Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
    Results 11 to 20 of 29

    Wont Connect any faster than 896kbps

    This is a discussion on Wont Connect any faster than 896kbps within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; That is weird but I would have thought they could have fixed it from there end if they could see ...

    1. #11
      Wheelie's Avatar
      Wheelie is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Stanmore LWSTAN
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      Stanmore
      Posts
      3,424
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      That is weird but I would have thought they could have fixed it from there end if they could see you ?? as vishal said you are on a really long line looking at the stats you posted so maybe its very unstable so try asking them to cap it which should help.

      @Just Cause
      Most speed test sites are only any good at quites times if there is such a thing I always find ftp downloads more reliable, as for your weird speed as you are on the Connect package it has to go through a training period before it stabilises for more information read >>this<< it will explain it better than I could.
      Ray

      Some Advice.. Its always advisable to inform your old ISP as soon as you have migrated that you have moved.
      ______________________________________

      If you would like to know the straight line distance to your exchange then
      click here
      Would you like an idea of the possible speeds you will get with the Max Package then click here or for the Connect Package then click here


    2. Advertisement
    3. #12
      Just Cause's Avatar
      Just Cause is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Wallsend
      Broadband ISP: Connect
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      49
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      Cheers Ray.

      I have to add that it seems like it may be contention, or at least that may be part of the problem. This is just a guess. If I download anything at around 9 a.m. ish I get the full speed expected. Evenings are always problematic.

      Does this sound logical?

    4. #13
      Wheelie's Avatar
      Wheelie is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Stanmore LWSTAN
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      Stanmore
      Posts
      3,424
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      Oh yes very logical since the evenings are always the busiest time so that could well be a major factor.
      Ray

      Some Advice.. Its always advisable to inform your old ISP as soon as you have migrated that you have moved.
      ______________________________________

      If you would like to know the straight line distance to your exchange then
      click here
      Would you like an idea of the possible speeds you will get with the Max Package then click here or for the Connect Package then click here

    5. #14
      Just Cause's Avatar
      Just Cause is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Wallsend
      Broadband ISP: Connect
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      49
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      Cheers,

      I cannot fathom how I never had this issue with my 2Mb BT product though. I have asked for my MAC code from sky because if it gets no better quickly, I will be going back to BT.

    6. #15
      Wheelie's Avatar
      Wheelie is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Stanmore LWSTAN
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      Stanmore
      Posts
      3,424
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      Like I said the router has to go through this training period as well which doesn't help and no you probably would have noticed it on a 2MB package but even if you go back to BT you will still have the same problems as you now as you will go back on the MAX Adsl up to 8MB which is what you are on now.
      Ray

      Some Advice.. Its always advisable to inform your old ISP as soon as you have migrated that you have moved.
      ______________________________________

      If you would like to know the straight line distance to your exchange then
      click here
      Would you like an idea of the possible speeds you will get with the Max Package then click here or for the Connect Package then click here

    7. #16
      old mcdonal's Avatar
      old mcdonal is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP:
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Posts
      25
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      got router yesterday (on connect package) - plugged in and configured outlook smpt, wifo etc..... getting around 6000kb, so far so good i did download vishal's iso file it took under 20min, and download some software from microsoft site seems much faster than my previous isp.

      my stats are


      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 7584 kbps 448 kbps
      Line Attenuation 10.0 db 17.0 db
      Noise Margin 14.8 db 25.0 db

      was reading somewhere that router and exchange does some sort of checking for about 10 days, so far im happy - however when i reboot router it takes around 5mins to negociate internet access

    8. #17
      vin's Avatar
      vin
      vin is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Morley
      Broadband ISP:
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      22
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Thanks for all your replies guys.

      I was on BT for years on a steady 1MB link that was stable.
      When I get a connection with Sky it tends to stay up (over 100hours and counting) but it can take upto an hour to get connected (see original post).
      I get constant download speeds of about 80kbs which is what i'd expect on 896kbps link. On BT I was getting 115kbs. I should connect at 2.4MB and get download speeds of 200kbs+

      It's really frustrating and Sky keep closing my tickets (or calls) after a week or so without calling me back.
      T3 were supposed to call me on Monday but I'm still waiting. 50 says that when I call on Friday for an update they'll have closed the call (as they did on the other 2 occasions)

    9. #18
      Just Cause's Avatar
      Just Cause is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Wallsend
      Broadband ISP: Connect
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      49
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      In my mind I like the idea of BT owning my issues. Sky tell me there is a problem on my exchange.

      When I call sky they just fob me off saying it is BT's hardware and they have no idea when things will get looked at. I feel that calling BT, and having my service owned by them, would result in me at least knowing what was going on with issues.

      I think I like the idea of being back with BT and in the position I am in rather than with Sky.

      Thanks for your help.

    10. #19
      vin's Avatar
      vin
      vin is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Morley
      Broadband ISP:
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      22
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Just Cause

      Did you find BT's support to be any better than Sky's?

    11. #20
      Wheelie's Avatar
      Wheelie is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Stanmore LWSTAN
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      Stanmore
      Posts
      3,424
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      I understand what you are saying Just Cause.

      In theory BT Broadband should be treated just the same as every other ISP by BTW.

      @vin
      Never used to be when I was with them and since they have so many millions of customers I doubt its changed.
      Ray

      Some Advice.. Its always advisable to inform your old ISP as soon as you have migrated that you have moved.
      ______________________________________

      If you would like to know the straight line distance to your exchange then
      click here
      Would you like an idea of the possible speeds you will get with the Max Package then click here or for the Connect Package then click here

     

     
    Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION