Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
    Results 11 to 18 of 18

    Line stats before activation

    This is a discussion on Line stats before activation within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Yeah just found the info.thanks tho...

    1. #11
      Steve31's Avatar
      Steve31 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Woolston
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: D-Link DSL-2640S
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Feb 2011
      Posts
      34
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Line stats before activation

      Yeah just found the info.thanks tho


    2. Advertisement
    3. #12
      Steve31's Avatar
      Steve31 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Woolston
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: D-Link DSL-2640S
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Feb 2011
      Posts
      34
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Line stats before activation

      so.my line is now active.these are the router stats.look normal?
      ROUTER STATISTICS

      System Up Time: 20:41:28
      Port Status TxPkts RxPkts Collisions Tx B/s Rx B/s Up Time
      WAN PPPoA 1173564 2181697 0 598 17398 20:30:09
      LAN 1757050 942579 0 28829 868 20:41:28
      WLAN 398650 228598 0 7807 473 19:24:46
      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 4093 kbps 605 kbps
      Line Attenuation 50.5db 29.6db
      Noise Margin 7.7db 15.9db

    4. #13
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Line stats before activation

      Your downstream noise margin does not leave much room for improved speed. Can you plug into your Test socket and post the stats from there. Use only the ADSL cable and filter supplied by Sky.-
      How to test your ADSL in the Master Test Socket

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    5. #14
      Steve31's Avatar
      Steve31 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Woolston
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: D-Link DSL-2640S
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Feb 2011
      Posts
      34
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Line stats before activation

      il try that.i was using a mobile broadband dongle before this so you can imagine that these speeds are a world away from the speed i was getting before will dlm still run on a line like this ,as in a line that is proberbly already running at its full speed

    6. #15
      User05's Avatar
      User05 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Dec 2008
      Posts
      3,030
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 171 Times in 164 Posts

      Re: Line stats before activation

      Quote Originally Posted by Steve31 View Post
      will dlm still run on a line like this ,as in a line that is proberbly already running at its full speed
      Yes, it will.

    7. #16
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is online now Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      27,895
      Thanks
      810
      Thanked 2,194 Times in 2,064 Posts

      Re: Line stats before activation

      DLM will work so long as your router is connected to the telephone line.

      These suggestions are aimed at getting the best from your connection and DLM will (should) pick up the improved connection.

      Don't forget that it will take a few days for DLM to kick in and start training near to your best speed.

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    8. #17
      Steve31's Avatar
      Steve31 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Woolston
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: D-Link DSL-2640S
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Feb 2011
      Posts
      34
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Line stats before activation

      thanks user05

    9. #18
      Steve31's Avatar
      Steve31 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Woolston
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: D-Link DSL-2640S
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Feb 2011
      Posts
      34
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Line stats before activation

      ok,thank you all for the replys

     

     
    Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION