Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 6 of 9 FirstFirst ... 45678 ... LastLast
    Results 51 to 60 of 87

    Slow Speeds - New Router?

    This is a discussion on Slow Speeds - New Router? within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Sky Protect covers all your Sky equipment - The official Sky Protection Plan - Sky Protect...

    1. #51
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Slow Speeds - New Router?

      Sky Protect covers all your Sky equipment -
      The official Sky Protection Plan - Sky Protect

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.






    2. Advertisement
    3. #52
      KACE's Avatar
      KACE is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Isleworth
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jan 2011
      Posts
      52
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Slow Speeds - New Router?

      I am also thinking of getting a filtered faceplate for the socket, dont know whether it will show much of a difference. Anyway this is what I found on ebay, is it viable:

      NTE2000 ADSL FACEPLATE FOR BT MASTER SOCKET on eBay (end time 11-Mar-11 15:07:05 GMT)

      the info says "unfiltered ADSL" is this correct? Also what is the difference between this and the BT Accelerator/iPlate?

    4. #53
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: Slow Speeds - New Router?

      I've got one of them, basically when your extensions are wired in there's no BB signal being carried as it's isolated to the master faceplate. Means filters aren't needed anywhere else in the house
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    5. #54
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Slow Speeds - New Router?

      Also what is the difference between this and the BT Accelerator/iPlate?
      This filters out all your other wiring leaving a clean direct connection for ADSL. The iPlate only filters the bell wire and I believe supplies a bit of RF filtering. Compared to the filtered plate it is a waste of money in my opinion.

      If the product advertised in your link is genuine, it must be 'back of lorry stock' as these cost about twice that at reputable sources. - BT NTE-2005 ADSL Faceplate for NTE5, 6 Way Version

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    6. #55
      KACE's Avatar
      KACE is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Isleworth
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jan 2011
      Posts
      52
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Slow Speeds - New Router?

      Quote Originally Posted by Isitme View Post
      This filters out all your other wiring leaving a clean direct connection for ADSL. The iPlate only filters the bell wire and I believe supplies a bit of RF filtering. Compared to the filtered plate it is a waste of money in my opinion.

      If the product advertised in your link is genuine, it must be 'back of lorry stock' as these cost about twice that at reputable sources. - BT NTE-2005 ADSL Faceplate for NTE5, 6 Way Version
      What do you mean by "back of lorry" stock, are you saying its dogy even though its cheaper, how about this one:

      http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/NTE2000-ADSL-F...item3cae8fd1f7

      Also considering my system setup:


      and all the testing sky and BT have done, would it be safe to keep my alternate socket, for ease of use?
      Last edited by KACE; 10-02-11 at 07:04 PM.

    7. #56
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Slow Speeds - New Router?

      What do you mean by "back of lorry" stock, are you saying its dogy even though its cheaper, how about this one:
      'back of lorry' = not legally obtained or cheap imitation.

      I am saying it could be dodgy because it is so cheap. The second link you give is for the genuine article, which is around the proper price for the product and is on sale by a well established seller.

      Have you tried disconnecting the 'alternate' socket from the junction box and taking your stats from the original BT Test socket? Sorry if you have done this, but the thread is a bit long to keep referring back.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    8. #57
      KACE's Avatar
      KACE is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Isleworth
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jan 2011
      Posts
      52
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Slow Speeds - New Router?

      Well I got the new router today (D-Link), and suprise, suprise it has changed nothing. Here are the stats.

      Connection Speed 5701 kbps 512 kbps
      Line Attenuation 31.0db 17.1db
      Noise Margin 6.9db 8.5db

      Sky continuously insist that my line can only support a maximum of 6.5Mb/s, i dont know what else to do?

    9. #58
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      27,907
      Thanks
      812
      Thanked 2,195 Times in 2,065 Posts

      Re: Slow Speeds - New Router?

      Have you tried disconnecting the 2nd box?

      I appreciate that this is the one that you like to plug your router into, but it is not a standard setup and could well be the cause of your problem.

      If after disconnecting it you find that there is no change, you can easily reconnect it.

      On the other hand, it things clean up nicely, then you have some clear decisions to make (i.e. return to how it was or seek another solution to getting a network to the other part of your home).

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    10. #59
      KACE's Avatar
      KACE is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Isleworth
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jan 2011
      Posts
      52
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Slow Speeds - New Router?

      The lenght of this thread is confusing everyone, so I will briefly explain what has happened.

      My current stats are like this:
      Connection Speed 5649 kbps 510 kbps
      Line Attenuation 31.0db 17.2db
      Noise Margin 6.8db 7.5db

      Based on my attenuation I assume I should be getting close to 14Mb/s (also told by sky sales team), I am clearly nowhere near it. This has been an issue ever since I got sky broadband back in 2007. It appears much noise margin is too low to ever reach that estimated speed.

      After many conversations with sky (08442414141), who insist that my line supports a maximum of 6.5Mb/s. They did some line tests and said that with my router plugged in there is an error called "Rectified Loop error". So they said my router is faulty and I need to a buy a new one off them for 28.

      After recieving my replacement router, I set it all up, disconnected every other telephone device, and yet all my stats and speed remain unchanged.

      What else can I do? I've seen on this website many people complaining about similar issue to the point an engineer comes round to their house and fixes it, but sky simply will not do this.

      Also what is the best number to get to the right support staff

    11. #60
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Slow Speeds - New Router?

      What else can I do?
      As Scubbie and I suggest. Disconnect the alternate socket from the junction box and try the main Test socket. If there is still no improvement then it is an external fault so you will have to keep pressing Sky to get it fixed.

      By the way, I would ask Sky for a refund for the other router as it has not fixed the problem.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





     

     
    Page 6 of 9 FirstFirst ... 45678 ... LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION