Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 24

    I can prove that Sky blocks sites lol

    This is a discussion on I can prove that Sky blocks sites lol within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Google hasn't been working for the past 5 hours (doesn't even attempt to load at all) but as soon as ...

    1. #1
      poorbroadband's Avatar
      poorbroadband is offline Banned
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Connect
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Posts
      116
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      I can prove that Sky blocks sites lol

      Google hasn't been working for the past 5 hours (doesn't even attempt to load at all) but as soon as I fire up Hot Spot Shield (which encrypts the URL) I can browse any site without any problems.

      I'm using Hot Spot Shield right now because a lot of sites aren't working without it (Google is one of them)

      Ready to upload proof if anyone argues with me


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Undecided Adrian's Avatar
      Undecided Adrian is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Stevenage
      Broadband ISP: BT
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      May 2007
      Posts
      2,539
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 23 Times in 21 Posts

      Re: I can prove that Sky blocks sites lol

      because Sky would block the world's most popular search engine and their mail provider because?

      I can belive that there is a DNS issue rather than active blocking.

      Did you try openDNS to see if that sorted the problem as well?
      I'm a PC, and Windows 7 Backup saved my sanity when BitDefender imploded !!!

    4. #3
      User05's Avatar
      User05 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Dec 2008
      Posts
      3,030
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 171 Times in 164 Posts

      Re: I can prove that Sky blocks sites lol

      Adrian, I wouldn't even bother amusing this idiot with a reply.

    5. #4
      poorbroadband's Avatar
      poorbroadband is offline Banned
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Connect
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Posts
      116
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: I can prove that Sky blocks sites lol

      Quote Originally Posted by User05 View Post
      Adrian, I wouldn't even bother amusing this idiot with a reply.
      That's because you're a SKY fanboy and I'm proving you wrong. Explain why I have no problems if I use a prog that encrypts the URL

      No problems with Fileserve now either

    6. #5
      poorbroadband's Avatar
      poorbroadband is offline Banned
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Connect
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Posts
      116
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: I can prove that Sky blocks sites lol

      Torrent clients use encryption too.

      Encryption = Sky don't know what you're looking up = Hence why you (I in this case) experience less problems especially on popular download sites

      Why? Because your URL looks like this ;ihnlhbvjg cgj cgdxgdxgxhxc k/vhy.chf xhd

    7. #6
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is online now Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: I can prove that Sky blocks sites lol

      Are you really that thick? Why on earth would Sky block Google and what's more only for you? Don't you think the forum would have been full of reports about this if it were true? It is more likely your PC setup that is faulty or you have malware on your machine.

      You are on Sky's worst product, why don't you leave and stop spamming the forum with nonsense.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    8. #7
      ianparrynw's Avatar
      ianparrynw is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Aberconwy
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: D-Link DSL-2640S
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jan 2011
      Posts
      70
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: I can prove that Sky blocks sites lol

      Lmao idiot i have sky unlimited download at 18mbps and access every site that i try ... Jelous much lol.

    9. #8
      indefatigable's Avatar
      indefatigable is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: BB tech Support + Max
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+HD 2TB
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Posts
      568
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 12 Times in 12 Posts

      Re: I can prove that Sky blocks sites lol

      Its never the ones that know everything about a topic, or know nothing about a topic that create problems. its always the ones that gain a tiny bit of knowledge, and think they are the worlds leading expert on it.

      Sky aren't blocking Google, or any other service. Grow up, stop being ridiculous, get a life.

    10. #9
      poorbroadband's Avatar
      poorbroadband is offline Banned
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Connect
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Posts
      116
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: I can prove that Sky blocks sites lol

      Quote Originally Posted by Isitme View Post
      Are you really that thick? Why on earth would Sky block Google and what's more only for you? Don't you think the forum would have been full of reports about this if it were true? It is more likely your PC setup that is faulty or you have malware on your machine.

      You are on Sky's worst product, why don't you leave and stop spamming the forum with nonsense.
      Are you thick? They do block. I have actual proof if you want me to show you? And people DO report blocking, they tend to do it on non-ISP forums because people on these forums (ISP forums) are weirdly emotionally attached to the companies.

      Why? I was getting 'unusual' fast speeds about a week ago, I was able to streem during the throttling hours and everything. Is it because of that? I dunno.

      "PC setup that is faulty or you have malware on your machine"

      Internet doesn't work on my other PC either or PS3 or Wii

      Worst package? Where does it state THIS on their contract? Point me to where they state that they block Fileserve and I want to see 'Fileserve' mentioned

    11. #10
      Sanity's Avatar
      Sanity is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Virgin XL
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Virgin XXL
      Join Date
      Dec 2009
      Posts
      173
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 7 Times in 7 Posts

      Re: I can prove that Sky blocks sites lol

      Quote Originally Posted by poorbroadband View Post
      Google hasn't been working for the past 5 hours (doesn't even attempt to load at all) but as soon as I fire up Hot Spot Shield (which encrypts the URL) I can browse any site without any problems.

      I'm using Hot Spot Shield right now because a lot of sites aren't working without it (Google is one of them)

      Ready to upload proof if anyone argues with me
      Here's an idea. Uninstall and reinstall your browser and check your settings.

      You're so special (that's speshullll) Sky would block Google just for you. Or....radical idea.....use the Google link on Sky,com....I'm sure it would be on there if they were blocking it.

      Moron.

     

     
    Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION