Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 9 of 9 FirstFirst ... 789
    Results 81 to 87 of 87

    Slow Speeds - New Router?

    This is a discussion on Slow Speeds - New Router? within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Did they replace the box with an NTE5 when they were there? And if they did have you got a ...

    1. #81
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: Slow Speeds - New Router?

      Did they replace the box with an NTE5 when they were there? And if they did have you got a filtered faceplate now?
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket


    2. Advertisement
    3. #82
      KACE's Avatar
      KACE is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Isleworth
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jan 2011
      Posts
      52
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Slow Speeds - New Router?

      Quote Originally Posted by IWasNotTheEnemy View Post
      Did they replace the box with an NTE5 when they were there? And if they did have you got a filtered faceplate now?
      Yeah they completely rewired my house, my alternate socket is now a master socket with a filtered faceplate. No more junction box, the line outside goes directly into the new master socket, and an extension leads downstairs to another socket (the previous location of my master socket)

    4. #83
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: Slow Speeds - New Router?

      Nice!
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    5. #84
      KACE's Avatar
      KACE is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Isleworth
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jan 2011
      Posts
      52
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Slow Speeds - New Router?

      One last question:

      I am currently paying sky line rental, but my network is not ready for SVBN. However I read in numerous places that SVBN is not great. If I switch back to BT line rental, and my exchange eventually switches to SVBN, would I avoid this switch because my line rental is with BT. I want to remain in contact with BT for my line issues, even if having to go through sky first.

    6. #85
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: Slow Speeds - New Router?

      SVBN is to do with network you're on, not the line rental provider. Ultimately, though, stay with BT for line rental and you'll stay on the BT network - not the SVBN
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    7. #86
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      27,895
      Thanks
      810
      Thanked 2,194 Times in 2,064 Posts

      Re: Slow Speeds - New Router?

      Finally some money well spent!

      Seriously, it looked touch & go at times, but well done for getting it all resolved.

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    8. #87
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Slow Speeds - New Router?

      That is an excellent result. Let's hope you have a trouble free experience from now on.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





     

     
    Page 9 of 9 FirstFirst ... 789

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION