Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 17

    broadband speed help?

    This is a discussion on broadband speed help? within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; hey guys just recently got sky broadband and they said i would be getting speeds up to 16mb. im currently ...

    1. #1
      Baarton's Avatar
      Baarton is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Mid/Everyday
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jan 2011
      Posts
      8
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      broadband speed help?

      hey guys just recently got sky broadband and they said i would be getting speeds up to 16mb. im currently getting download of 0.6 and a ping of 76. this is really bad and affecting my gaming etc.. i was just wondering what could be causing this? i know people that live in the same street and they are getting download speeds of 7mb and they are on the same package. any help appreciated thanks. heres my speed test results


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      User05's Avatar
      User05 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Dec 2008
      Posts
      3,030
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 171 Times in 164 Posts

      Re: broadband speed help?

      Upload smells of Connect.

      We need to see stats (link below) and an explanation of your current set-up i.e. how many tel sockets do you use, does every socket have a filter connected, is the router connected to the master socket or an extension socket, are you running any extension telephone cables to the router?

      How to get your router statistics

      And stats from the test socket with just a filter and the short grey dsl cable that Sky provided:

      How to test your ADSL in the Master Test Socket

    4. #3
      Baarton's Avatar
      Baarton is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Mid/Everyday
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jan 2011
      Posts
      8
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: broadband speed help?

      thanks for the reply. 1 telephone socket and the router is connected to the master socket and no extension cables. here are my router statistics


      Firmware Version V2.02.44
      ADSL Port
      MAC Address 00:24:b2:41:68:07
      IP Address 2.123.20.94
      Network Type PPPoA
      IP Subnet Mask 255.255.255.255
      Gateway IP Address 89.200.128.31
      Domain Name Server 90.207.238.97
      90.207.238.99
      LAN Port
      MAC Address 00:24:b2:41:68:06
      IP Address 192.168.0.1
      DHCP On
      IP Subnet Mask 255.255.255.0
      Modem
      ADSL Firmware Version 7.03.01.66
      Modem Status Connected
      DownStream Connection Speed 768 kbps
      UpStream Connection Speed 416 kbps
      VPI 0
      VCI 38
      Wireless Port
      Name (SSID) SKY44398
      Region Europe
      Channel 11
      Wireless AP enable
      Broadcast Name enable

    5. #4
      Smithy99's Avatar
      Smithy99 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Irby
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Location
      Wirral
      Posts
      6,739
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 57 Times in 57 Posts

      Re: broadband speed help?

      We need the detailed stats, follow his link above, also, ensure you have an ADSL filter connected as the very FIRST thing into the phone socket, do not confuse this with a splitter that Sky sometimes fit for the satellite receiver, it will have a phone and a router point on it.

    6. #5
      User05's Avatar
      User05 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Dec 2008
      Posts
      3,030
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 171 Times in 164 Posts

      Re: broadband speed help?

      You need to click on 'show statistics' - they're the stats that we need.

      Also, a set of stats from both the master socket and test socket (assuming you have a test socket) are needed for comparison.

    7. #6
      Baarton's Avatar
      Baarton is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Mid/Everyday
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jan 2011
      Posts
      8
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: broadband speed help?

      System Up Time: 08:19:13
      Port Status TxPkts RxPkts Collisions Tx B/s Rx B/s Up Time
      WAN PPPoA 385532 522143 0 2263 14957 08:17:51
      LAN 100M/Full 5759 0 0 49 0 08:19:08
      WLAN 11M/54M 523906 391485 0 15181 2302 08:18:56
      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 768 kbps 416 kbps
      Line Attenuation 45 db 26 db
      Noise Margin 17 db 16 db

    8. #7
      User05's Avatar
      User05 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Dec 2008
      Posts
      3,030
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 171 Times in 164 Posts

      Re: broadband speed help?

      The line is capped currently - but why would be a good question. Do you have Sky tv plugged into any telephone socket(s)?

      Re-take the stats at the test socket (by unscrewing the master socket faceplate off as per the link below):

      How to test your ADSL in the Master Test Socket

    9. #8
      Baarton's Avatar
      Baarton is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Mid/Everyday
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jan 2011
      Posts
      8
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: broadband speed help?

      thanks for all the quick replys appreciate them il test the test socket in the morning. i have no idea why its capped either, and i have sky tv but i dont think its plugged into the telephone sockets. what speeds should i be getting off those results then? any idea

    10. #9
      Baarton's Avatar
      Baarton is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Mid/Everyday
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jan 2011
      Posts
      8
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: broadband speed help?

      ok im back.. just went to test it in the master socket, after unscrewing the screws i realised there wasnt anything to plug it into inside :/ theres no other sockets in the house so it must be the master. any idea what i can do?

    11. #10
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: broadband speed help?

      So did the whole front panel come off or just the bottom half? If it was just the bottom half then there is a phone point
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION