Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
    Results 11 to 20 of 20

    Broadband Connected before activation date?

    This is a discussion on Broadband Connected before activation date? within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; ADSL Link Downstream Upstream Connection Speed 1644 kbps 405 kbps Line Attenuation 60.0db 36.4db Noise Margin 11.8db 14.6db And yes ...

    1. #11
      reecicles's Avatar
      reecicles is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Feb 2011
      Posts
      32
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: Broadband Connected before activation date?

      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 1644 kbps 405 kbps
      Line Attenuation 60.0db 36.4db
      Noise Margin 11.8db 14.6db

      And yes there is an ip address
      Any ideas what my speed will be after dlm?

      Thanks again guys


    2. Advertisement
    3. #12
      User05's Avatar
      User05 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Dec 2008
      Posts
      3,030
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 171 Times in 164 Posts

      Re: Broadband Connected before activation date?

      Lines being commissioned before the date are few and far between, so this is a bit odd. Open command prompt and do a tracert to google. Check if it completes and paste in the result.

    4. #13
      reecicles's Avatar
      reecicles is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Feb 2011
      Posts
      32
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: Broadband Connected before activation date?

      Result:
      Unable to resolve target system name Google

      Thanks

    5. #14
      reecicles's Avatar
      reecicles is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Feb 2011
      Posts
      32
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: Broadband Connected before activation date?

      By the way I have just tried it in the test socket and my results are worse lol

      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 1401 kbps 493 kbps
      Line Attenuation 61.5db 36.2db
      Noise Margin 12.4db 12.1db

    6. #15
      reecicles's Avatar
      reecicles is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Feb 2011
      Posts
      32
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: Broadband Connected before activation date?

      Just looking for some unusual things in the settings and found that the dns is 1.1.1.1

      Would this have anything to do with it?

      Thanks,
      Reecicles

    7. #16
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is online now Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      27,906
      Thanks
      812
      Thanked 2,195 Times in 2,065 Posts

      Re: Broadband Connected before activation date?

      Yep.

      As an interim you could try Google's DNS.

      Others on here recommend OpenDNS as a faster choice.

      If the 1.1.1.1 is set on your router, then you'll need to set the temp DNS settings on your PC.

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    8. #17
      reecicles's Avatar
      reecicles is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Feb 2011
      Posts
      32
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: Broadband Connected before activation date?

      Thanks for the reply scubbie,

      By any chance, do you know how I can change the dns on my router?

      Thank youuu

    9. #18
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is online now Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Broadband Connected before activation date?

      You can't on the V2s and Dlink, only on the V1 router. The PC setting over-rides the router setting so it does not really matter, just a bind if you have a lot of devices.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    10. #19
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is online now Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      27,906
      Thanks
      812
      Thanked 2,195 Times in 2,065 Posts

      Re: Broadband Connected before activation date?

      I can't test this on my Sky Netgear router as I am locked out of this function. I would surmise that this will be the same on others. This is why I suggested that you do it on your PC.

      I know that you are kean to go live asap, but your live date isn't until 18th.

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    11. #20
      reecicles's Avatar
      reecicles is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Feb 2011
      Posts
      32
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: Broadband Connected before activation date?

      Yeh I know, but it has just spiked my curiosity that the connected light is green.

      I'll just wait and see when it works

      Thanks for your help everyone!

      Reecicles

     

     
    Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION