Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 7 of 7

    New Sky Broadband Customer

    This is a discussion on New Sky Broadband Customer within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Hello, I'm a new sky broadband customer and this afternoon I've been fully transferred over to SKY for broadband, calls ...

    1. #1
      nickgrant's Avatar
      nickgrant is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: MOSSLEY
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Feb 2011
      Posts
      7
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      New Sky Broadband Customer

      Hello,

      I'm a new sky broadband customer and this afternoon I've been fully transferred over to SKY for broadband, calls and line rental.

      Before I was with Plus net for my broadband and the Post Office for my line rental and calls. With plus net I was receiving around 6500 kbps and had a line attenuation of 42 db.

      My old router went offline around 3pm this afternoon and I dialled 150 from my phone and I got the "Welcome to Sky" announcement. So I knew my line was now in the hands of SKY.

      I then set up the Sky router and now I would like to explain what I did different. My old router was plugged into a 15 metre extension cable which ran from my master socket in the living room to my bedroom. This cable is quite old and the plan was to hook the router right up to the master socket and live off wifi. I wanted to do this so I'd get the best possible connection. But the problem is we have the decorators in doing the living room next week so this would of meant plugging and unplugging the router, which I heard will mess up the 10 day training period. So what I did was connected the router in the kitchen to another extension, this extension is only around 5 metres and is only a few years old.

      After the 10 day training period I plan to set-up the router in the living room and hook it up to the SKY HD box so I can receive the new Sky Anytime+ service.

      I do have a few Questions:

      At the moment my sky router is showing i've connected at 4093 kbps / 605 kbps. Is this the default connection sky start you off at?


      My Downstream Line Attenuation is 44.5db and Noise Margin 7.7db
      My Upstream Line Attenuation is 25.8db and Noise Margin 16.0db
      Is it normal for my downstream attenuation to rise from 42 (plusnet) to 44.5db (with sky)?


      I've also noticed that my router has lost sync about 3 times since I first got connected. I know I'm in the training period but is this normal?

      Thank you in advanced for any advice and information. I'll keep this thread updated with any developments - maybe it will help other new customers.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: New Sky Broadband Customer

      At the moment my sky router is showing i've connected at 4093 kbps / 605 kbps.
      That is about normal

      My Downstream Line Attenuation is 44.5db and Noise Margin 7.7db
      Your noise margin is poor, you would be better plugging into the master socket, rather than an extension. Disconnecting the router a few times during training will have little effect, if it does it can be manually configured.

      Is it normal for my downstream attenuation to rise from 42 (plusnet) to 44.5db (with sky)?
      Quite normal ADSL2+ syncs higher than BT ADSLMax. Also different routers read the attenution slightly different.

      I've also noticed that my router has lost sync about 3 times since I first got connected. I know I'm in the training period but is this normal?
      No you should not loose sync. The line management resyncs the router in the early hours. Unless you have a problem it should not resync at any other time.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    4. #3
      nickgrant's Avatar
      nickgrant is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: MOSSLEY
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Feb 2011
      Posts
      7
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: New Sky Broadband Customer

      I've just checked "My Broadband" under my sky account on-line and under connection details it says "Line testing is not currently in progress."

      Could anybody tell me when the line testing is suppose to start?

      P.S..

      The router hasn't lost since in nearly 15 hours... so those 3 disconnections that I noticed when I first got connected yesterday afternoon must of been due to work on my line or a blip.

      P.S.S.

      My noise margin has also rose from 7.7db to 8.4db

    5. #4
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: New Sky Broadband Customer

      It can take up to 72hrs to kick in
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    6. #5
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: New Sky Broadband Customer

      ...........and the web site is often behind 'real life'. Check if your router resynced between 2 and 3 in the morning, this is a good indication of DLM running. Check the WAN uptime in the router stats.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    7. #6
      nickgrant's Avatar
      nickgrant is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: MOSSLEY
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Feb 2011
      Posts
      7
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: New Sky Broadband Customer

      My router re scynced about 6 hours ago and now it's at 6254/945 Kbps. My stats have stayed the same though.

    8. #7
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      27,894
      Thanks
      810
      Thanked 2,194 Times in 2,064 Posts

      Re: New Sky Broadband Customer

      It often takes a few days for DLM to get close to the best speed when everything is fine with your line. So don't worry for the present.

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION