Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 15

    who do sky go through on connect package?

    This is a discussion on who do sky go through on connect package? within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; i wondered if sky use another provider for there connect package. for example im with tesco who use ntl?...

    1. #1
      alyt's Avatar
      alyt is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Cardiff
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Posts
      64
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      who do sky go through on connect package?

      i wondered if sky use another provider for there connect package. for example im with tesco who use ntl?


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Wheelie's Avatar
      Wheelie is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Stanmore LWSTAN
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      Stanmore
      Posts
      3,424
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      SkyBB are resellers of BT IP Stream for the connect package its the same one most IP's use ie: MAX Adsl
      Ray

      Some Advice.. Its always advisable to inform your old ISP as soon as you have migrated that you have moved.
      ______________________________________

      If you would like to know the straight line distance to your exchange then
      click here
      Would you like an idea of the possible speeds you will get with the Max Package then click here or for the Connect Package then click here

    4. #3
      alyt's Avatar
      alyt is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Cardiff
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Posts
      64
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      cool so hopefully shouldnt receive all the problems as the llu service. Still waiting for my router and second letter tho. Been a week (which is nothing compared to others i no) I just hope if i get on connect i have very few problems. Fingers crossed

    5. #4
      Wheelie's Avatar
      Wheelie is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Stanmore LWSTAN
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      Stanmore
      Posts
      3,424
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      True you will not have them problems but you will still have to deal with BT's 10 day traning period which can be a real nightmare as well.

      Good luck and hope it all goes well.
      Ray

      Some Advice.. Its always advisable to inform your old ISP as soon as you have migrated that you have moved.
      ______________________________________

      If you would like to know the straight line distance to your exchange then
      click here
      Would you like an idea of the possible speeds you will get with the Max Package then click here or for the Connect Package then click here

    6. #5
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,211
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 373 Times in 304 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48
      If it was me running Sky, it would make more sense to put people on LLU, this will then mean that Sky are using their own hardware and so would not have to pay rental to BT as such for the Connect package. This way they would make more profit / recover costs back, to reinvest in unbundling exchanges etc.

      Maybe that is what is happening, as I can only get connect at the moment, but they wont let me sign up to it




      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~

      Follow us on Twitter @skyuser

    7. #6
      alyt's Avatar
      alyt is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Cardiff
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Posts
      64
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Quote Originally Posted by Wheelie View Post
      you will still have to deal with BT's 10 day traning period which can be a real nightmare as well.


      Good luck and hope it all goes well.
      Is that when they try to test the max speed of line?

    8. #7
      Wheelie's Avatar
      Wheelie is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Stanmore LWSTAN
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      Stanmore
      Posts
      3,424
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      No but if you go here it will explain what happens Myth and magic of Max Adsl
      Ray

      Some Advice.. Its always advisable to inform your old ISP as soon as you have migrated that you have moved.
      ______________________________________

      If you would like to know the straight line distance to your exchange then
      click here
      Would you like an idea of the possible speeds you will get with the Max Package then click here or for the Connect Package then click here

    9. #8
      garyb's Avatar
      garyb is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Peterborough Central
      Broadband ISP: Base
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Location
      Peterborough UK
      Posts
      152
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      Hmm, maybe its BT to blame for the appalling speeds on connect then! I've been waiting 6 days for a call back from Sky TS to explain why my connect service is running at 800kbps, despite having speeds of 6000kbps on the first 2 days!

      This is with Filtered plate in 3 yr old house!
      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 7616 kbps 448 kbps
      Line Attenuation 41.0 db 27.0 db
      Noise Margin 5.1 db 21.0 db

      Downloaded 25mb file ftp://ftp.mirror.ac.uk/edunfs/mirror...4-bootonly.iso
      24.9mb in 57 seconds
      448KB/Sec

      G
      Still smiling...just

    10. #9
      Wheelie's Avatar
      Wheelie is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Stanmore LWSTAN
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      Stanmore
      Posts
      3,424
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      Gary

      If you have been turning the router on and off then its very possible read the link I posted above it will explain it all to you.
      Ray

      Some Advice.. Its always advisable to inform your old ISP as soon as you have migrated that you have moved.
      ______________________________________

      If you would like to know the straight line distance to your exchange then
      click here
      Would you like an idea of the possible speeds you will get with the Max Package then click here or for the Connect Package then click here

    11. #10
      garyb's Avatar
      garyb is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Peterborough Central
      Broadband ISP: Base
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Location
      Peterborough UK
      Posts
      152
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      Thanx Wheelie,
      Did read the post, very interesting & hopefully may resolve my issues over time. I have however had the router on for nearly 39 hours now and the ran a speedtest 2 minutes ago which gave the following results:

      Last Result:
      Download Speed: 515 kbps (64.4 KB/sec transfer rate)
      Upload Speed: 374 kbps (46.8 KB/sec transfer rate)

      Doesnt seem right to me..

      G

     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION