Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
    Results 11 to 20 of 23

    Braintree Essex Help

    This is a discussion on Braintree Essex Help within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Scubbie I will try calling them but to be honest if it says 2 megs on their site I dont ...

    1. #11
      scifipaul's Avatar
      scifipaul is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: braintree essex
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Feb 2011
      Posts
      10
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Braintree Essex Help

      Scubbie
      I will try calling them but to be honest if it says 2 megs on their site I dont hold out for much other information from them, or am I wrong and being cynical?

      I know from checking that the Braintree exchange is unbudled so it is aSkys own feed, so not reliant on reselling BT


    2. Advertisement
    3. #12
      I_Hate_Sky_Awnsers's Avatar
      I_Hate_Sky_Awnsers is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Virgin Standard
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Virgin
      Join Date
      Mar 2011
      Posts
      965
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 59 Times in 57 Posts

      Re: Braintree Essex Help

      Quote Originally Posted by scifipaul View Post
      I am still yet to move in at the end of this month beginning of next.

      I have not had Sky connected yet but I do know the current owner had Talk Talk which I have no interest in going with either, so cant give you any router stats.

      'I_Hate_Sky_Awnsers' When you say they starting to publish the speeds you should be getting from BT, do you mean Righmove are or BT are or Sky?

      As I say the Sky site has dropped by 4 megs for no reason, any ideas?
      RightMove teamed up with BT to start giving people as accurate as possible estimates, so that people will no what they are able to receive at their new property.

      I am not saying that it will be the exact same speed you will get with sky.

      Sky will probably be higher but should give you the best estimate if it has started in your new area.
      Links Router Stats Useful Tutorials Speed Test Check For Test Socket Repetitive Electrical Impulse Noise

      Results from http://www.speed.io (Copied on 2011-04-08 16:36:58)
      Download: 50000 Kbit/s Upload : 4361 kbit/s Connects : 2446 conn/min Ping: 21 ms

    4. #13
      scifipaul's Avatar
      scifipaul is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: braintree essex
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Feb 2011
      Posts
      10
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Braintree Essex Help

      I_Hate_Sky_Awnsers

      OK, thanks, so is it on Rightmove now?

      As I cany find anything about it on there.

      But as I say it just puzzles me how a couppe of weeks back it said that I would get 5 or 6 megs and now it says 2.

      I cant check on BT now for a speed as they have now covered the area with Infinity and it only gives out their top speed not the normal speed unless you know a way around that?

    5. #14
      scifipaul's Avatar
      scifipaul is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: braintree essex
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Feb 2011
      Posts
      10
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Braintree Essex Help

      Just managed to find a BT checker and it says the following:
      BT Infinity Fibre optic broadband Fibre optic broadband: You can get up to: 32.5Mb download & 7.5Mb upload
      BT Total Broadband: 5.0Mb

    6. #15
      I_Hate_Sky_Awnsers's Avatar
      I_Hate_Sky_Awnsers is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Virgin Standard
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Virgin
      Join Date
      Mar 2011
      Posts
      965
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 59 Times in 57 Posts

      Re: Braintree Essex Help

      Quote Originally Posted by scifipaul View Post
      Just managed to find a BT checker and it says the following:
      BT Infinity Fibre optic broadband Fibre optic broadband: You can get up to: 32.5Mb download & 7.5Mb upload
      BT Total Broadband: 5.0Mb
      Happy days fibre optic for you then if you wish always good to have options.

      Not sure if the RightMove service is fully up and running yet, but there is plans for them to start offering speed estimates for both rental and purchasing.

      My parent have BT Infinity and think its great compared to 02 no LLU that they used to have, admittedly they are not the most tech savvy people on the planet.
      Links Router Stats Useful Tutorials Speed Test Check For Test Socket Repetitive Electrical Impulse Noise

      Results from http://www.speed.io (Copied on 2011-04-08 16:36:58)
      Download: 50000 Kbit/s Upload : 4361 kbit/s Connects : 2446 conn/min Ping: 21 ms

    7. #16
      scifipaul's Avatar
      scifipaul is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: braintree essex
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Feb 2011
      Posts
      10
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Braintree Essex Help

      I will be getting Infinity which they have only just started offering within the last 2 weeks, but also want to get Sky unlimited aswell due to having a back up for work.

      BT Infinity so called unlimited has the 300 Gig cap where as some have said the Sky max one does not have a cap, but I still want to get some kind of speed from Sky for work also and of course using the SKy anytime box that has suddenly popped up not something that I have ever been offered.

      Cant seem to find any stats anywhere for people in certain areas such as where we are looking to move to so cant relate any to each other and as far as I am aware there is only a 7 day cooling off period for sky and they say you need ten days for the speed to reach max.

    8. #17
      fuzzy logic's Avatar
      fuzzy logic is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Apr 2008
      Posts
      463
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 70 Times in 51 Posts

      Re: Braintree Essex Help

      Quote Originally Posted by scifipaul View Post
      BT Infinity so called unlimited has the 300 Gig cap
      It has been reported that that's been axed. BT Retail UK Semi Removes Broadband ISP Fair Usage Policy Restrictions − ISPreview UK

    9. #18
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      27,908
      Thanks
      812
      Thanked 2,195 Times in 2,065 Posts

      Re: Braintree Essex Help

      As Fuzzy Logic has mentioned, BT has lifted their cap on their some of their packages, so it is now possible to get an Unlimited connection with BT Infinity.

      I have now idea about their traffic management policy though.

      Sky Unlimited has no traffic management of any kind.

      If you really did want to obtain two BB connections, then there are a few solutions you could get. There are routers that can specifically connect two connections into one LAN. These allow you to share the connections of both.

      When I mentioned a couple that could do this earlier in the week, it was suggested that the Draytek Vigor 2820 series needs a software fix as they aren't up to the task at present. So I would suggest a little research on this topic.

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    10. #19
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,132
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Braintree Essex Help

      I still want to get some kind of speed from Sky for work
      Sky broadband is a domestic service, where business use is specifically banned. If you need a connection for your work then the fibre connection would be far better. If you wanted two broadband connections, will also need 2 telephone lines. Is it worth paying for an extra line for a very slow connection from Sky, just to get Anytime+?

      You could ask the present occupiers what speed they get from TalkTalk, you would get at least the same from Sky.

      Just seen Scubbie's post, the FTTC connection needs a different router from ADSL, I doubt if the two can be combined in one.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    11. #20
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      27,908
      Thanks
      812
      Thanked 2,195 Times in 2,065 Posts

      Re: Braintree Essex Help

      Quote Originally Posted by Isitme View Post
      Just seen Scubbie's post, the FTTC connection needs a different router from ADSL, I doubt if the two can be combined in one.
      Some of the Draytek routers allow both ADSL & Cable connections. If I've got this right, then the FTTC would feed into the Cable connector. I might be well off the mark on this though.

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

     

     
    Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION