Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast
    Results 21 to 30 of 37

    Can't Connect Wirelessly but can connect through an ethernet. PLEASE HELP

    This is a discussion on Can't Connect Wirelessly but can connect through an ethernet. PLEASE HELP within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Go to the adapters Properties and check if the Microsoft Virtual WiFi Miniport Adapter is installed. If it is, untick ...

    1. #21
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Can't Connect Wirelessly but can connect through an ethernet. PLEASE HELP

      Go to the adapters Properties and check if the Microsoft Virtual WiFi Miniport Adapter is installed. If it is, untick it to disable it. This is known to cause problems when not in use.

      If that does not help, give the adapter a fixed address 192.168.0.100 would do, with a subnet of 255.255.255.0 and gateway 192.168.0.1 and named DNS servers. Use the OpenDNS ones which are 208.67.222.222 and 208.67.220.220.

      Finally try downloading and running TCPFix, it may not help but it will do no harm.
      Download WinSockFix 1.1.0.13 Free - WinSockFix - A free Winsock/Tcp repair utility - Softpedia

      Have you confirmed that you are using the Windows wireless manager?

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.






    2. Advertisement
    3. #22
      steelysteph's Avatar
      steelysteph is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Lancaster
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: VM Hub 3
      Sky TV: 2TB Minnie Mous
      Join Date
      Oct 2009
      Posts
      400
      Thanks
      27
      Thanked 24 Times in 21 Posts

      Re: Can't Connect Wirelessly but can connect through an ethernet. PLEASE HELP

      Just to attack this from another angle have you tried the laptop with wifi elsewhere? Take a trip to your local McDonalds and see if you can browse using their free service to see if it's a lappy problem.

    4. #23
      mase_22's Avatar
      mase_22 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 0115
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: D-Link DSL-2640S
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Feb 2011
      Posts
      12
      Thanks
      5
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Can't Connect Wirelessly but can connect through an ethernet. PLEASE HELP

      sorry about my delayed reply, i have been away from home with work (who provided me with wireless laptops, just to rub it in)

      I have got McAffe as far as I am aware, i got it as part of my sky subscription.

      Is there a way of deleting my wireless router from the list and trying to start again?

    5. #24
      mase_22's Avatar
      mase_22 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 0115
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: D-Link DSL-2640S
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Feb 2011
      Posts
      12
      Thanks
      5
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Can't Connect Wirelessly but can connect through an ethernet. PLEASE HELP

      how do i find adapters Properties and check if the Microsoft Virtual WiFi Miniport Adapter?

    6. #25
      I_Hate_Sky_Awnsers's Avatar
      I_Hate_Sky_Awnsers is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Virgin Standard
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Virgin
      Join Date
      Mar 2011
      Posts
      965
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 59 Times in 57 Posts

      Re: Can't Connect Wirelessly but can connect through an ethernet. PLEASE HELP

      Start > Control Panel (switch to classic view) > device manager > network adapters
      Links Router Stats Useful Tutorials Speed Test Check For Test Socket Repetitive Electrical Impulse Noise

      Results from http://www.speed.io (Copied on 2011-04-08 16:36:58)
      Download: 50000 Kbit/s Upload : 4361 kbit/s Connects : 2446 conn/min Ping: 21 ms

    7. #26
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Can't Connect Wirelessly but can connect through an ethernet. PLEASE HELP

      Go to the Network and sharing Centre, click 'Change adapter settings' in the left pane. Right click your wireless adapter and select Properties. Check the list and remove the tick if it is there.
      While you are there, highlight Internet Protocol Version 4 and click the Properties button. Now give your adapter a fixed address as I suggested in post # 21.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    8. #27
      mastermike's Avatar
      mastermike is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Mid/Everyday
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Mar 2011
      Posts
      4
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Can't Connect Wirelessly but can connect through an ethernet. PLEASE HELP

      It might be that your laptop wifi password is wrong.... ethernet doesnt need the password, hence that works.

      1 - Plug into router using cable
      2 - Go to SKY Router Admins (use the standard router home IP address and the sky credentials "admin" password "sky"
      3 - Check the password
      4 - Make sure that the password and writ eit down / change it
      5 - Back to your laptop, open wireless, properties, change the password to match.

      Good luck

    9. #28
      mase_22's Avatar
      mase_22 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 0115
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: D-Link DSL-2640S
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Feb 2011
      Posts
      12
      Thanks
      5
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Can't Connect Wirelessly but can connect through an ethernet. PLEASE HELP

      do you mean throught the website;

      192.168.0.1

      im still struggling!

      do you think i need to take it somewhere to be fixed!!

      so frustrating

    10. #29
      I_Hate_Sky_Awnsers's Avatar
      I_Hate_Sky_Awnsers is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Virgin Standard
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Virgin
      Join Date
      Mar 2011
      Posts
      965
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 59 Times in 57 Posts

      Re: Can't Connect Wirelessly but can connect through an ethernet. PLEASE HELP

      Quote Originally Posted by mase_22 View Post
      do you mean throught the website;

      192.168.0.1

      im still struggling!

      do you think i need to take it somewhere to be fixed!!

      so frustrating
      Yes he meant to go through 192.168.0.1

      you will be fine doing it yourself
      Links Router Stats Useful Tutorials Speed Test Check For Test Socket Repetitive Electrical Impulse Noise

      Results from http://www.speed.io (Copied on 2011-04-08 16:36:58)
      Download: 50000 Kbit/s Upload : 4361 kbit/s Connects : 2446 conn/min Ping: 21 ms

    11. #30
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Can't Connect Wirelessly but can connect through an ethernet. PLEASE HELP

      Click this link http://192.168.0.1/

      This will bring up the log in pane. Put in admin for username if it is not there by default and sky for the password.
      Click the Setup link in the menu bar and copy the letters in the Network Key box at the bottom of the page into a Notepad.
      Copy and paste these into the box, usually twice, when you are asked for the Key,

      If this does not work, go back into the wireless settings and check the button against Disable under Security Options. Try to connect, as it is then an unsecured network you will not be asked for a password.
      Please report back with your results.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





     

     
    Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION