new) the ADSL silver cable, the Sky Interactive TV cable which has 2 phone sockets in it and the phone plugged into that, if that makes sense.

    6. #5
      MattyRockster's Avatar
      MattyRockster is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: mattrock93@hotmail.com
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Feb 2011
      Posts
      14
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: So what could be wrong with my wiring.

      /usr/sbin/adslctl: ADSL driver and PHY status
      Status: ShowtimeRetrain Reason: 1
      Channel: FAST, Upstream rate = 838 Kbps, Downstream rate = 7871 Kbps
      Link Power State: L0
      Mode: ADSL2+
      Channel: Fast
      Trellis: U:ON /D:ON
      Line Status: No Defect
      Training Status: Showtime
      Down Up
      SNR (dB): 9.2 8.0
      Attn(dB): 46.0 27.5
      Pwr(dBm): 0.0 10.6
      Max(Kbps): 10748 1000
      Rate (Kbps): 7871 838
      G.dmt framing
      K: 123(0) 27
      R: 16 16
      S: 1 4
      D: 64 8
      ADSL2 framing
      MSGc: 59 66
      B: 122 26
      M: 1 4
      T: 2 1
      R: 16 16
      S: 0.4979 3.9680
      L: 2233 250
      D: 64 8
      Counters
      SF: 46479 44191
      SFErr: 0 1
      RS: 6042284 757260
      RSCorr: 539 3
      RSUnCorr: 0 0

      HEC: 0 0
      OCD: 0 0
      LCD: 0 0
      Total Cells: 13953603 1634848
      Data Cells: 1168366 141042
      Drop Cells: 0
      Bit Errors: 0 0

      ES: 4 1
      SES: 1 0
      UAS: 39 4367
      AS: 752

      INP: 1.83 2.04
      PER: 16.18 17.85
      delay: 7.96 7.93
      OR: 32.12 32.25

      Bitswap: 72 17

      Total time = 15 min 12 sec
      SF = 52527
      CRC = 451
      LOS = 1
      LOF = 9
      ES = 4
      Latest 1 day time = 15 min 12 sec
      SF = 52527
      CRC = 451
      LOS = 1
      LOF = 9
      ES = 4
      Latest 15 minutes time = 12 sec
      SF = 744
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0
      Previous 15 minutes time = 15 min 0 sec
      SF = 51783
      CRC = 451
      LOS = 1
      LOF = 9
      ES = 4
      Previous 1 day time = 0 sec
      SF = 0
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0
      Showtime Drop Reason: 1
      Last Retrain Reason: 1


      Theres some detailed stats

    7. #6
      I_Hate_Sky_Awnsers's Avatar
      I_Hate_Sky_Awnsers is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Virgin Standard
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Virgin
      Join Date
      Mar 2011
      Posts
      965
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 59 Times in 57 Posts

      Re: So what could be wrong with my wiring.

      the test socket is definutly getting rid of CRC errors which is always a good thing.

      do u have an orange ring wire attatched to ping 3?

      if you dont use your extension sockets then you dont really need them connected

      hopefully isitme will chip in and point u in the best direction for a filtered faceplate
      Links Router Stats Useful Tutorials Speed Test Check For Test Socket Repetitive Electrical Impulse Noise

      Results from http://www.speed.io (Copied on 2011-04-08 16:36:58)
      Download: 50000 Kbit/s Upload : 4361 kbit/s Connects : 2446 conn/min Ping: 21 ms

    8. #7
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      27,908
      Thanks
      812
      Thanked 2,195 Times in 2,065 Posts

      Re: So what could be wrong with my wiring.

      I would suggest that you should unplug the telephone extensions & look again at your stats, with only the router plugged into the microfilter in the mater socket.

      If this compares well to the test socket, then if would confirm that the phone or extension is to blame.

      If it still looks bad, then the faceplate has developed a fault. A filtered face plate would not only resolve this issue, but it would provide a better method of connecting your router IMHO.

      If the problem wasn't the faceplate, then plug one item in at a time to see which causes the problem.

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    9. #8
      I_Hate_Sky_Awnsers's Avatar
      I_Hate_Sky_Awnsers is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Virgin Standard
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Virgin
      Join Date
      Mar 2011
      Posts
      965
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 59 Times in 57 Posts

      Re: So what could be wrong with my wiring.

      when you say that the noise margin drops

      do you ever completely loose sync?
      Links Router Stats Useful Tutorials Speed Test Check For Test Socket Repetitive Electrical Impulse Noise

      Results from http://www.speed.io (Copied on 2011-04-08 16:36:58)
      Download: 50000 Kbit/s Upload : 4361 kbit/s Connects : 2446 conn/min Ping: 21 ms

    10. #9
      MattyRockster's Avatar
      MattyRockster is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: mattrock93@hotmail.com
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Feb 2011
      Posts
      14
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: So what could be wrong with my wiring.

      The noise margin drops about 6 times a day to around 2db

    11. #10
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,132
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: So what could be wrong with my wiring.

      The noise margin drops about 6 times a day to around 2db
      Does this also happen in the Test socket?

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





     

     
    Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION