Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 63k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 6 of 6

    http://speedtester.bt.com

    This is a discussion on http://speedtester.bt.com within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; hi when i try and use the BT speedtester i get an error saying my phone number is incorrect. i ...

    1. #1
      smiley rulez's Avatar
      smiley rulez is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: St Austell
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Oct 2008
      Location
      St Austell
      Posts
      113
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      http://speedtester.bt.com

      hi

      when i try and use the BT speedtester i get an error saying my phone number is incorrect.

      i have a 10 digit phone number not an 11 digit number, could that be the problem?


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      32,028
      Thanks
      50
      Thanked 1,509 Times in 1,471 Posts

      Re: http://speedtester.bt.com

      The BT speedtester will not work with Sky Broadband. It will only allow BT based connections. If you were unfortunate enough to be on Connect, then you could use it.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      Inssider / TCPOptimiser /Test Socket





    4. #3
      smiley rulez's Avatar
      smiley rulez is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: St Austell
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Oct 2008
      Location
      St Austell
      Posts
      113
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: http://speedtester.bt.com

      oh

      thanks

      can you look at my stats, the noise margin is still low but the connection never drops and the noise on my phone line has been gone for a couple months now:



      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 7536 kbps 1142 kbps
      Line Attenuation 37.0 db 20.2 db
      Noise Margin 3.6 db 7.6 db

      this is with my router plugged into my socket upstairs, which im calling my "master"

    5. #4
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LVSEF
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Asus DSL-N55U
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      Liverpool, Merseyside
      Posts
      9,373
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 124 Times in 123 Posts

      Re: http://speedtester.bt.com

      Is the 'master' actually the master socket? If not, don't call it the master
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    6. #5
      smiley rulez's Avatar
      smiley rulez is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: St Austell
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Oct 2008
      Location
      St Austell
      Posts
      113
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: http://speedtester.bt.com

      ive been over this many times in previous threads, i don't really know if i have a master socket or not. But this socket gives me the best results without drops etc

    7. #6
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      32,028
      Thanks
      50
      Thanked 1,509 Times in 1,471 Posts

      Re: http://speedtester.bt.com

      Until you improve your internal wiring as previously advised, you are not going to get the speed you should, around 10-12Mb.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      Inssider / TCPOptimiser /Test Socket





     

     

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2014. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION | SEO by vBSEO