Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 8 of 8

    Can connect wirelessly but not wired.

    This is a discussion on Can connect wirelessly but not wired. within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Hi there, For the past 3 months or so (since i got Sky) i've been using the internet etc through ...

    1. #1
      FraserTaylor's Avatar
      FraserTaylor is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: D-Link DSL-2640S
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Feb 2011
      Posts
      3
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Can connect wirelessly but not wired.

      Hi there,

      For the past 3 months or so (since i got Sky) i've been using the internet etc through wired means (ethernet), for some reason today through the ethernet the network is 'Unidentified Network' and has 'Access: Local Only' where as the wireless signal is fully connected, full signal, etc.

      No idea why this is happening. Tried 2 different cables and the wireless is working fine.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      27,907
      Thanks
      812
      Thanked 2,195 Times in 2,065 Posts

      Re: Can connect wirelessly but not wired.

      Power off the router for 10 seconds of so.

      Double check other ports afterwards, you might need to reboot your computer.

      If this doesn't work, it might be prudent to check the IP address of your computer on the cabled LAN.

      Also do try the other ports.

      It could well be that the router is failing.

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    4. #3
      User05's Avatar
      User05 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Dec 2008
      Posts
      3,030
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 171 Times in 164 Posts

      Re: Can connect wirelessly but not wired.

      Unidentified network is a win vista and 7 glitch. Notoriously a pain in the backside to fix in a lot of cases - google 'unidentified network' and follow the instructions in a few of the articles to see if it sorts it for you.

    5. #4
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      27,907
      Thanks
      812
      Thanked 2,195 Times in 2,065 Posts

      Re: Can connect wirelessly but not wired.

      Of course User05! Forgot that.

      I'm kind of distracted with something else today.

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    6. #5
      FraserTaylor's Avatar
      FraserTaylor is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: D-Link DSL-2640S
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Feb 2011
      Posts
      3
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Can connect wirelessly but not wired.

      Already tried a few of the fixed and nothing so far; seems like this is going to be a long process..

      Think a system restore will work?

    7. #6
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Can connect wirelessly but not wired.

      This seems to happen a lot on PCs with 2 or more network adapters. What you can try is giving both your adapters fixed addresses complete with DNS servers.
      Give your ethernet adapter and address of 192.168.0.2 and your wireless 192.168.0.3. Both with 255.255.255.0. subnets and 192.168.0.1 as the Gateway. Put these OpenDNS address into the server spaces. 208.67.222.222 & 208.67.220.220.

      Reboot your PC and see if it has helped.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    8. #7
      FraserTaylor's Avatar
      FraserTaylor is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: D-Link DSL-2640S
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Feb 2011
      Posts
      3
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Can connect wirelessly but not wired.

      Thanks for the advice Isitme, however, I have no idea how to do these things.

    9. #8
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Can connect wirelessly but not wired.

      Make sure your PC is the only thing connected to the network
      Right click the Internet icon in your Task bar and select 'Change adapter settings'
      Right click the icon for your ethernet Lan and select Properties.
      Highlight Internet Protocol V4 and click the Properties button.
      Tick 'Use this IP address' and put in what I have advised above.
      When done, click OK and return to the Network connections screen.
      Repeat for your wireless adapter.
      If you receive any warnings just click OK. Remember to reboot your PC when complete and make sure no other devices are connected or you may get a conflict message.

      These adapters should now be given reserved addresses in the router settings.
      To do this connect by ethernet, go into the router settings, click the Advanced tab then the LAN IP setup.
      Tick the radio button for the ethernet adapter, then click Add.
      Disconnect the ethernet and connect by wireless and repeat.
      In future when you connect you will automatically get these address and they will not be given to any other device or PC.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION