Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 12

    Nothing is Working :-(

    This is a discussion on Nothing is Working :-( within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Hello, Basically I moved to Sky for phoneline which was previously with BT and broadband which was previously with O2 ...

    1. #1
      preetkk's Avatar
      preetkk is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      May 2007
      Posts
      83
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Nothing is Working :-(

      Hello,

      Basically I moved to Sky for phoneline which was previously with BT and broadband which was previously with O2

      The activation date was 24th January 2011 (two days ago)

      At around 12pm the internet went dead so I unplugged the O2 router and plugged in the Sky router. The internet worked but I was capped at 4mb (my line can handle 16mb without problems, I've had that speed with o2 and have been with Sky in the past and wanted to come back to save money) so I looked around and found out that Sky have DLM in place thats fine I dont mind 4mb for a day or two.

      Then sometime in the day on the 24th my internet stopped working with the Sky router plugged in so I checked the phone line and that also was not working it had no dial tone (tried master socket and test socket). So now I phoned Sky and they ran a line test and it came up that there is a FU failure which means there is a problem at the exchange so they notified BT about it.

      Now its the 26th two days later and the problem is still here. Internet does not work and no dial tone on the phone. I phoned Sky up and they said BT have closed the ticket and then the guy ran another line test and the FU failure is still there. So now he has opened another ticket with BT and I'm going to have to wait another 48 hours!

      I explained to Sky that I am expecting an important phone call from Canada, so asked if you could divert all calls to my mobile the guy asked his manager and because I am on Sky's network (Sky Voice and Broadband Network) they cant forward my calls for me

      And now here's me thinking wish I never moved providers!

      Now does anyone know what is the usual time frame for these problems?

      Thanks


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      27,908
      Thanks
      812
      Thanked 2,195 Times in 2,065 Posts

      Re: Nothing is Working :-(

      Quote Originally Posted by preetkk View Post
      At around 12pm the internet went dead so I unplugged the O2 router and plugged in the Sky router. The internet worked but I was capped at 4mb (my line can handle 16mb without problems, I've had that speed with o2 and have been with Sky in the past and wanted to come back to save money) so I looked around and found out that Sky have DLM in place thats fine I dont mind 4mb for a day or two.
      The 4Mb a normal starting point. Once DLM starts working, it will quickly get towards your target rate of 16Mb.

      Quote Originally Posted by preetkk View Post
      ...Now its the 26th two days later and the problem is still here. Internet does not work and no dial tone on the phone. I phoned Sky up and they said BT have closed the ticket and then the guy ran another line test and the FU failure is still there. So now he has opened another ticket with BT and I'm going to have to wait another 48 hours!

      I explained to Sky that I am expecting an important phone call from Canada, so asked if you could divert all calls to my mobile the guy asked his manager and because I am on Sky's network (Sky Voice and Broadband Network) they cant forward my calls for me
      I know that this is a service that BT can offer. I'm kind of surprised that Sky doesn't do so.

      Quote Originally Posted by preetkk View Post
      And now here's me thinking wish I never moved providers!

      Now does anyone know what is the usual time frame for these problems?
      Personally I would get back on your phone and talk nicely to the person. Ask for a prompt deadline or to be passed on to someone more senior. Something has gone wrong somewhere and it needs to be rectified soon.

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    4. #3
      preetkk's Avatar
      preetkk is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      May 2007
      Posts
      83
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Nothing is Working :-(

      Thanks for the reply.

      DLM is not a problem I understand that issue.

      I have been polite to Sky staff but patience is running low now. What can I say on the phone to help get the matter sorted? Without being fobbed off with the 48 hour excuse

    5. #4
      User05's Avatar
      User05 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Dec 2008
      Posts
      3,030
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 171 Times in 164 Posts

      Re: Nothing is Working :-(

      FU fault = Frames Unit. LL1 needs logged to Openreach requesting a Frames engineer for likely some kind of jumpering issue.

      As advised, it takes around 48 hours for an update of some kind, whether that be engineer dispatched, fault cleared and closed etc.

      Unfortunately, it cannot be sped up.

    6. #5
      preetkk's Avatar
      preetkk is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      May 2007
      Posts
      83
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Nothing is Working :-(

      Thought as much Oh well

      It wouldn't be as bad if they had the ability to Divert calls

    7. #6
      User05's Avatar
      User05 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Dec 2008
      Posts
      3,030
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 171 Times in 164 Posts

      Re: Nothing is Working :-(

      It's possible if your line rental is WLR (Wholesale Line Rental) i.e. (sky-talk line rental non-svbn) not on Sky's voice and broadband network, but unfortunately it's not possible to divert calls on SVBN.

    8. #7
      preetkk's Avatar
      preetkk is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      May 2007
      Posts
      83
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Nothing is Working :-(

      Lets see what the morning brings

    9. #8
      preetkk's Avatar
      preetkk is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      May 2007
      Posts
      83
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Nothing is Working :-(

      Still no joy

    10. #9
      BritBrat's Avatar
      BritBrat is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: D-Link DSL-2640S
      Sky TV: Other
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Posts
      233
      Thanks
      7
      Thanked 12 Times in 12 Posts

      Re: Nothing is Working :-(

      It can take weeks changing over phone and broadband or so I have been told.

      If you had BT line rental and just changed Broadband it would have been little down time, all these changes with phone providers is getting very complicated and there seems to be no provision/system for easy transfers, well that is how I see it.

      Sorry not much help for your case but others may find it helpfull.

    11. #10
      preetkk's Avatar
      preetkk is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      May 2007
      Posts
      83
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Nothing is Working :-(

      "weeks" now that would be a right pain!

      anyway everything is sorted now even DLM (had to phone up tho)

      EDIT - except my 767 kbps upload speed (wouldn't mind above 1200kbps) oh well I can not be ar$ed to phone again anytime soon. I will email when I have chance
      Last edited by preetkk; 28-01-11 at 01:35 PM.

     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION