Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
    Results 11 to 20 of 24

    Sky router help as mine is not too clever on wireless

    This is a discussion on Sky router help as mine is not too clever on wireless within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Just to add i have still got my old Thomson Tg585 v7 from my plusnet days and a Netgear Dg834G ...

    1. #11
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,132
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Sky router help as mine is not too clever on wireless

      Just to add i have still got my old Thomson Tg585 v7 from my plusnet days and a Netgear Dg834G v3 from my old Aol days...not sure if any of them 2 are better or even if they would work with Sky.
      It is easy enough to check if the wireless would be any better, just plug them in, make sure the wireless is enabled, and see how they perform in the room you can't reach.

      Remember you can always piggy back one on to the Sky router using the Homeplugs. The position of the power socket would not be too critical as the 2nd router could be placed anywhere it gives the best signal.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.






    2. Advertisement
    3. #12
      welshviking's Avatar
      welshviking is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Shotton
      Broadband ISP: Sky Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Apr 2010
      Location
      Connah's Quay in Flintshire
      Posts
      89
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky router help as mine is not too clever on wireless

      Quote Originally Posted by Isitme View Post
      It is easy enough to check if the wireless would be any better, just plug them in, make sure the wireless is enabled, and see how they perform in the room you can't reach.

      Remember you can always piggy back one on to the Sky router using the Homeplugs. The position of the power socket would not be too critical as the 2nd router could be placed anywhere it gives the best signal.
      Ok one of the router i used was with Aol and the other was with Plusnet, if i plugged them in as you say so and make sure wireless was enabled would the laptop and wii be able to pick the signal up, i realise i wont be able to go online with them as they are set up for another isp but would there still be a signal generated....Sorry but this is getting slightly above my head but i will try to best to keep up ...Thanks Colin

    4. #13
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,132
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Sky router help as mine is not too clever on wireless

      Just plug them into a power socket, routers do not have to be connected to the Internet to work.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    5. #14
      welshviking's Avatar
      welshviking is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Shotton
      Broadband ISP: Sky Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Apr 2010
      Location
      Connah's Quay in Flintshire
      Posts
      89
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky router help as mine is not too clever on wireless

      Quote Originally Posted by Isitme View Post
      Just plug them into a power socket, routers do not have to be connected to the Internet to work.
      Ok thanks i have done that but how do i check if there is a signal as the laptop is not showing any signal from the netgear (aol) as i thought it had to be connected to the net

    6. #15
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: Sky router help as mine is not too clever on wireless

      You just scan for networks and see which has the stronger signal
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    7. #16
      welshviking's Avatar
      welshviking is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Shotton
      Broadband ISP: Sky Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Apr 2010
      Location
      Connah's Quay in Flintshire
      Posts
      89
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky router help as mine is not too clever on wireless

      Quote Originally Posted by IWasNotTheEnemy View Post
      You just scan for networks and see which has the stronger signal
      Ok i have tried that, i have both the other routers plugged into the mains now and the laptop is on the same table as them but is not picking them up its only picking the sky sagem one ,i am guessing they are not wireless enabled and without connecting them to my pc and finding out how i do that i am at a loss, thing i cannot understand it, as they were both wireless enabled when i stopped using them...Cheers for your help anyway

    8. #17
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: Sky router help as mine is not too clever on wireless

      Could be a channel issue so you'd need to log into them and see what channel they are on. A lot of trial and error involved
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    9. #18
      welshviking's Avatar
      welshviking is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Shotton
      Broadband ISP: Sky Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Apr 2010
      Location
      Connah's Quay in Flintshire
      Posts
      89
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky router help as mine is not too clever on wireless

      Quote Originally Posted by IWasNotTheEnemy View Post
      Could be a channel issue so you'd need to log into them and see what channel they are on. A lot of trial and error involved

      Many thanks for your help, i know when to wave the white flag as this is now well over the top of my limited technical head. Getting back to my other question before is there any Wireless-N routers that will work with sky and if so which ones are recommended as if i can get a decent one that will probably sort out all the issues with very poor wireless signal....i knew i should have bought a small terraced house ...Thanks again for all your help and for you putting up with my confused state of mind...i am going for a lay down in a darkened room !!!!

    10. #19
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,132
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Sky router help as mine is not too clever on wireless

      Did you right click the wireless icon in the Tray and select 'Search for available networks'?

      If that doesn't work, what you can try is downloading InSSider from the link below and use it to search for the routers.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    11. #20
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: Sky router help as mine is not too clever on wireless

      Any ADSL2+ Wireless-N router will work so long as you set it up correctly
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

     

     
    Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION