Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 4 of 9 FirstFirst ... 23456 ... LastLast
    Results 31 to 40 of 87

    Slow Speeds - New Router?

    This is a discussion on Slow Speeds - New Router? within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Personally, I have no clue what the advisor's talking about. DLM can be requested on a line, in which a ...

    1. #31
      User05's Avatar
      User05 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Dec 2008
      Posts
      3,030
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 171 Times in 164 Posts

      Re: Slow Speeds - New Router?

      Personally, I have no clue what the advisor's talking about. DLM can be requested on a line, in which a stabilisation period will start within 72 hours. Said period lasts up to 10 days, so it sounds like you got through to someone talking nonsense.

      With your stats, I can't see any reason to run DLM. It'd simply be pointless. You need to have the case escalated to Sky CST and, likely, a broadband engineer will be booked.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #32
      KACE's Avatar
      KACE is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Isleworth
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jan 2011
      Posts
      52
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Slow Speeds - New Router?

      Quote Originally Posted by User05 View Post
      Personally, I have no clue what the advisor's talking about. DLM can be requested on a line, in which a stabilisation period will start within 72 hours. Said period lasts up to 10 days, so it sounds like you got through to someone talking nonsense.

      With your stats, I can't see any reason to run DLM. It'd simply be pointless. You need to have the case escalated to Sky CST and, likely, a broadband engineer will be booked.
      What exactly is DLM? I am pretty certain there is an issue with my external line quality, I am just trying to get that fixed. How can I get straight through to sky CST?

    4. #33
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: Slow Speeds - New Router?

      DLM = Read the DLM forum
      Straight to CST - won't happen unless you have an open fault ticket and it's been at least 72hrs since it was opened with no call back from Sky
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    5. #34
      KACE's Avatar
      KACE is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Isleworth
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jan 2011
      Posts
      52
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Slow Speeds - New Router?

      Quote Originally Posted by IWasNotTheEnemy View Post
      DLM = Read the DLM forum
      Straight to CST - won't happen unless you have an open fault ticket and it's been at least 72hrs since it was opened with no call back from Sky
      I am totally fed up of this, I read about what DLM was, and clearly it is not going to do anything, I am pretty certain that the quality of line is the issue, how can I get sky to sned an engineer to fix this do I have to wait 72hrs?

    6. #35
      User05's Avatar
      User05 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Dec 2008
      Posts
      3,030
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 171 Times in 164 Posts

      Re: Slow Speeds - New Router?

      No - call 08442410515 and you'll reach broadband tech tier 1. Suggest that you have a slow sync issue and eventually the issue will be escalated to CST. If you're told to wait 72 hours, ask to be put through to CST and you'll be transferred. They'll more than likely book a SFI appointment with you whilst on the phone.

    7. #36
      KACE's Avatar
      KACE is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Isleworth
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jan 2011
      Posts
      52
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Slow Speeds - New Router?

      Quote Originally Posted by User05 View Post
      No - call 08442410515 and you'll reach broadband tech tier 1. Suggest that you have a slow sync issue and eventually the issue will be escalated to CST. If you're told to wait 72 hours, ask to be put through to CST and you'll be transferred. They'll more than likely book a SFI appointment with you whilst on the phone.
      So I waited approx. 72hrs phoned sky back (on 08442 414 141 - number I got from the website), some new technician is now claiming my exchange only supports a maximum of 14Mb/s!!!, and true speed varies based on distance

      I asked him if I was on ADSL2+; he said "he couldn't tell from the information he had"? These people are confusing me more and more, I thought every sky exchange supported ADSL2+ with a maximum of 24Mb/s.

      He also said that the DLM is going to last 10 days, phone back on the 7th of February to get the results. Hopefully then I can call out an engineer

      I also mentioned my Line Attenuation to him, but he was adamant that the quality of the entire line (from exchange to home) was of an equal issue and refused to give me a estimate of line speed.

      I have phoned sky several times now, done every possible test to no avail, they seem to be sending me round in circles. If I do eventually get an engineer, what can he do?

      Also what does CST, SFI stand for?
      Last edited by KACE; 30-01-11 at 02:54 PM.

    8. #37
      nige1983's Avatar
      nige1983 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: MRDEN
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: D-Link DSL-2640S
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2010
      Location
      Manchester
      Posts
      182
      Thanks
      5
      Thanked 17 Times in 17 Posts

      Re: Slow Speeds - New Router?

      CST- Customer Solutions Team

      SFI- Is what BT call their Broadband Engineers.

      If you do speak to CST they can arrange for an engineer to check the external line. They will ask the engineer to do a health check.

    9. #38
      KACE's Avatar
      KACE is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Isleworth
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jan 2011
      Posts
      52
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Slow Speeds - New Router?

      The technician claimed that the maximum my exchange (not estimated line speed) can support is 14Mb/s, and couldn't tell me whether I am on ADSL2+. I am confused as to what speed I should be getting!

    10. #39
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Slow Speeds - New Router?

      You are not as confused as the so called technician you spoke too. Anybody telling you that should not be anywhere near a BB help desk.

      Every Sky enabled exchange supports ADSL2+ which has a maximum sync of 24Mb, although Sky limit this to 20Mb. You have a fault somewhere and till this is fixed you are not going to get anywhere. Call Sky and ask to be put through to the CST as you are not at all happy with the service you have received so far.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    11. #40
      KACE's Avatar
      KACE is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Isleworth
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jan 2011
      Posts
      52
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Slow Speeds - New Router?

      When I spoke to the technician, he said that it was his department that would send out an engineer if needed? I'll have to wait till the 7th though before anything else would happen.

      Also what does BB stand for.

     

     
    Page 4 of 9 FirstFirst ... 23456 ... LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION