Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 3 of 9 FirstFirst 12345 ... LastLast
    Results 21 to 30 of 87

    Slow Speeds - New Router?

    This is a discussion on Slow Speeds - New Router? within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Originally Posted by Isitme You said earlier, post 9, that you only had one socket, now it appears you have ...

    1. #21
      KACE's Avatar
      KACE is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Isleworth
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jan 2011
      Posts
      52
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Slow Speeds - New Router?

      Quote Originally Posted by Isitme View Post
      You said earlier, post 9, that you only had one socket, now it appears you have two. You can do as Smithy suggests or simply disconnect one of the sockets from the junction box. If I were you I would disconnect one, preferably the one fitted by the previous owner, and take your stats from the original one. See what the difference is. If there is an appreciable difference then you can move on from there.
      sorry for not making it clear before, the alternate socket does have its own test socket which is the one I used. Just so everyone understands the alternate socket is not an extension running off the BT master socket, it comes directly from the main line. I will disconnect the alternate socket and see what happens.
      Last edited by KACE; 22-01-11 at 05:35 PM.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #22
      KACE's Avatar
      KACE is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Isleworth
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jan 2011
      Posts
      52
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Slow Speeds - New Router?

      update:
      I removed the alternate socket, plug my router directly into the test socket of the BT master socket and then used the shortest RJ11 cable (from router to filter) and these are my results:

      Connection Speed 5614 kbps 496 kbps
      Line Attenuation 27.0 db 17.5 db
      Noise Margin 7.0 db 8.5 db

      it pretty much the same, what can I do?

    4. #23
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: Slow Speeds - New Router?

      Get BT out to rewire the house, might cost a bit but it'll be sorted for the future
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    5. #24
      KACE's Avatar
      KACE is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Isleworth
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jan 2011
      Posts
      52
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Slow Speeds - New Router?

      Quote Originally Posted by IWasNotTheEnemy View Post
      Get BT out to rewire the house, might cost a bit but it'll be sorted for the future
      I am on sky line rental, should I call them? if not how do i contact BT and how much will it cost?

    6. #25
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,132
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Slow Speeds - New Router?

      Although you have not gained much, the drop in attenuation shows the other socket was causing some problems.

      If your rental is with Sky you will have to go through them for any improvements. What you could try is complaining about the fact that the speed you are receiving is much lower than what you were promised. That may force them to send out an engineer to look at your line and hopefully make improvements.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    7. #26
      KACE's Avatar
      KACE is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Isleworth
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jan 2011
      Posts
      52
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Slow Speeds - New Router?

      Quote Originally Posted by Isitme View Post
      Although you have not gained much, the drop in attenuation shows the other socket was causing some problems.

      If your rental is with Sky you will have to go through them for any improvements. What you could try is complaining about the fact that the speed you are receiving is much lower than what you were promised. That may force them to send out an engineer to look at your line and hopefully make improvements.
      I phoned sky, the guy did a quick test on my line and insisted that I should be expecting speeds of 6.5Mb/s and currently I am getting close to that. I told them that based on my distance to the exchange that I should be getting much higher and infact when I bought sky they said I could get around 15Mb/s, but he kept saying that my actual line length differs despite my road distance.

      Just to be sure with an attenuation of 27dB I should be getting 15Mb/s and the issue is on the external line, and sky should call an engineer out to repair it?

    8. #27
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,132
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Slow Speeds - New Router?

      The point is not that your line can only support 6.5Mb but the fact that you were told you would get 10 Mb+. Let's say you based your choice of ISP on what speed they could provide. Sky say 10-20Mb, BE, eg, say 7Mb, you choose Sky on that basis. They are providing no where near that, so you have been mis-sold the product. It is up to them to make every effort to get your speed up to what was offered, even if it means getting broadband engineers out to your line.

      The attenuation is an indication of your actual line length and condition, it has nothing to do with the road length. Yours indicates that you should be getting around 16Mb.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    9. #28
      KACE's Avatar
      KACE is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Isleworth
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jan 2011
      Posts
      52
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Slow Speeds - New Router?

      Quote Originally Posted by Isitme View Post
      The point is not that your line can only support 6.5Mb but the fact that you were told you would get 10 Mb+. Let's say you based your choice of ISP on what speed they could provide. Sky say 10-20Mb, BE, eg, say 7Mb, you choose Sky on that basis. They are providing no where near that, so you have been mis-sold the product. It is up to them to make every effort to get your speed up to what was offered, even if it means getting broadband engineers out to your line.

      The attenuation is an indication of your actual line length and condition, it has nothing to do with the road length. Yours indicates that you should be getting around 16Mb.
      Thanks I get to it on Thursday, and report back. Should I also mention that "my attenuation shows that I should be expecting speeds in the 16Mb/s."

    10. #29
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,132
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Slow Speeds - New Router?

      It depends on who you are speaking too. Some of the Tier ones will think you are talking about standing straight with your heels together. Others will understand the significance, so it is probably worth mentioning.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    11. #30
      KACE's Avatar
      KACE is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Isleworth
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jan 2011
      Posts
      52
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Slow Speeds - New Router?

      I phoned sky today (thursday), the support officer said that currently I am getting 5Mb/s and I should be getting ~14Mb/s, so he said he was going to run a DLM test to restabalise the line and this should complete in 72hrs. If the speed doesn't increase then phone back and the issue will be escalated to an engineer. Finally someone who appreciates what I am talking about.

      I didn't really understand the man's explanation of "DLM to restabalise the line", could you expain further?

     

     
    Page 3 of 9 FirstFirst 12345 ... LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION