will that affect the the PPPoA/MER aspect?
I don't think so. The only settings that are saved in a backup are those you put in yourself. Try it and see. If it does change the mode back, (there is nothing in a backup .cfg file that would), nothing is lost.

Assuming you are able to get it back to PPPoA in the first place.