Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 123
    Results 21 to 27 of 27

    Secondary Socket higher speed than Master??

    This is a discussion on Secondary Socket higher speed than Master?? within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; BT stopped using NTE5's like the one you posted a picture of YEARS ago so if this is 12 months ...

    1. #21
      RUNITDIRECT's Avatar
      RUNITDIRECT is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Not on Sky
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jun 2008
      Location
      Shropshire
      Posts
      1,253
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 81 Times in 77 Posts

      Re: Secondary Socket higher speed than Master??

      BT stopped using NTE5's like the one you posted a picture of YEARS ago so if this is 12 months old then i would doubt the quality of the wiring seeing as old second hand sockets have been used!! Can you post some pictures of the wiring with the faceplates removed? (Back of faceplate shots).
      run-IT-direct, For all your networking, ADSL & telecom requirements.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #22
      leicesterbaggie's Avatar
      leicesterbaggie is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01484
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Everyday Lite
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Feb 2011
      Posts
      12
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Secondary Socket higher speed than Master??

      Hiya, thanks for the info.

      Do you mean behind the NTE backplate, A&B connectors? As I have fitetd a filter to the front.

    4. #23
      RUNITDIRECT's Avatar
      RUNITDIRECT is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Not on Sky
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jun 2008
      Location
      Shropshire
      Posts
      1,253
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 81 Times in 77 Posts

      Re: Secondary Socket higher speed than Master??

      Yes, & also the back of the faceplate & also the secondary socket.
      run-IT-direct, For all your networking, ADSL & telecom requirements.

    5. #24
      leicesterbaggie's Avatar
      leicesterbaggie is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01484
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Everyday Lite
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Feb 2011
      Posts
      12
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Secondary Socket higher speed than Master??

      Hiya, as attached.

      Thanks
      Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Secondary Socket higher speed than Master??-master1.jpg   Secondary Socket higher speed than Master??-master2.jpg   Secondary Socket higher speed than Master??-master3.jpg   Secondary Socket higher speed than Master??-secondary1.jpg   Secondary Socket higher speed than Master??-secondary2.jpg  


    6. #25
      RUNITDIRECT's Avatar
      RUNITDIRECT is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Not on Sky
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jun 2008
      Location
      Shropshire
      Posts
      1,253
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 81 Times in 77 Posts

      Re: Secondary Socket higher speed than Master??

      Wiring looks fine to me, how long has the line had BB activated on it?
      run-IT-direct, For all your networking, ADSL & telecom requirements.

    7. #26
      leicesterbaggie's Avatar
      leicesterbaggie is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01484
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Everyday Lite
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Feb 2011
      Posts
      12
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Secondary Socket higher speed than Master??

      The line, since new, 14mths. Sky within the month.

    8. #27
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Secondary Socket higher speed than Master??

      The only thing I would add is, that as Runit says, that is an old NTE5 so it will not have a ring filter built in. Try pulling the wires off the number 3 terminal in the master socket. This is the ring wire, it is not required and can cause interference. Take your stats after doing that.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





     

     
    Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 123

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION