Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 6 of 9 FirstFirst ... 45678 ... LastLast
    Results 51 to 60 of 88

    Heads up

    This is a discussion on Heads up within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Originally Posted by Birks What's with all the tier one agents getting defensive? If you're one that knows what they're ...

    1. #51
      I_Hate_Sky_Awnsers's Avatar
      I_Hate_Sky_Awnsers is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Virgin Standard
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Virgin
      Join Date
      Mar 2011
      Posts
      965
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 59 Times in 57 Posts

      Re: Heads up

      Quote Originally Posted by Birks View Post
      What's with all the tier one agents getting defensive? If you're one that knows what they're doing then good for you, but most of them are awful I'm afraid. I also don't remember saying anything positive about CST but there you go.

      And as for LAMA being taken away I heard the same as I Hate Sky Answers, basically that some agents were royally duffing things up and spoiling it for everyone else.
      I agree with you on that being the reason that they are doing it.

      Only thing that i dont get is how you can manage it. LAMA is a very simple system to use, worst case scenario once setup has been checked they set it to what LAMA says for the max attain. simples!!!
      Links Router Stats Useful Tutorials Speed Test Check For Test Socket Repetitive Electrical Impulse Noise

      Results from http://www.speed.io (Copied on 2011-04-08 16:36:58)
      Download: 50000 Kbit/s Upload : 4361 kbit/s Connects : 2446 conn/min Ping: 21 ms


    2. Advertisement
    3. #52
      User05's Avatar
      User05 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Dec 2008
      Posts
      3,030
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 171 Times in 164 Posts

      Re: Heads up

      It's certainly not rocket science, but it's not as simple as just uncapping speeds. Not often will the line train in at the max attainable rate. Too many people do the following:

      - Don't use the correct line code for a line
      - Always stick INP to auto/auto
      - Always stick delays to 32ms/32ms (unless someone is calling about gaming)
      - Stick random bit rates in (not a big deal as it's rounded to the nearest multiple of 32, but annoying when people simply uncap a downstream rate to 5000 instead of 5120kbps, for example)
      - Forget to uncap upstream
      - Leave DLM suspended
      - Forget to uncap from baseline (64/64 or 128/128) for no sync issues, which means more Openreach co-op calls or customer calls through to uncap it

    4. #53
      I_Hate_Sky_Awnsers's Avatar
      I_Hate_Sky_Awnsers is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Virgin Standard
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Virgin
      Join Date
      Mar 2011
      Posts
      965
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 59 Times in 57 Posts

      Re: Heads up

      Agree with your comments User05 what i mean was they should either have a test for it or train people that they are going to give it to.

      Usually it is either handed out randomly or only given if you get into CST.

      They could have a test for it and ask whatever questions that they feel are relevant and then they would know which people would be able to use it correctly when they get it.

      They really need to give everyone a read only version on IRIS, first thing it asks on sky answers is is it suspended. Valid question i grant but a PITA to get someone to check for you.
      Links Router Stats Useful Tutorials Speed Test Check For Test Socket Repetitive Electrical Impulse Noise

      Results from http://www.speed.io (Copied on 2011-04-08 16:36:58)
      Download: 50000 Kbit/s Upload : 4361 kbit/s Connects : 2446 conn/min Ping: 21 ms

    5. #54
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      27,893
      Thanks
      810
      Thanked 2,194 Times in 2,064 Posts

      Re: Heads up

      One firm I used to work for stopped training people in the call centre, on all the equipment because the turnover of staff was so high. Personally I think they were looking at the wrong issue.

      To allow anyone on a system that can mess up someone's connection without any training is akin to holding a gun to your own head and playing Russian Roulette.

      Training and a test with a pass/fail result afterwards should always be provided at all levels of support. The truth is most companies don't bother now.

      The next issue is the quality of the training itself. Not everyone can teach.
      Last edited by Scubbie; 07-03-11 at 09:27 PM. Reason: added location of people

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    6. #55
      I_Hate_Sky_Awnsers's Avatar
      I_Hate_Sky_Awnsers is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Virgin Standard
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Virgin
      Join Date
      Mar 2011
      Posts
      965
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 59 Times in 57 Posts

      Re: Heads up

      Thats true about not everyone being able to teach.

      If they wanted they could just put you side by side with someone in CST for a couple of hours and you would be able to learn by example.
      Links Router Stats Useful Tutorials Speed Test Check For Test Socket Repetitive Electrical Impulse Noise

      Results from http://www.speed.io (Copied on 2011-04-08 16:36:58)
      Download: 50000 Kbit/s Upload : 4361 kbit/s Connects : 2446 conn/min Ping: 21 ms

    7. #56
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      27,893
      Thanks
      810
      Thanked 2,194 Times in 2,064 Posts

      Re: Heads up

      Whilst the experience may be beneficial for some individuals, again it wouldn't necessarily be ideal.

      I've taught plenty of people to dive. Some people take to it like a fish, whilst others require some personalised techniques to get over the hurdles that seem to appear.

      Such personalised training isn't always so practical for call centres, but with a good set of teaching notes it would be possible to pass on the relevant information to the students.

      P.S. Perhaps now I can say that I'm one of those people qualified to take people for long walks on short piers? (thinking of yesterday evening of course )

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    8. #57
      slickric21's Avatar
      slickric21 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Eacos
      Broadband ISP: Plusnet Fibre
      Router: Netgear 3800 DD-WRT
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Jun 2009
      Posts
      204
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 3 Times in 2 Posts

      Re: Heads up

      Quote Originally Posted by User05 View Post
      Lama just shows the PPP session username (xxxx@skydsl), so you couldn't tell from that alone. On the other hand, PuTTY, which only a handful of advisors probably have access to now, fires up a lot more details such as vendor ID of the router being used. IWNTE would be able to tell you more about that, as I've never used PuTTY.
      I know the topic has moved on from this now..... But I fail to see how PuTTY will tell them 100% if you are using a non-sky router.

      I've used PuTTY before now to check the chipset on my DSLAM (To confirm it would match my Billion's so get better upstream)

      Basically you will just see the Vendor ID, which is an abbreviation of the chipset.
      So this would say "BRCM" eg if you were using a Broadcom based Sky DG834Gt. (im not sure what all the other Sky routers are based on, but I think the Sagem is Broadcom aswell)

      However there are loads more Broadcom based routers out there, if you are using one of those then how would Sky know its a none Sky branded one ?

      Personally i'd be detected as my Chipset is Conexant/Solos so "CXNT" would show up as Vendor id.......

      If Sky would use this method for detecting non-sky routers, i'd just get the best non-Sky (wireless N etc etc) Broadcom based router and use that instead !!!1

      They wil have to come up with a more robust method than using PuTTY to check vendor ID's lol !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    9. #58
      I_Hate_Sky_Awnsers's Avatar
      I_Hate_Sky_Awnsers is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Virgin Standard
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Virgin
      Join Date
      Mar 2011
      Posts
      965
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 59 Times in 57 Posts

      Re: Heads up

      It's fine about going back to talking about puTTY its more like a general chat in this thread anyway.

      Not sure how they are planning on doing it puTTY was only speculation, hoping that they don't do it. Or not until they provide good enough routers that they can then expect people to use the sky supplied ones.

      The routers sky supply are not the worst in the world but there are always going to be better routers available and until the standard of routers dramatically increases they are bound to know that people are going to use their own for a variety of reasons
      Links Router Stats Useful Tutorials Speed Test Check For Test Socket Repetitive Electrical Impulse Noise

      Results from http://www.speed.io (Copied on 2011-04-08 16:36:58)
      Download: 50000 Kbit/s Upload : 4361 kbit/s Connects : 2446 conn/min Ping: 21 ms

    10. #59
      Birks's Avatar
      Birks is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jan 2011
      Posts
      31
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Heads up

      Quote Originally Posted by slickric21 View Post
      I know the topic has moved on from this now..... But I fail to see how PuTTY will tell them 100% if you are using a non-sky router.

      I've used PuTTY before now to check the chipset on my DSLAM (To confirm it would match my Billion's so get better upstream)

      Basically you will just see the Vendor ID, which is an abbreviation of the chipset.
      So this would say "BRCM" eg if you were using a Broadcom based Sky DG834Gt. (im not sure what all the other Sky routers are based on, but I think the Sagem is Broadcom aswell)

      However there are loads more Broadcom based routers out there, if you are using one of those then how would Sky know its a none Sky branded one ?

      Personally i'd be detected as my Chipset is Conexant/Solos so "CXNT" would show up as Vendor id.......

      If Sky would use this method for detecting non-sky routers, i'd just get the best non-Sky (wireless N etc etc) Broadcom based router and use that instead !!!1

      They wil have to come up with a more robust method than using PuTTY to check vendor ID's lol !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
      Yeah, but they could also be using it to log in to the router remotely and actually *do* stuff on it, in which case any non-sky router would behave differently and they'd know.

      I dunno, we'd need a CST agent to tell us what exactly they use it for.

    11. #60
      Sanity's Avatar
      Sanity is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Virgin XL
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Virgin XXL
      Join Date
      Dec 2009
      Posts
      173
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 7 Times in 7 Posts

      Re: Heads up

      N routers will be rolled out soon according to a brief we have recently recieved, although an actual date hasn't been finalised as yet, but it will be some improvement.

      I have consulted 2 of my managers after reading about this apparent plan to stop people using their own routers and nobody has heard a thing about it.

      Think about it. Why would they risk losing thousands of customers? As long as you connect your Sky router to call in and troubleshoot your connection if you have a problem they are fine with it.

      As far as my previous post, I'm a support agent, and last night alone I was alerted to 4 calls from colleagues who were being refused escalation from CST. Not only does it make things twice as difficult for us but frustrates the customer as they have generally been on the phone for some time already.

      Anyone from CST please be advised details of said calls are all currently being passed to management for investigation, so if they are being refused it should be for good reason.

      And by the way, currently plans are in the pipeline to get read only access for IRIS to all agents. Although waiting for logins from Sky for applications is a bit like waiting for Brad Pitt to turn up in my bedroom....

     

     
    Page 6 of 9 FirstFirst ... 45678 ... LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION