Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 15

    Hi and a little Info Please

    This is a discussion on Hi and a little Info Please within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Hi, New to the forum and been reading up seems some very good information here. From what I have read ...

    1. #1
      Neiluk's Avatar
      Neiluk is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: D-Link DSL-2640S
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jan 2011
      Posts
      5
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Hi and a little Info Please

      Hi, New to the forum and been reading up seems some very good information here.
      From what I have read and If i am understanding right my below stats i should be getting better speeds.
      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 10117 kbps 640 kbps
      Line Attenuation 29.0db 15.8db
      Noise Margin 7.1db 9.5db

      I've run a speed test from various sites and it seems even tho my stats say 10meg I am getting only 6ish.

      I have only one socket in my house which is brand new only had sky 6 months and before had no BT line into the house at all.
      I dont think the bellwire fix applies to me as only one socket and it's a brand new install.
      Am i reading my stats wrong as In should i be getting better speed or is this the best I can hope for.

      Many Thanks

      Neil


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      dholdi's Avatar
      dholdi is offline Sky User Beta tester
      Exchange: LCRIB
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      Preston
      Posts
      5,295
      Thanks
      34
      Thanked 47 Times in 45 Posts

      Re: Hi and a little Info Please

      Quote Originally Posted by Neiluk View Post
      From what I have read and If i am understanding right my below stats i should be getting better speeds.
      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 10117 kbps 640 kbps
      Line Attenuation 29.0db 15.8db
      Noise Margin 7.1db 9.5db
      For your line attenuation you should be syncing down at approaching 16 meg. Your up is also low. How long have you been connected with Sky ? Have you tried taking stats from the test socket ?

      Quote Originally Posted by Neiluk View Post
      I've run a speed test from various sites and it seems even tho my stats say 10meg I am getting only 6ish.
      I wouldnt pay too much attention to speed test results as they can be wildly inaccurate due to loads on their servers etc.


    4. #3
      Neiluk's Avatar
      Neiluk is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: D-Link DSL-2640S
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jan 2011
      Posts
      5
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Hi and a little Info Please

      Hi and thanks for the reply

      I have been on sky now since last August, I started out at about 13MB and then slowly been going down.
      Those results are direct from the test socket with a new filter attached.

      So a bit confused as why i am stuck on 10mb, tho least it is stable.

      Thanks

      Neil

    5. #4
      RUNITDIRECT's Avatar
      RUNITDIRECT is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Not on Sky
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jun 2008
      Location
      Shropshire
      Posts
      1,253
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 81 Times in 77 Posts

      Re: Hi and a little Info Please

      (1) If the socket is new & has Openreach written on it then the bell wire filter is fitted.
      (2) The bell wire only comes into play with extension wiring, if you only have one socket then there is no bell wire.
      run-IT-direct, For all your networking, ADSL & telecom requirements.

    6. #5
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Hi and a little Info Please

      Are you using wireless? Wireless connections will nearly always be slower than ethernet, sometimes very much so, depending on the conditions. With your present sync speed, which as mentioned is a bit low, you should get around 8.7Mbps using ethernet.

      Apart from the wireless/ethernet issue, there is a possibility that your PC is slowing you down. To check this, start in Safe Mode with Networking and check your download speed here Sky User - Broadband Speed Tester

      Your download sync speed is particularly low. Apart from wiring issues one thing that can cause this is a faulty filter, so try changing the filter. Always make sure that the filter is plugged first into the socket and everything else plugged into it. Some of the filters supplied by Sky are not to good so I would advise replacing it with a good quality one. The XF-1e from ADSLNation is very good. - XF-1e - Professional Microfilter - adslnation.com

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    7. #6
      nige1983's Avatar
      nige1983 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: MRDEN
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: D-Link DSL-2640S
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2010
      Location
      Manchester
      Posts
      182
      Thanks
      5
      Thanked 17 Times in 17 Posts

      Re: Hi and a little Info Please

      Call sky and get through to CST after doing the basics with tier 1. Tell them you have checked in test socket etc etc and just ask them to call CST to check the configuration on the line, looking at your stats they should be able to change the configuration and speed it up fpr ypu a bit. From your stats I would say the line should be able to sync between 14 and 16 meg and for upload close to a meg. CST will check this and see if any errors are buioding up on your line etc. If you call tonight about 10pm should take you all of 10 mins to have this done.

    8. #7
      User05's Avatar
      User05 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Dec 2008
      Posts
      3,030
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 171 Times in 164 Posts

      Re: Hi and a little Info Please

      With the SNR sitting at 7db, there isn't much CST can do.

      Do you simply have a filter connected direct to the test socket, with just the short grey dsl cable Sky provided running to the router and nothing else connected to the filter?

    9. #8
      nige1983's Avatar
      nige1983 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: MRDEN
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: D-Link DSL-2640S
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2010
      Location
      Manchester
      Posts
      182
      Thanks
      5
      Thanked 17 Times in 17 Posts

      Re: Hi and a little Info Please

      I was thinking DLM may have set the line at a certain speed, I may be wrong but I thought CST could change the actual speed on the line even if snr is sitting at 7. Obviously they would have to make sure it trains back in etc. Am i wrong???

    10. #9
      User05's Avatar
      User05 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Dec 2008
      Posts
      3,030
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 171 Times in 164 Posts

      Re: Hi and a little Info Please

      We can change the configured speed, but if there is no spare noise margin, then chances are the line won't train in any higher even if it was uncapped. For instance, the OP's line looks like it is capped at 10240kbps - even if it was uncapped to, say, 16384kbps it still won't go any higher than what the noise margin allows.
      Last edited by User05; 19-01-11 at 06:01 PM. Reason: Re-worded.

    11. The Following User Says Thank You to User05 For This Useful Post:

      nige1983 (19-01-11)

    12. #10
      Neiluk's Avatar
      Neiluk is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: D-Link DSL-2640S
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jan 2011
      Posts
      5
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Hi and a little Info Please

      Quote Originally Posted by User05 View Post
      With the SNR sitting at 7db, there isn't much CST can do.

      Do you simply have a filter connected direct to the test socket, with just the short grey dsl cable Sky provided running to the router and nothing else connected to the filter?
      Thats correct i am direct into the test connection with just the filter and grey cable.
      So guess it looks like even phoning SKY wouldn't do me any good if what you are saying about SNR ?
      Thanks for all the replies

      Neil

     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION