Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 6 of 6

    router problems in main socket

    This is a discussion on router problems in main socket within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; my sky b/b is in the upstairs back bedroom it connects with a long lead. from a phone socket in ...

    1. #1
      markyb's Avatar
      markyb is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: orrell
      Broadband ISP: connect
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      wigan
      Posts
      163
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      router problems in main socket

      my sky b/b is in the upstairs back bedroom
      it connects with a long lead. from a phone socket in the front bedroom.
      i have not had any problems,
      however i wanted to plug it in to the main socket in the front room to connect. a non skybox to it (long story)
      here is what i have
      main socket, with filter . double adapter in the filter. one of the sockets in the adapter houses the lead that sky put in to connect to the sky box. the other socket houses the phone
      if i take out skybox lead and put router into it, no signal. if i connect router to main socket (no filter ) it works..
      this works fine. BUT
      i have 2 modem routers.the one upstairs wont connect if the filter downstairs is not connected, even though downstairs router will connect
      confused
      hope someone can understand this


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      penrhyn's Avatar
      penrhyn is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Long Eaton
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD 1TB Box
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      Derbyshire
      Posts
      1,186
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 10 Times in 7 Posts

      Re: router problems in main socket

      If you are trying to connect two modem/routers simultaneously then this won't work.

      Only one modem can synchronise to its counterpart in the exchange.


    4. #3
      markyb's Avatar
      markyb is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: orrell
      Broadband ISP: connect
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      wigan
      Posts
      163
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: router problems in main socket

      right im not sure if i did have both connected.
      ill have to try everything again
      thanks

    5. #4
      markyb's Avatar
      markyb is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: orrell
      Broadband ISP: connect
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      wigan
      Posts
      163
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: router problems in main socket

      thinking about it, (and i cant try till later)
      when i plugged just 1 modem in to the main socket , it would only run when it was not connected into the 2 way splitter that sky installed to run the lead to the box.
      any reason why this happens

    6. #5
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: router problems in main socket

      Setup should be:

      Socket>Filter>(phone side) whatever/(modem side) router

      The filter HAS to go into the phone socket before anything else
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    7. #6
      PaulSky's Avatar
      PaulSky is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Location
      Essex
      Posts
      4,202
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 16 Times in 16 Posts

      Re: router problems in main socket

      The 2 way splitter is just that and as above the filter must be the first thing on the socket before anything else touches the line. You aren't the first person to do this though, won't be the last either I expect.

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION