Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 7 of 7

    Best way to contact sky and have connection rest.

    This is a discussion on Best way to contact sky and have connection rest. within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Hi, Can anyone tell me the best way to contact sky and have my BB line rest. I checked on ...

    1. #1
      Captain Kipper's Avatar
      Captain Kipper is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Haslington
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Location
      Crewe
      Posts
      18
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Best way to contact sky and have connection rest.

      Hi, Can anyone tell me the best way to contact sky and have my BB line rest.
      I checked on BT's site before Christmas and it said I should get 3mb, and that is what I get.
      I just checked and BT now say I should be able to get 8mb.
      They have just fitted a new cabinet at the end of my road ready for Fibre, I guess this maybe the reason for a higher estimate.
      Could someone please point the way to Altair-4


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Best way to contact sky and have connection rest.

      Before you bother phoning, post your stats from your router. That will tell the story.
      How to get your router statistics

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    4. #3
      Captain Kipper's Avatar
      Captain Kipper is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Haslington
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Location
      Crewe
      Posts
      18
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Best way to contact sky and have connection rest.

      ADSL Link............................Downstrean........ .............Upstream
      Connection Speed................3040 kbps........................745 kbps
      Line Attenuation...................62.5 db...........................40.5 db
      Noise Margin........................ 9.4 db............................6.8 db

      Is this ok?

      Thanks
      Could someone please point the way to Altair-4

    5. #4
      PaulSky's Avatar
      PaulSky is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Location
      Essex
      Posts
      4,202
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 16 Times in 16 Posts

      Re: Best way to contact sky and have connection rest.

      BT say you can get 8Mb with those numbers?

    6. #5
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Best way to contact sky and have connection rest.

      If your noise margin is always well above 7dbs, you may get a bit more if you call them. It would not be much and to be honest, you are better off with a stable 3Mb than an unstable 3.5Mb.

      There is no way you will get anywhere near 8Mb with your long copper line. That may be an estimate of what you would get if you were on the FTTC.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    7. #6
      Captain Kipper's Avatar
      Captain Kipper is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Haslington
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Location
      Crewe
      Posts
      18
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Best way to contact sky and have connection rest.

      Thanks all... I think I will leave it well alone then.
      Any rumours regarding Fibre optic from Sky?
      I signed up for their trial last year but heard nothing so far
      Could someone please point the way to Altair-4

    8. #7
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Best way to contact sky and have connection rest.

      I think just about everyone registered their interest, but so far no one has heard anything.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    9. The Following User Says Thank You to Isitme For This Useful Post:

      Captain Kipper (28-01-11)

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION