Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 6 of 6

    wireless only works in one room? going insane

    This is a discussion on wireless only works in one room? going insane within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Just got sky wireless. Router is installed and through an ethernet cable works great. In the room its installed in ...

    1. #1
      dhughes2010's Avatar
      dhughes2010 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: D-Link DSL-2640S
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Feb 2011
      Posts
      3
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      wireless only works in one room? going insane

      Just got sky wireless. Router is installed and through an ethernet cable works great. In the room its installed in the wireless is fine, however outside that room i cant get a signal of any kind. Ive tried different channels, no difference. Dp i need to get wireless boosters of some kind? Im amazed the engineer visit doesnt entail ensuring everythings working but oh well. Any advice?


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is online now Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      27,908
      Thanks
      812
      Thanked 2,195 Times in 2,065 Posts

      Re: wireless only works in one room? going insane

      There are a number of things that may help to improve the WiFi signal.

      a. reposition the router (turning it 90, placing it on top of something, laying on its side or upright, another place in the room)

      b. change the channel number (download & install InSSIDer to help find a clear channel locally)

      c. purchase a WiFi router that supports WiFi n. The Sky Routers only support up to g. If your devices support n already, they will really benefit from the stronger signal & better connection speeds to the router. Technically it is against Sky's T&C to use 3rd party routers, but in practise they tend to ignore the issue

      d. purchase a HomePlug that has a WiFi adaptor that you can position in another location in your home

      I trust at least one of these helps. There are a few others to consider, but these are some of the first steps to take IMHO.

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    4. #3
      dhughes2010's Avatar
      dhughes2010 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: D-Link DSL-2640S
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Feb 2011
      Posts
      3
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: wireless only works in one room? going insane

      Using my phone at the moment. Can the walls affect the signal? Its dense breezeblock

    5. #4
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is online now Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      27,908
      Thanks
      812
      Thanked 2,195 Times in 2,065 Posts

      Re: wireless only works in one room? going insane

      Absolutely.

      The thicker the wall, the worse the signal will be.

      A friend I have has an issue with a Chimney between the router and where she normally sits. The solution in her case has been to setup a 2nd router & a couple of homeplugs that she has laying around.

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    6. #5
      dhughes2010's Avatar
      dhughes2010 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: D-Link DSL-2640S
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Feb 2011
      Posts
      3
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: wireless only works in one room? going insane

      Thank you for your help sorry to be thick but....whats a homeplug?

    7. #6
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is online now Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      27,908
      Thanks
      812
      Thanked 2,195 Times in 2,065 Posts

      Re: wireless only works in one room? going insane

      Not a silly question, a quick search reveals that they allow you to extend your network by using your electric cables.

      Try to go for a pair that offers 200Mbps as they are actually 100Mbps asynchronous (i.e. both ways) which is the same as your LAN.

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION