Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
    Results 11 to 20 of 20

    Engineer visit

    This is a discussion on Engineer visit within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Your line attenuation is on the border of where there is an advantage in having ADSL2+. Call Sky and ask ...

    1. #11
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Engineer visit

      Your line attenuation is on the border of where there is an advantage in having ADSL2+. Call Sky and ask them to try your line on G.DMT(adsl) and configure it for its best speed, up and down.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.






    2. Advertisement
    3. #12
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: Engineer visit

      The Openreach engineer isn't a BB one but a phone engineer, all they do is check the wiring in the house and then go the exchange and make sure everything is OK there. If need be they'll call Sky if it's a dead line issue. They have no idea on ADSL modes
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    4. #13
      odds's Avatar
      odds is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Ashton
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Fibre
      Router: Sky Q Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      103
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Engineer visit

      Quote Originally Posted by User05 View Post
      If it was a legit LL5 (LLU SFI/SFIM), then I'd be highly surprised if they didn't know what g.dmt/adsl1 is.
      He definately didn't have a clue what it was

      Quote Originally Posted by User05 View Post
      I'd get onto Sky again and have them check the engineer job notes and see what has, or has not, been done.
      If the engineer has only literally left, leave it an hour odd before calling up, in case he still hasn't finished any investigation on the line or exchange.
      Seeing as he left this morning at 11:30, I would have expected to have seen some kind of difference this afternoon. I think I will have to do as you suggest.

      Quote Originally Posted by IWasNotTheEnemy View Post
      The Openreach engineer isn't a BB one but a phone engineer, all they do is check the wiring in the house and then go the exchange and make sure everything is OK there. If need be they'll call Sky if it's a dead line issue. They have no idea on ADSL modes
      I can only go off what Sky had told me, that it would be a BB Specialist Obviously it turned out to be as you stated.

      Quote Originally Posted by Isitme View Post
      Your line attenuation is on the border of where there is an advantage in having ADSL2+. Call Sky and ask them to try your line on G.DMT(adsl) and configure it for its best speed, up and down.
      Yep, back onto Sky I think ............. should kill an hour later tonight

      Just to keep this up to date, just had a text off Sky saying they believe my fault has been 'fixed'. So I rebooted my router and here are the stats:

      Mode: ADSL2+
      Channel: Fast
      Trellis: ON
      Line Status: No Defect
      Training Status: Showtime
      Down Up
      SNR (dB): 8.2 17.3
      Attn(dB): 44.0 25.7
      Pwr(dBm): 17.1 1.7
      Max(Kbps): 4764 1055
      Rate (Kbps): 4093 415

      Doesn't look 'fixed' to me at all. In fact I can honestly say that they are less than I have ever had since being with Sky for god knows how long


      Thanks all for the input.
      Last edited by odds; 25-01-11 at 06:53 PM.

    5. #14
      jayhab's Avatar
      jayhab is offline Site Content Team
      Exchange: Connah's Quay
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Fibre
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: not any more!
      Join Date
      Mar 2007
      Posts
      480
      Thanks
      27
      Thanked 18 Times in 17 Posts

      Re: Engineer visit

      Did you ever get this sorted?

    6. #15
      odds's Avatar
      odds is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Ashton
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Fibre
      Router: Sky Q Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      103
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Engineer visit

      Quote Originally Posted by jayhab View Post
      Did you ever get this sorted?
      Sorry for the delay,
      Had to phone Sky and get it reconfigured and this is how it ended up ..... I'm just fed up phoning now and it is steady at this, so will just leave it incase it gets buggered up again.

      Link Power State:L0
      Mode:ADSL2+
      Channel:Fast
      Trellis:ON
      Line Status:No Defect
      Training Status:Showtime
      Down Up
      SNR (dB): 4.9 12.1
      Attn(dB): 43.5 25.6
      Pwr(dBm): 19.0 12.4
      Max(Kbps): 7332 1094
      Rate (Kbps): 6079 861

      Note the SNR, this is only achieved by changing the SNR % in the router firmware to 50%, so if I can do it why can't Sky at thier end ?

      Pete.

    7. #16
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: Engineer visit

      1. It'll lead to drop outs
      2. Minimum Sky can set it to is 7db (it's all done with a GUI with drop down options of 7, 9 & 12db)
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    8. #17
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      27,903
      Thanks
      810
      Thanked 2,195 Times in 2,065 Posts

      Re: Engineer visit

      Well done for resolving the issues & getting an increase.

      Quote Originally Posted by odds View Post
      Note the SNR, this is only achieved by changing the SNR % in the router firmware to 50%, so if I can do it why can't Sky at thier end ?
      Sadly Sky seem to have a One-Size-Fits-All policy. Some people would benefit with having a different range of noise margins. I guess that by having the lowest at 7 instead of 5 there are less calls with errors on the line.

      Fewer calls = money saved.

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    9. #18
      odds's Avatar
      odds is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Ashton
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Fibre
      Router: Sky Q Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      103
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Engineer visit

      Quote Originally Posted by IWasNotTheEnemy View Post
      1. It'll lead to drop outs
      Well, I have always had it set to 50% in the router firmware and never had dropouts. connection is steady and download speeds increase.

      Quote Originally Posted by IWasNotTheEnemy View Post
      2. Minimum Sky can set it to is 7db (it's all done with a GUI with drop down options of 7, 9 & 12db)
      Maybe Sky do set it to that, but by using original Netgear firmware I have the ability to manipulate settings at my end, and I have never had a problem with using SNR ratio set at 50%.

      Pete

    10. #19
      jayhab's Avatar
      jayhab is offline Site Content Team
      Exchange: Connah's Quay
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Fibre
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: not any more!
      Join Date
      Mar 2007
      Posts
      480
      Thanks
      27
      Thanked 18 Times in 17 Posts

      Re: Engineer visit

      I still reckon there's more to be had from your connection if it were set to g.dmt, for both downstream and upstream, even without altering the snr at your end. If your line has been stable enough since your last call, perhaps its worth contacting them again for one final tweaking?

    11. #20
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: Engineer visit

      Quote Originally Posted by odds View Post
      Well, I have always had it set to 50% in the router firmware and never had dropouts. connection is steady and download speeds increase.



      Maybe Sky do set it to that, but by using original Netgear firmware I have the ability to manipulate settings at my end, and I have never had a problem with using SNR ratio set at 50%.

      Pete
      I was answering because 99.9% of connections would fall over below the standard SNR levels set by Sky. You're the exception but does the extra speed really mean taking the risk is necessary?
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

     

     
    Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION