Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 9 of 9

    Automating Speedtest net

    This is a discussion on Automating Speedtest net within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Hello, I feel my broadband connection is not giving me the speeds it should, so I want to start gathering ...

    1. #1
      Murph's Avatar
      Murph is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Reading - Central
      Broadband ISP:
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Location
      Reading
      Posts
      56
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Automating Speedtest net

      Hello,

      I feel my broadband connection is not giving me the speeds it should, so I want to start gathering speedtest.net data at various times of the day so I have some information ready when I contact Sky.

      I cannot connect to my machine remotely when in the office (network has been locked down), so I'm after a way I can run the speed tests (and ping test) at sheduled times and then store the results.

      Anyone know if this is possible?

      Thanks
      Murph


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Murph's Avatar
      Murph is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Reading - Central
      Broadband ISP:
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Location
      Reading
      Posts
      56
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Automating Speedtest net

      Just saw the 'Speed tests and how to get better results' section, which i guess this shouldhave been created in.

      Could a mod move it there please?

      Thanks

    4. #3
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      27,907
      Thanks
      812
      Thanked 2,195 Times in 2,065 Posts

      Re: Automating Speedtest net

      Just pointing out a really obvious thing:

      When you perform any checks on your broadband speed, you need to ensure that nothing else is using your Internet bandwidth. If you use a remote control program, this will use bandwidth. Any figure you get will be pointless.

      Perhaps it might be better to post your router stats so that we can see what is happening.

      Also, I can't recall if I'm 100% right hear, I think Reading had an issue the other week on BB. Perhaps someone else can help me here?

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    5. #4
      Murph's Avatar
      Murph is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Reading - Central
      Broadband ISP:
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Location
      Reading
      Posts
      56
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Automating Speedtest net

      Good point about the remote access invalidating the results. My thoughts are to have some script left running on the machine.

      Is there a trouble shooting guide, to help me gather all the relevent stats people might want to see?

    6. #5
      User05's Avatar
      User05 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Dec 2008
      Posts
      3,030
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 171 Times in 164 Posts

      Re: Automating Speedtest net

      Sky won't take much notice of speed test results - what's the issue that you're having? The link below shows how to post the stats:

      How to get your router statistics

      Edit: Just re-read the original post - ignore the bit asking what issue you're having.

    7. #6
      Murph's Avatar
      Murph is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Reading - Central
      Broadband ISP:
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Location
      Reading
      Posts
      56
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Automating Speedtest net

      Thanks, so it will just be the information in the 'Show Statictics' dialog that will be needed?

    8. #7
      User05's Avatar
      User05 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Dec 2008
      Posts
      3,030
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 171 Times in 164 Posts

      Re: Automating Speedtest net

      Yup, that's the one.

    9. #8
      joss's Avatar
      joss is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Adwick-le-Street
      Broadband ISP: sky max
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+HDmultiroom
      Join Date
      May 2009
      Location
      South Yorkshire
      Posts
      621
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Automating Speedtest net

      There are programs like Router stats that can monitor your connect and store the results as simple log files.
      Internet Software go and have a good read, see if it's something that may do what you ask ie to monitor your connection in your absence.

    10. #9
      Murph's Avatar
      Murph is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Reading - Central
      Broadband ISP:
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Location
      Reading
      Posts
      56
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Automating Speedtest net

      Thanks for that.

      Sadly my graphics card died the other day, so I will have to wait until I replace it to try and trouble shoot this some more.

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION