Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 7 of 7

    Seriously Noise Margin and Router Rebooting

    This is a discussion on Seriously Noise Margin and Router Rebooting within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; So today i have probably reset my router about 10 times because my noise margin keeps dropping below 4db i ...

    1. #1
      MattyRockster's Avatar
      MattyRockster is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: mattrock93@hotmail.com
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Feb 2011
      Posts
      14
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Angry Seriously Noise Margin and Router Rebooting

      So today i have probably reset my router about 10 times because my noise margin keeps dropping below 4db i get crazy voice lag on Skype if i don't reset it and its gone from 6000kb to 5500kb now to 4500kb i don't have a clue what's wrong. Could just be a bad day with sky i guess, But man is it frustrating when im trying to voice chat and play some games.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      MattyRockster's Avatar
      MattyRockster is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: mattrock93@hotmail.com
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Feb 2011
      Posts
      14
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: Seriously Noise Margin and Router Rebooting

      Also in online games i am getting random disconnections where it will stop working and disconnect me and then connect again 1 second afrer
      By the looks of things my noise margin keeps dropping to 2db every now and then which is lagging the Voip and also my games.
      It seems sky have capped my internet now at
      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 4802 kbps 821 kbps
      Line Attenuation 46.0 db 27.5 db
      Noise Margin 11.6 db 10.5 db

      The noise margin is better than ever i can live with that speed and that stability
      Last edited by MattyRockster; 02-03-11 at 12:09 AM.

    4. #3
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      27,893
      Thanks
      810
      Thanked 2,194 Times in 2,064 Posts

      Re: Seriously Noise Margin and Router Rebooting

      It sounds like you have a potential line problem.

      Have you a spare micro-filter that you could use?

      Also I would suggest doing some tests in the test socket.

      Could you test your voice line by using a telephone with a cord connection?

      Dial '1' and listen to see if there is any noise on the line. If you hear any crackle or hiss, then it could mean that you need to call your telephone line provider and report a fault.

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    5. The Following User Says Thank You to Scubbie For This Useful Post:

      MattyRockster (02-03-11)

    6. #4
      MattyRockster's Avatar
      MattyRockster is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: mattrock93@hotmail.com
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Feb 2011
      Posts
      14
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: Seriously Noise Margin and Router Rebooting

      Thanks for the advice everyone on these forums are great.
      I have put in a different Micro filter and so far so good just hoping it stays that way.

    7. #5
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      27,893
      Thanks
      810
      Thanked 2,194 Times in 2,064 Posts

      Re: Seriously Noise Margin and Router Rebooting

      Phew! A quick resolution!

      Micro-filters can and do fail after a period of time. It may be worth investing in a new filtered faceplate in the longer term. These tend to last longer as they typically have better components.

      I would also still be inclined to double check your telephone line quality. Any extensions & telephone equipment, even bad weather , can affect the electrical current on the telephone line. So I would also just double check these too.

      Anything that you are not happy with, get it looked at.

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    8. #6
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Seriously Noise Margin and Router Rebooting

      It seems sky have capped my internet now at
      If you have been continually rebooting your router, DLM will have kicked in to stabilise your line.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    9. #7
      MattyRockster's Avatar
      MattyRockster is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: mattrock93@hotmail.com
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Feb 2011
      Posts
      14
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: Seriously Noise Margin and Router Rebooting

      Yeah even when its just the Microfilter with the ADSL cable plugged it, it is still slow and the noise margin much lower than now. So i will contact sky and see what they have to say about the matter

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION