Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
    Results 11 to 17 of 17

    broadband speed help?

    This is a discussion on broadband speed help? within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; whole front panel came off...

    1. #11
      Baarton's Avatar
      Baarton is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Mid/Everyday
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jan 2011
      Posts
      8
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: broadband speed help?

      whole front panel came off


    2. Advertisement
    3. #12
      Baarton's Avatar
      Baarton is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Mid/Everyday
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jan 2011
      Posts
      8
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: broadband speed help?

      bump! think im gonna phone sky in the morning. what should i ask them to do? if i tell them about the speeds im currently getting and that neighbors are getting much higher will they do anything about it or just tell me a load of rubbish

    4. #13
      Baarton's Avatar
      Baarton is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Mid/Everyday
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jan 2011
      Posts
      8
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: broadband speed help?

      right here are my stats from the test socket.
      Port Status TxPkts RxPkts Collisions Tx B/s Rx B/s Up Time
      WAN PPPoA 2615 4075 0 2624 21009 00:04:05
      LAN 100M/Full 359 0 0 193 0 00:04:42
      WLAN 11M/54M 9258 8087 0 22241 5552 00:04:30
      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 507 kbps 413 kbps
      Line Attenuation 47 db 27 db
      Noise Margin 24 db 18 db

    5. #14
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: broadband speed help?

      It looks like you have been moved from G.DMT to ADSL2+ and your line has still not been configured. Phone Sky and ask them to configure your line for its best speed. Tell them you have made improvements to your wiring and know you can get much more, both up and down. If the first ones you speak to say you can't get any more ask to be passed to CST as you definitely can. You should be looking at 6-7Mb.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    6. #15
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: broadband speed help?

      Could be that DLM is now running and it's not re-profiled yet
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    7. #16
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: broadband speed help?

      That's a possibility, but I would have thought it would have kicked in at 4Mb.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    8. #17
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: broadband speed help?

      Depends on whether DLM actually sets it to that on an existing connection or whether that is something separate from DLM on new connection and they're profiled outside of it

      Who knows
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

     

     
    Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION