Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 37

    Can't Connect Wirelessly but can connect through an ethernet. PLEASE HELP

    This is a discussion on Can't Connect Wirelessly but can connect through an ethernet. PLEASE HELP within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Hi all, I am new to this so please bear with me. I have had the full sky package now ...

    1. #1
      mase_22's Avatar
      mase_22 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 0115
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: D-Link DSL-2640S
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Feb 2011
      Posts
      12
      Thanks
      5
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Exclamation Can't Connect Wirelessly but can connect through an ethernet. PLEASE HELP

      Hi all,

      I am new to this so please bear with me.

      I have had the full sky package now for about 6-8 months and have used the internet through ethernet since it got installed because i could not connect wirelessly.

      I have now grown sick of using an ethernet, when really i should be wireless.

      could someone please guide me through on how to set this up. I have Sky Unlimited, Toshiba Laptop and a D-Link router.

      Thank you in advance


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      27,895
      Thanks
      810
      Thanked 2,194 Times in 2,064 Posts

      Re: Can't Connect Wirelessly but can connect through an ethernet. PLEASE HELP

      To get started with, the Sky network keys are all in UPPERCASE letters. The key appears on the label stuck underneath the router.

      Can you double check that this is what you are entering?

      Also have you tried to connect anything else to the router via WiFi?

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    4. The Following User Says Thank You to Scubbie For This Useful Post:

      mase_22 (22-02-11)

    5. #3
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Can't Connect Wirelessly but can connect through an ethernet. PLEASE HELP

      1. Make sure the wireless is switched on in your laptop.
      2. You should see a wireless icon in the Tray of your laptop, right click this and select 'Search for available wireless networks'
      3. One or more networks will appear, click yours and click the Connect button. You can identify yours by the SSID which you can see on the label of your router. It will be something like SKY123456.
      4. You will then be presented with a sign in box where you must type the network key twice. This is also on the label and consists of 8 capital letters, no numbers.
      When you are doing this, make sure your ethernet cable is disconnected and you are better to be in direct sight of the router. That's all you need to do, for the time being.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    6. The Following User Says Thank You to Isitme For This Useful Post:

      mase_22 (22-02-11)

    7. #4
      mase_22's Avatar
      mase_22 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 0115
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: D-Link DSL-2640S
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Feb 2011
      Posts
      12
      Thanks
      5
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Can't Connect Wirelessly but can connect through an ethernet. PLEASE HELP

      When i opened up the window which shows available networks (without my ethernet connected) i have selected mine at which point it does not ask for a pass key of any sort and tries to connect, it then tells me it is having trouble connecting!

      I appreciate this guys

    8. #5
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      27,895
      Thanks
      810
      Thanked 2,194 Times in 2,064 Posts

      Re: Can't Connect Wirelessly but can connect through an ethernet. PLEASE HELP

      Alright, something is definitely amiss, but things can be corrected.

      Could you provide some information about your Toshiba please?

      a. Operating System
      b. Full Model number

      What I would like to ask you to do is to delete the WiFi connection to your router and re-enter it. This is why the O/S is important.

      I am also building a picture of machines & phones that do not like to connect to the Sky routers.

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    9. The Following User Says Thank You to Scubbie For This Useful Post:

      mase_22 (22-02-11)

    10. #6
      mase_22's Avatar
      mase_22 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 0115
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: D-Link DSL-2640S
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Feb 2011
      Posts
      12
      Thanks
      5
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Can't Connect Wirelessly but can connect through an ethernet. PLEASE HELP

      Windows XP (I think, the one with the circular windows menu button at bottom left)

      The Toshiba is a Satellite Pro L300 -26Q

      Model No: PSLB9E -03W003EN

      how do you delete the wifi connection, and how do i re install it because i will then have no internet connection

    11. #7
      mase_22's Avatar
      mase_22 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 0115
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: D-Link DSL-2640S
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Feb 2011
      Posts
      12
      Thanks
      5
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Can't Connect Wirelessly but can connect through an ethernet. PLEASE HELP

      windows vista sorry

    12. #8
      User05's Avatar
      User05 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Dec 2008
      Posts
      3,030
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 171 Times in 164 Posts

      Re: Can't Connect Wirelessly but can connect through an ethernet. PLEASE HELP

      1.

      start > control panel > network and sharing centre > manage wireless networks (on the left) > delete all networks within there.

      2.

      start > connect to > click your SSID > enter network key all in caps, all letters no numbers.

      Failing the above...

      3.

      Connect ethernet cable > open a browser > browse to 192.168.0.1 > username is admin : password is sky > click set-up in the top left > change the channel from autoscan to something else > change the SSID to something else > click apply at the bottom of the page.

      4.

      Repeat step 2.

    13. The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to User05 For This Useful Post:

      mase_22 (22-02-11),St3ve (11-03-12)

    14. #9
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      27,895
      Thanks
      810
      Thanked 2,194 Times in 2,064 Posts

      Re: Can't Connect Wirelessly but can connect through an ethernet. PLEASE HELP

      Thanks User05, I was in the process of composing an answer for Windows XP. Just that my XP computer takes a little while to start up.

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    15. The Following User Says Thank You to Scubbie For This Useful Post:

      mase_22 (22-02-11)

    16. #10
      mase_22's Avatar
      mase_22 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 0115
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: D-Link DSL-2640S
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Feb 2011
      Posts
      12
      Thanks
      5
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Can't Connect Wirelessly but can connect through an ethernet. PLEASE HELP

      No joy this is the message that comes up

      The computer is connected to SKYXXXXX but does not have access to the internet.

      -If you are connecting to a wireless hotspot, you might need to open a web browser to finish connecting

     

     
    Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION