Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 4 of 5 FirstFirst ... 2345 LastLast
    Results 31 to 40 of 45

    Micrifilters?

    This is a discussion on Micrifilters? within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; If you contact sky again and get put through to CST they are able to see that you are set ...

    1. #31
      nige1983's Avatar
      nige1983 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: MRDEN
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: D-Link DSL-2640S
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2010
      Location
      Manchester
      Posts
      182
      Thanks
      5
      Thanked 17 Times in 17 Posts

      Re: Micrifilters?

      If you contact sky again and get put through to CST they are able to see that you are set onto the BT Home 500 (or what ever its called) they can then log a fault with BT asking them to change the setting on your circuit. ONly CST can see this though as they have access into BT's system to do this. If other things keep failing ask CST if your line is being migrated from WLR2 to WLR3, if this is the case orders being placed on your circuit will fail until the migration as completed.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #32
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: Micrifilters?

      Only a few people (and this is when I still worked for CST) know how to check the package a Connect customer is on - and fewer still to regrade it

      It only takes 24hrs as well to get a regrade done
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    4. #33
      User05's Avatar
      User05 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Dec 2008
      Posts
      3,030
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 171 Times in 164 Posts

      Re: Micrifilters?

      Ah, the standard 'solution' for those advisors in tier 1 who don't have a clue - send a new filter!

      Skyjohnny - as suggested, call Sky again. Don't bother telling t1 that you're on the wrong package as it'll only confuse matters as they don't have access to tell if you're on ipstream or otherwise. State that you have a slow connection at all times of the day and that you're currently in the test socket with another filter and no extension cables are in use. You'll be passed to CST and you'll hopefully get an advisor who has access to action a regrade. If not, it'll be passed to offnet escalations to be done.

    5. #34
      skyjohnny's Avatar
      skyjohnny is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 02871
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Feb 2011
      Posts
      32
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Micrifilters?

      Thanks for the help again, I will give them a call back. But think I will leave this until tomorrow, as by then it will be 48hours since they tried yet again to migrate and upgrade me.
      I will take your advice and ask to speak to somebody in the CST, I didnt realise this team has more access than the others?

      So really, nodody here cann see any reason as to why I cant be upgraded to Unlimited? Upon viewing my services through my TV Services Menu, I can see that I am on the Connect package.

      Yea I really am fed up with neing messed about and passd on. I've recieved more information and help on this forum from all you guys than I've has calling Sky 5 times, so thank you.

      Regrade, what is this exactly?

    6. #35
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: Micrifilters?

      Migration issues normally arise from system errors, which can be a PITA to resolve

      As said already by an agent on the phone - it would probably be quicker to cancel and reorder on Unlimited then wait for the errors to be resolved
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    7. #36
      skyjohnny's Avatar
      skyjohnny is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 02871
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Feb 2011
      Posts
      32
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Micrifilters?

      UPDATE:

      after all the checks on my line, turns out my line is capped at 500kbps, by BT. I dont know why?
      It has been like this ever since i've been on Connect (2yrs). Which is a joke in my opinion.

      More checks are being carried out, and the migration process is being attempted yet again for a 4th time. Failing this I will leave Sky and move to Virgin Media. Seems like a whole lot of work for a simple solution to me?

      Thanks

    8. #37
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Micrifilters?

      after all the checks on my line, turns out my line is capped at 500kbps, by BT.
      That's what we have been saying, you have been put on BT home500 instead of Connect. You are not the first that this has happened too and probably will not be the last.

      Let's hope they can sort it out for you, you should really have a super fast 20Mb connection.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    9. #38
      skyjohnny's Avatar
      skyjohnny is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 02871
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Feb 2011
      Posts
      32
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Micrifilters?

      OK Sky called last night, they wanted to try migrate again - I refused.

      So they passed me through to the CST Team, who discovered thta it was a BT fault, they have 'built my profile incorrectly'. so i'm told.

      So it has been passed to BTs diagnostics team, should be sorted today, and the guy from CST is going to give me a call back this evening.
      I'll keep you all posted, fingers crossed!

    10. #39
      skyjohnny's Avatar
      skyjohnny is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 02871
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Feb 2011
      Posts
      32
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Micrifilters?

      UPDATE:

      My router settings have now changed to:

      Downstream 8128kbps
      Upsream 448kbps

      But when I go to speedtest.net i get:

    11. #40
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      27,894
      Thanks
      810
      Thanked 2,194 Times in 2,064 Posts

      Re: Micrifilters?

      You might want to check when you get you phone call, but those figures indicate that you're on Sky connect.

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

     

     
    Page 4 of 5 FirstFirst ... 2345 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION