Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 11

    DLM in process what can I expect?

    This is a discussion on DLM in process what can I expect? within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Hi All, I have recently moved out of the parents and signed up with Sky Broadband Unlimited which the parents ...

    1. #1
      benfleet5's Avatar
      benfleet5 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: South Benfleet, Essex
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: D-Link DSL-2640S
      Sky TV: Freesat HD+
      Join Date
      Jan 2008
      Location
      Essex
      Posts
      13
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      DLM in process what can I expect?

      Hi All,

      I have recently moved out of the parents and signed up with Sky Broadband Unlimited which the parents ahd and was always pretty good! Now I am setup with Sky I was wondering what I can expect from DLM? My current stats are as follows:

      Downstream
      Connection Speed: 12284kbps
      Line Attenuation: 33db
      Noise Margin: 7.2db

      Upstream
      Connection Speed: 945 kbps
      Line Attenuation: 19.3db
      Noise Margin: 11.6db

      Will this be changing during DLM? I tested my speed on speedtest.com (im reading its not that reliable) however it gave me 6.84 download and 77 upload with 114ms at 10:15am. I have been estimated 5.5mbps by Sky should I expect more?

      Thanks,

      Russ


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      27,903
      Thanks
      810
      Thanked 2,195 Times in 2,065 Posts

      Re: DLM in process what can I expect?

      The speeds may well change, but it is likely that what you are seeing is close to the final figure. Typically the testing is completed over a week.

      To find out what is actually happening, sign into your Sky account on the sky website and take a look at what is being reported under you broadband. Once completed, there will be a note on your account that you can view.

      The whole idea of testing it to see if there is a problem on your personal telephone line.

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    4. #3
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: DLM in process what can I expect?

      If you're running wireless try wired as you'll see nearer 11Mbps throughput. As for speeds, downstream is about the max but you should get more on the upstream
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    5. #4
      benfleet5's Avatar
      benfleet5 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: South Benfleet, Essex
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: D-Link DSL-2640S
      Sky TV: Freesat HD+
      Join Date
      Jan 2008
      Location
      Essex
      Posts
      13
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: DLM in process what can I expect?

      That's good I'm pretty happy with what I'm getting now, about 8mbps which is what I was expecting! If I can squeeze more out then brilliant!!

      Thanks guys, I'll keep my eyes on it?

      Would I benefit from a faceplate?

      Russ

    6. #5
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      27,903
      Thanks
      810
      Thanked 2,195 Times in 2,065 Posts

      Re: DLM in process what can I expect?

      Quote Originally Posted by benfleet5 View Post
      Would I benefit from a faceplate?
      To be honest: Yes!

      I've managed to squeeze a few more kbps out of my connection after recently fitting a faceplate just before Christmas.

      Every bit of telephone cable between the exchange and your router reduces the signal quality. The filters that Sky supply are reasonable, but the filters in the face plate are better still.

      Sky User has done a review & discussion on faceplates in the past. The type mentioned is available from various suppliers now at better prices than the chosen supplier offers currently. They do contribute towards this BB with sage advise though.

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    7. #6
      nige1983's Avatar
      nige1983 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: MRDEN
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: D-Link DSL-2640S
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2010
      Location
      Manchester
      Posts
      182
      Thanks
      5
      Thanked 17 Times in 17 Posts

      Re: DLM in process what can I expect?

      Should stay similar but whilst DLM running make sure your router is always switched on. If you switch it off DLM interprets this as a dropped connection so may lower the speeds. After 10 days call sky and get passed to CST, Tell the first advisor your calling to have your line configured for gaming or summat along those lines they will transfer you to CST , who can then configure the line manually. This worked well when I did got 2 meg more out of it now also ask for DLM to switched off completly as otherwise DLM stays on constanrtly. If its off once you've had your line configured manually you know its going to stay that way!!

    8. #7
      User05's Avatar
      User05 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Dec 2008
      Posts
      3,030
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 171 Times in 164 Posts

      Re: DLM in process what can I expect?

      Regardless of whether DLM is suspended (the actual stabilisation part of DLM that makes profile changes), the other part of DLM always runs in the background collating data 24/7.

      Also, CST will not, or should not, keep it suspended. Process is to suspend - reconfigure - resume. If the line has been left stable, as it should have been, then DLM won't have any reason to request a stabilisation period.

    9. #8
      benfleet5's Avatar
      benfleet5 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: South Benfleet, Essex
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: D-Link DSL-2640S
      Sky TV: Freesat HD+
      Join Date
      Jan 2008
      Location
      Essex
      Posts
      13
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: DLM in process what can I expect?

      I had to turn off my router and back on again, after my Internet stoped working, will this have effected me in anyway?

    10. #9
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      27,903
      Thanks
      810
      Thanked 2,195 Times in 2,065 Posts

      Re: DLM in process what can I expect?

      No.

      The issue of leaving the router on is more to do with longer term statistics so that they can see if there are any errors of the line.

      When my line was initially set up with Sky, there were a few errors and the BT Openreach eng had to fix it.

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    11. #10
      benfleet5's Avatar
      benfleet5 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: South Benfleet, Essex
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: D-Link DSL-2640S
      Sky TV: Freesat HD+
      Join Date
      Jan 2008
      Location
      Essex
      Posts
      13
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: DLM in process what can I expect?

      I am still in DLM though and was told not to turn off router, are you sure? I want to be sure lol

      Thanks

     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION