Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 20

    Engineer visit

    This is a discussion on Engineer visit within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Hi, I recently had the price of my BB lowered to 7.50, this in turn made DLM kick in and ...

    1. #1
      odds's Avatar
      odds is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Ashton
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Fibre
      Router: Sky Q Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      103
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Engineer visit

      Hi,

      I recently had the price of my BB lowered to 7.50, this in turn made DLM kick in and my connection dropped from 6 meg to 5. So I called Sky and was having a chat with one of the advisors who tried to convince me that 5 is really the same as 6 . It's a while since I was at school but I don't remember ever being taught that at any time. Anyway after realising I was getting nowhere fast I was transferred to another dept and the upshot is they said they will send an engineer out, which they said was a FREE service. Is this correct ?
      My next question is, I have original Netgear Firmware flashed to the router, so is the Engineer likely to get a bit jobsworth and not do anything if he sees that ?

      Thanks

      Pete.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: Engineer visit

      If the fault is down to the external line or master socket then it's free, if it's something internal you might get the invoice (but it's rare). Are they sending a Sky engineer or a BT one?

      The engineer being sent is an Openreach one and in no way connected to Sky so they won't care about the router. I doubt even the Sky guy will care unless they have to log into the PC. What are your current router stats anyway? Chances are DLM just changed it to ADSL2+ and the line works better on GDMT
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    4. #3
      odds's Avatar
      odds is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Ashton
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Fibre
      Router: Sky Q Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      103
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Engineer visit

      Thanks for that reply. The guy said it would be a Sky employee that specialised in Broadband, I've always been on ADSL2+ and still am. My stats at the moment after he messed about last night are left looking like this:

      Mode: ADSL2+
      Channel: Fast
      Trellis: ON
      Line Status: No Defect
      Training Status: Showtime

      Down Up
      SNR (dB): 7.9 17.2
      Attn(dB): 43.5 25.8
      Pwr(dBm): 17.6 1.6
      Max(Kbps): 6324 1059
      Rate (Kbps): 4089 415


      After checking my postcode he said that his results showed a possible 12meg, which I know is not possible. He said he was removing any limits aswell upto 12meg so that when the engineer calls there will be no cap on the line, but it will not sync above the stats above. Years ago when I was with Bulldog I used to sync at 8meg. Unfortunately I have no idea what the stats were like back then though.
      Oh well, see what he says tomorrow

    5. #4
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Engineer visit

      Just the usual advice, plug into your Test socket and post your stats from there. With a good line you could get 7-8Mb, but you appear to be capped at around 4Mb at the moment.
      How to test your ADSL in the Master Test Socket

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    6. #5
      odds's Avatar
      odds is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Ashton
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Fibre
      Router: Sky Q Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      103
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Engineer visit

      Quote Originally Posted by Isitme View Post
      With a good line you could get 7-8Mb
      Which is what I used to get years ago on Bulldog.
      Quote Originally Posted by Isitme View Post
      but you appear to be capped at around 4Mb at the moment.
      He did say that he would remove that BEFORE the engineer visit, we'll see though.
      Wouldn't that be just typical of Sky to send an engineer to test a capped line

      Pete.

    7. #6
      User05's Avatar
      User05 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Dec 2008
      Posts
      3,030
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 171 Times in 164 Posts

      Re: Engineer visit

      If it is indeed capped and it's an Openreach LLU SFI that has been sent out, they'll sometimes call through for a co-op to Sky to get it uncapped to ensure all is sorted.

    8. #7
      jayhab's Avatar
      jayhab is offline Site Content Team
      Exchange: Connah's Quay
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Fibre
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: not any more!
      Join Date
      Mar 2007
      Posts
      480
      Thanks
      27
      Thanked 18 Times in 17 Posts

      Re: Engineer visit

      Quote Originally Posted by odds View Post
      Mode: ADSL2+
      Channel: Fast
      Trellis: ON
      Line Status: No Defect
      Training Status: Showtime

      Down Up
      SNR (dB): 7.9 17.2
      Attn(dB): 43.5 25.8
      Pwr(dBm): 17.6 1.6
      Max(Kbps): 6324 1059
      Rate (Kbps): 4089 415
      If that's all you're getting on ADSL2+ you really want to switch over to G.dmt, in doing so your attenuation will decrease - perhaps to 41db or even 40db, thus enabling you to sync a lot closer to the 8meg that you are wanting. Your upload has also been capped and can get a lot closer to the 1059 that it is currently showing as being the max available.

    9. #8
      nige1983's Avatar
      nige1983 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: MRDEN
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: D-Link DSL-2640S
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2010
      Location
      Manchester
      Posts
      182
      Thanks
      5
      Thanked 17 Times in 17 Posts

      Re: Engineer visit

      It will defo be a BTO engineer that comes out. As user 05 mentioned the engineer may call for a co-op call I would politelty remind the engineer when he's on site to make sure this is done.

    10. #9
      odds's Avatar
      odds is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Ashton
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Fibre
      Router: Sky Q Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      103
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Engineer visit

      Hi
      Update to the engineer visit.
      It was as suggested a BTOpenreach person that turned up. He was here this morning for about half an hour, just checked the line basically. I told him that Sky has a cap on the line and they were supposed to have removed it BEFORE he came, he informed me that the line was only running at around 75% so he would go back to the exchange and get in touch with Sky to remove the cap.
      So I am none the wiser now cos it is still capped
      Is it now back to me to phone Sky yet again then and push them again ?

      I mentioned changing Modes to the engineer while he was here but he had never heard of G.DMT !! So I have done a little tinkering with the settings and have now got this:

      Mode: G.DMT
      Channel: Interleave
      Trellis: ON
      Line Status: No Defect
      Training Status: Showtime
      Down Up
      SNR (dB): 12.6 16.0
      Attn(dB): 41.0 25.5
      Pwr(dBm): 19.7 2.4
      Max(Kbps): 6048 1200
      Rate (Kbps): 4096 416

      So as you can now see, as suggested by jayhab I would be better off getting switched to G.DMT by Sky. All I really want back is the connection I had prior to getting the price dropped.
      Just one more thing that may interest some people, he did go on about BT Infinity and told me that TalkTalk now offer it in this area, and he would expect that Sky wouldn't be too far away from offering it ............ read into that what ever you wish

      Thanks

    11. #10
      User05's Avatar
      User05 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Dec 2008
      Posts
      3,030
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 171 Times in 164 Posts

      Re: Engineer visit

      If it was a legit LL5 (LLU SFI/SFIM), then I'd be highly surprised if they didn't know what g.dmt/adsl1 is.

      You may find that it isn't capped - plenty of lines, particularly on the Sky Voice & Broadband Network (SVBN), can have higher SNRs than target (7db) and still be uncapped. The only reason it isn't training in higher is that there is some kind of noise/fault.

      I'd get onto Sky again and have them check the engineer job notes and see what has, or has not, been done.

      Edit: If the engineer has only literally left, leave it an hour odd before calling up, in case he still hasn't finished any investigation on the line or exchange.

     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION