Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
    Results 11 to 20 of 21

    Router reset: flashing lights, no connection-PLEASE HELP!

    This is a discussion on Router reset: flashing lights, no connection-PLEASE HELP! within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Two issues: If you can't browse to the router settings page, then there's a LAN issue between the router and ...

    1. #11
      User05's Avatar
      User05 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Dec 2008
      Posts
      3,030
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 171 Times in 164 Posts

      Re: Router reset: flashing lights, no connection-PLEASE HELP!

      Two issues:

      If you can't browse to the router settings page, then there's a LAN issue between the router and computer, then. Connect up an ethernet cable between the router and your computer and then open command prompt (start > all programs > accessories > command prompt) and type 'ping 192.168.0.1' - reply with the packets sent, received and lost. Also, type 'ipconfig' and reply with the ip address, subnet mask and default gateway.

      If your internet light is currently solid amber, then perhaps Sky are correct about the WAN issue at the exchange. Check the following link to see if your exchange is listed - Sky Service Status

    2. The Following User Says Thank You to User05 For This Useful Post:

      brain_opera (19-01-11)


    3. Advertisement
    4. #12
      brain_opera's Avatar
      brain_opera is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jan 2011
      Posts
      12
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Router reset: flashing lights, no connection-PLEASE HELP!

      How do I do that with the Mac?

    5. #13
      brain_opera's Avatar
      brain_opera is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jan 2011
      Posts
      12
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Router reset: flashing lights, no connection-PLEASE HELP!

      Found it on Terminal. This is what I got when I typed ping 192...

      PING 192.168.0.1 (192.168.0.1): 56 data bytes
      Request timeout for icmp_seq 0
      Request timeout for icmp_seq 1
      Request timeout for icmp_seq 2
      Request timeout for icmp_seq 3
      Request timeout for icmp_seq 4
      Request timeout for icmp_seq 5
      Request timeout for icmp_seq 6
      Request timeout for icmp_seq 7
      Request timeout for icmp_seq 8

      --- 192.168.0.1 ping statistics ---
      10 packets transmitted, 0 packets received, 100.0% packet loss

      ipconfig is ifconfig on Mac. Got this:

      lo0: flags=8049<UP,LOOPBACK,RUNNING,MULTICAST> mtu 16384
      inet6 ::1 prefixlen 128
      inet6 fe80::1%lo0 prefixlen 64 scopeid 0x1
      inet 127.0.0.1 netmask 0xff000000
      gif0: flags=8010<POINTOPOINT,MULTICAST> mtu 1280
      stf0: flags=0<> mtu 1280
      en0: flags=8863<UP,BROADCAST,SMART,RUNNING,SIMPLEX,MULT ICAST> mtu 1500
      ether 64:b9:e8:be:05:4e
      inet 192.168.4.1 netmask 0xffffff00 broadcast 192.168.4.255
      inet6 fe80::66b9:e8ff:febe:54e%en0 prefixlen 64 scopeid 0x4
      inet 169.254.59.194 netmask 0xffff0000 broadcast 169.254.255.255
      media: autoselect (100baseTX <full-duplex>)
      status: active
      fw0: flags=8863<UP,BROADCAST,SMART,RUNNING,SIMPLEX,MULT ICAST> mtu 4078
      lladdr 64:b9:e8:ff:fe:be:05:4e
      inet 192.168.2.1 netmask 0xffffff00 broadcast 192.168.2.255
      media: autoselect <full-duplex>
      status: inactive
      en1: flags=8863<UP,BROADCAST,SMART,RUNNING,SIMPLEX,MULT ICAST> mtu 1500
      ether d4:9a:20:5a:d2:15
      inet6 fe80::d69a:20ff:fe5a:d215%en1 prefixlen 64 scopeid 0x6
      inet 10.225.5.74 netmask 0xfffffff8 broadcast 10.225.5.79
      media: autoselect
      status: active
      en2: flags=8863<UP,BROADCAST,SMART,RUNNING,SIMPLEX,MULT ICAST> mtu 1500
      ether 64:b9:e8:e0:10:2d
      inet 192.168.3.1 netmask 0xffffff00 broadcast 192.168.3.255
      media: autoselect
      status: inactive
      SeaneensIMac:~ Seaneen$

    6. #14
      brain_opera's Avatar
      brain_opera is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jan 2011
      Posts
      12
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Router reset: flashing lights, no connection-PLEASE HELP!

      What does that mean? Sorry I'm being dense.

    7. #15
      brain_opera's Avatar
      brain_opera is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jan 2011
      Posts
      12
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Router reset: flashing lights, no connection-PLEASE HELP!

      Amber light has disappeared again, now it's just the on and wireless light.

    8. #16
      brain_opera's Avatar
      brain_opera is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jan 2011
      Posts
      12
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Router reset: flashing lights, no connection-PLEASE HELP!

      Nevermind- I have no idea why, but IT LIVES! Thank you for your help!

    9. #17
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Router reset: flashing lights, no connection-PLEASE HELP!

      When you hold the reset in and turn the power on it puts it into 'flashing' mode', which you should never do unless you intend to upgrade the firmware. There are times when it is in this mode that it will just stay there until you do the firmware upgrade. It looks like you have been lucky and it has come out of it. To simply reset the router, leave it powered up and push a pin in the reset until the lights start flashing, then remove it.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    10. #18
      brain_opera's Avatar
      brain_opera is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jan 2011
      Posts
      12
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Router reset: flashing lights, no connection-PLEASE HELP!

      It didn't, though. I tried that four or five times. Nothing happened!

      It also didn't reset, so, god know what happened.

    11. #19
      amm's Avatar
      amm
      amm is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 0115
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jan 2011
      Posts
      1
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Router reset: flashing lights, no connection-PLEASE HELP!

      Just thought I would mention this but will have to make this brief as at work, however, I have had a very similar problem for about a month, happened very occassionally, in the last week has become worse and has now given up the ghost completely. Connection lost, went to look at router, the top two lights would be green, would try a reset, then the @light became amber colour, might sometimes change green but then would eventually have to go thru the whole process again but then the @ changing to a solid red. until in the end it just stayed that way. New filters installed, as was about to ring Sky and new this would be mentioned, but still the @ solid red light.

      The Sky techinican told me the following that as looking at his script it points to the fact my power supply is a goner or power components in the router malfunctioning. So they are sending me a new router.

      He also said that the Sagem routers are only designed to last 2 years anyway and as had mine for 2 1/2 is not surprising.

      He did tell me that leaving the power supply disconnected for a while ie a few hours might sometimes bring it back for a while the overall problem would still exist. Also apparently this wouldnt work for me though as I had tried something else as well.

      Dont know if any help but thought would mention.

    12. #20
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Router reset: flashing lights, no connection-PLEASE HELP!

      He also said that the Sagem routers are only designed to last 2 years anyway and as had mine for 2 1/2 is not surprising.
      I doubt if that is true. I don't think any manufacturer of routers would design it to last a specific period. What is well known here is that the Sagen PSUs do fail quite regularly, probably because they are just poor quality. The PSU for my Netgear GT is probably four times the weight of the Sagem one..

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





     

     
    Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION