Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 7 of 7

    Just wondering about max delays.

    This is a discussion on Just wondering about max delays. within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; So been helped here a few times and i was just wondering about max delays. i know that being set ...

    1. #1
      burnie's Avatar
      burnie is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01294
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Dec 2009
      Location
      kilwinning
      Posts
      70
      Thanks
      6
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Just wondering about max delays.

      So been helped here a few times and i was just wondering about max delays.
      i know that being set at 8 is the best option for gaming but just wondering how you know what it is set at, and if you can get them decreased do you lose some b/b speed.
      i can ping bbc.co.uk with 47ms wirelessly and my stats are
      Port Status TxPkts RxPkts Collisions Tx B/s Rx B/s Up Time
      WAN PPPoA 9850397 10100121 0 507 726 684:57:15
      LAN 100M/Full 7085259 7628833 0 1106 393 684:58:01
      WLAN 11M/54M 3225672 2301004 0 1440 176 684:57:48

      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 16329 kbps 944 kbps
      Line Attenuation 29 db 14 db
      Noise Margin 7 db 14 db
      everything is fine just wondering about the max delays.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: Just wondering about max delays.

      Normally if they're decreased you gain some extra speed on your sync speed, but this can lead to intermittencies
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    4. #3
      burnie's Avatar
      burnie is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01294
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Dec 2009
      Location
      kilwinning
      Posts
      70
      Thanks
      6
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Just wondering about max delays.

      cheers, but how do you know what they are set at, is there a test to let you know. just being nosey and trying to understand all the info.

    5. #4
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: Just wondering about max delays.

      You can't, other than CST telling you they've done it
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    6. #5
      User05's Avatar
      User05 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Dec 2008
      Posts
      3,030
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 171 Times in 164 Posts

      Re: Just wondering about max delays.

      With your stats, I'd hazard a pretty confident guess that they're already set to 8ms by DLM. DLM usually sets stable lines, and even some unstable ones unfortunately, to 8ms delays.

      Ping bbc.co.uk in cmd via ethernet cable and see what ping times you're getting. If they're around 20-30 odd ms then they're likely already set to 8ms.

    7. #6
      burnie's Avatar
      burnie is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01294
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Dec 2009
      Location
      kilwinning
      Posts
      70
      Thanks
      6
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Just wondering about max delays.

      pinged bbc.co.uk via the ethernet cable from router and result were the same, also done it via the homeplugs that i use the desktop/xbox for and results were roughly the same. think i would rather have a stable connection than enquiring to $ky

    8. #7
      1cst1's Avatar
      1cst1 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01458
      Broadband ISP: Sky Connect
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Dec 2010
      Posts
      5
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Just wondering about max delays.

      the max delays being set to 8ms will only cau;se problems with intermittancy if the line/connection isn't good enough to take it. The max delays are set to 8 - 16 - or 32 MS... what this means is how often the exchange allows for errors to be checked. so 32 ms allows a greater time for it to be checked than 8. hope this helps

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION