Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 11

    two broadband connections, two different speeds

    This is a discussion on two broadband connections, two different speeds within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Hi every one ok, i have two broadband connections in my home, one is my sky unlimited and the other ...

    1. #1
      koni's Avatar
      koni is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: STBOTLEY
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sagemcom F@ST 2304n
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD x 2
      Join Date
      May 2009
      Posts
      64
      Thanks
      16
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      two broadband connections, two different speeds

      Hi every one

      ok, i have two broadband connections in my home, one is my sky unlimited and the other is a business broadband that is supplied by the company iw ork for, the isp for that is eclipse.

      My sky broadband has a sync of:

      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 3011 kbps 510 kbps
      Line Attenuation 55.0db 33.7db
      Noise Margin 6.8db 9.5db

      My upload as of 24 hours ago had a sync of over 950 with a snr of 7.0 which is different to above for some reason.

      My business line with the sky router attached has the following stats:

      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 3520 kbps 448 kbps
      Line Attenuation 54.5db 31.5db
      Noise Margin 9.5db 15.0db


      both connections come into the house via one line i guess, behind the master socket the sky connection goes into the master socket, it then has a adsl nation filter faceplate, then the router.

      the business connection doesnt touch the master socket downstairs, BT joined the cable to the extension socket in our bedroom, then put a second master socket for that phone line in (if that makes sense) then it has a 3mtr telephone extension cable, a filter and the router.

      why am i getting different speeds on the same line ?

      both of the connections are on G.DMT, i have put the same sky dlink router on both, if i plug my semi broken netgear on the business line i get a sync of 3.7mbps.

      any ideas ?


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      27,894
      Thanks
      810
      Thanked 2,194 Times in 2,064 Posts

      Re: two broadband connections, two different speeds

      I used to be with Eclipse. They are a small ISP and did some trials with ADSL2+ when it was introduced to this country.

      These resulted is a set of profiles aimed at getting good reliable speeds based on the feedback from participants.

      From what I understand on this forum, Sky has set theirs for stability first.

      Also it is possible that the new line which feeds you business line is using equipment / cable that hasn't had a few years degradation.

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    4. The Following User Says Thank You to Scubbie For This Useful Post:

      koni (12-02-11)

    5. #3
      Smithy99's Avatar
      Smithy99 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Irby
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Location
      Wirral
      Posts
      6,739
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 57 Times in 57 Posts

      Re: two broadband connections, two different speeds

      The two lines are different, the Eclipse line is a better quality as shown by the attenuation, this could be down to something as simple as better joints/connections etc. It could also be something to do with the chipset in the router.

      For interest, you could swap the routers around and see what the stats are like, you wouldn't be able to surf but you could see them to check if the router is holding you back.

    6. The Following User Says Thank You to Smithy99 For This Useful Post:

      koni (12-02-11)

    7. #4
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: two broadband connections, two different speeds

      both of the connections are on G.DMT,
      Your stats suggest your Sky connection is on ADSL2+ and your business one on BT's ADSLMax. The stats you posted here - FEC errors ? show you are on G.DMT and the figures 928 up and 3104 confirm it. If you look at your full stats again, I think you will find you have been changed to ADSL2+.

      Maybe you should call Sky and ask to be put back on G.DMT?

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    8. The Following User Says Thank You to Isitme For This Useful Post:

      koni (12-02-11)

    9. #5
      koni's Avatar
      koni is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: STBOTLEY
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sagemcom F@ST 2304n
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD x 2
      Join Date
      May 2009
      Posts
      64
      Thanks
      16
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: two broadband connections, two different speeds

      thanks for the replies

      the stats for both connections were taken from the same sky dlink router on btoh lines.

      I have ran the authentisity application on both lines and both show iam on G.DMT not adsl2+

      the eclipse connection could be on BT adsl max service i guess.

      I have decided to extend the master socket upstairs and have now got a connection speed via sky of 2160 lol on the down, so i will move the master back to its original socket.

      I will give sky a call later today about the difference in stats because 1/2 a meg on my speed is a reasonable increase, and over the last 6 months i have seen my connection speed increase upto 3.6 and now iam lucky if i can get 3.1.

    10. #6
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: two broadband connections, two different speeds

      Sorry, but your stats say different. If you look at the attenuation in the other link, it is 53.5dbs. Your present attenuation is 55dbs, the increase is typical of a move to ADSL2+.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    11. The Following User Says Thank You to Isitme For This Useful Post:

      koni (12-02-11)

    12. #7
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      27,894
      Thanks
      810
      Thanked 2,194 Times in 2,064 Posts

      Re: two broadband connections, two different speeds

      Just to clarify, Eclipse use ADSL2+ as a default now.

      Whilst they have a lot of dealings with BT, they have the ability to set their own noise margins, not relying on BT at all.

      I would entirely agree that it looks as if the Sky connection is on ADSL2+.

      If you have an old router/modem that is ADSL only, then should you plug it is, I don't think it would work on a line configured for ADSL2+. This would confirm/deny the issue of 'GDM.T'.

      Taking all this into account, I would now be looking at the quality of your telephone line & connections only. This means testing your line and possibly getting BTO involved through Sky.

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    13. The Following User Says Thank You to Scubbie For This Useful Post:

      koni (12-02-11)

    14. #8
      koni's Avatar
      koni is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: STBOTLEY
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sagemcom F@ST 2304n
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD x 2
      Join Date
      May 2009
      Posts
      64
      Thanks
      16
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: two broadband connections, two different speeds

      i have been on the phone to sky, they have done various things, god knows what but here are my stats:

      Router used - Sky dlink.

      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 3072 kbps 800 kbps
      Line Attenuation 54.5db 31.5db
      Noise Margin 7.5db 12.0db

      just to confirm i am on G.DMT here are the full line stats:

      ADSL Stats
      ==========

      xdslctl: ADSL driver and PHY status
      Status: Showtime
      Retrain Reason: 20
      Max: Upstream rate = 1088 Kbps, Downstream rate = 3680 Kbps
      Channel: INTR, Upstream rate = 800 Kbps, Downstream rate = 3072 Kbps

      Link Power State: L0
      Mode: G.DMT
      TPS-TC: ATM Mode
      Trellis: ON
      Line Status: No Defect
      Training Status: Showtime
      Down Up
      SNR (dB): 7.5 12.0
      Attn(dB): 54.5 31.5
      Pwr(dBm): 18.3 12.5
      G.dmt framing
      K: 97(0) 26
      R: 16 16
      S: 2 8
      D: 16 4
      Counters
      SF: 15988 15942
      SFErr: 0 0
      RS: 543576 135507
      RSCorr: 678 2
      RSUnCorr: 0 0

      HEC: 0 0
      OCD: 0 0
      LCD: 0 0
      Total Cells: 1969290 0
      Data Cells: 27954 0
      Drop Cells: 0
      Bit Errors: 0 0

      ES: 21 1
      SES: 21 0
      UAS: 81 81
      AS: 272

      INP: 1.21 1.14
      PER: 1.75 1.75
      delay: 8.00 8.00
      OR: 32.00 32.00

      Bitswap: 69 0

      Total time = 20 min 56 sec
      FEC: 2439 1
      CRC: 901 2
      ES: 21 1
      SES: 21 0
      UAS: 81 81
      LOS: 2 0
      LOF: 18 0
      Latest 15 minutes time = 5 min 56 sec
      FEC: 715 0
      CRC: 450 0
      ES: 10 0
      SES: 10 0
      UAS: 37 37
      LOS: 1 0
      LOF: 9 0
      Previous 15 minutes time = 15 min 0 sec
      FEC: 1724 1
      CRC: 451 2
      ES: 11 1
      SES: 11 0
      UAS: 44 44
      LOS: 1 0
      LOF: 9 0
      Latest 1 day time = 20 min 56 sec
      FEC: 2439 1
      CRC: 901 2
      ES: 21 1
      SES: 21 0
      UAS: 81 81
      LOS: 2 0
      LOF: 18 0
      Previous 1 day time = 0 sec
      FEC: 0 0
      CRC: 0 0
      ES: 0 0
      SES: 0 0
      UAS: 0 0
      LOS: 0 0
      LOF: 0 0
      Since Link time = 4 min 31 sec
      FEC: 678 2
      CRC: 0 0
      ES: 0 1
      SES: 0 0
      UAS: 0 0
      LOS: 0 0
      LOF: 0 0
      xdslctl: ADSL driver and PHY status
      Status: Showtime
      Retrain Reason: 20
      Max: Upstream rate = 1088 Kbps, Downstream rate = 3680 Kbps
      Channel: INTR, Upstream rate = 800 Kbps, Downstream rate = 3072 Kbps

      ChipSet Vendor Id: GSPN:0x0008
      ChipSet VersionNumber: 0x0008
      ChipSet SerialNumber:


      these are the stats from my business line:

      Router used - Sky d-link:

      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 3232 kbps 448 kbps
      Line Attenuation 54.5db 31.5db
      Noise Margin 9.4db 14.0db


      ADSL Stats
      ==========

      xdslctl: ADSL driver and PHY status
      Status: Showtime
      Retrain Reason: 8000
      Max: Upstream rate = 868 Kbps, Downstream rate = 3584 Kbps
      Channel: INTR, Upstream rate = 448 Kbps, Downstream rate = 3232 Kbps

      Link Power State: L0
      Mode: G.DMT
      TPS-TC: ATM Mode
      Trellis: ON
      Line Status: No Defect
      Training Status: Showtime
      Down Up
      SNR (dB): 9.2 14.0
      Attn(dB): 54.5 31.5
      Pwr(dBm): 18.6 12.6
      G.dmt framing
      K: 102(0) 15
      R: 16 16
      S: 2 8
      D: 16 4
      Counters
      SF: 2359 2299
      SFErr: 0 0
      RS: 80189 19541
      RSCorr: 0 0
      RSUnCorr: 0 0

      HEC: 0 0
      OCD: 0 0
      LCD: 0 0
      Total Cells: 305752 0
      Data Cells: 39 0
      Drop Cells: 0
      Bit Errors: 0 0

      ES: 0 0
      SES: 0 0
      UAS: 24 24
      AS: 41

      INP: 1.16 1.88
      PER: 1.75 1.75
      delay: 8.00 8.00
      OR: 32.00 32.00

      Bitswap: 7 0

      Total time = 1 min 10 sec
      FEC: 0 0
      CRC: 0 0
      ES: 0 0
      SES: 0 0
      UAS: 24 24
      LOS: 0 0
      LOF: 0 0
      Latest 15 minutes time = 1 min 10 sec
      FEC: 0 0
      CRC: 0 0
      ES: 0 0
      SES: 0 0
      UAS: 24 24
      LOS: 0 0
      LOF: 0 0
      Previous 15 minutes time = 0 sec
      FEC: 0 0
      CRC: 0 0
      ES: 0 0
      SES: 0 0
      UAS: 0 0
      LOS: 0 0
      LOF: 0 0
      Latest 1 day time = 1 min 10 sec
      FEC: 0 0
      CRC: 0 0
      ES: 0 0
      SES: 0 0
      UAS: 24 24
      LOS: 0 0
      LOF: 0 0
      Previous 1 day time = 0 sec
      FEC: 0 0
      CRC: 0 0
      ES: 0 0
      SES: 0 0
      UAS: 0 0
      LOS: 0 0
      LOF: 0 0
      Since Link time = 39 sec
      FEC: 0 0
      CRC: 0 0
      ES: 0 0
      SES: 0 0
      UAS: 0 0
      LOS: 0 0
      LOF: 0 0
      xdslctl: ADSL driver and PHY status
      Status: Showtime
      Retrain Reason: 8000
      Max: Upstream rate = 868 Kbps, Downstream rate = 3584 Kbps
      Channel: INTR, Upstream rate = 448 Kbps, Downstream rate = 3232 Kbps

      ChipSet Vendor Id: IFTN:0x71b9
      ChipSet VersionNumber: 0x71b9
      ChipSet SerialNumber:

    15. #9
      koni's Avatar
      koni is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: STBOTLEY
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sagemcom F@ST 2304n
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD x 2
      Join Date
      May 2009
      Posts
      64
      Thanks
      16
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: two broadband connections, two different speeds

      right, all ok now.

      Phoned back into sky, they did some more changes on the line and these are now my stats:

      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 3776 kbps 896 kbps
      Line Attenuation 54.5db 31.5db
      Noise Margin 7.3db 9.0db

      I have no idea whats now been done but my sync speed is much better.

    16. #10
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: two broadband connections, two different speeds

      You are now on G.DMT. The first stats you posted were not. If you had taken the full stats before you phoned Sky, I am pretty sure they would have shown ADSL2+.

      Now you can get on to BT and complain about your speed being lower than Sky's. Your upload especially.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    17. The Following User Says Thank You to Isitme For This Useful Post:

      koni (12-02-11)

     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION