Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 8 of 8

    Unable to use TP-LINK router

    This is a discussion on Unable to use TP-LINK router within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Hi guys, New to the forum and looking for a bit of advice. A friend of mine has bought a ...

    1. #1
      kevthevan's Avatar
      kevthevan is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01909
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jan 2011
      Posts
      6
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Unable to use TP-LINK router

      Hi guys,

      New to the forum and looking for a bit of advice. A friend of mine has bought a TP-Link TDW8960N router to replace his Sky Netgear router. On conecting it he couldn't get it to work so asked me to look at it. I got his Sky user name and password through the usual mean and tried the new router but without success. After several attempts I said I would take it home and try with my pc.

      Once home I I did the same, retrieved my u/n and pasword and setup the router which worked first time. Reset to factory settings and back again several times to ensure it all worked fine which it did.

      Took the router back to him today and setup again with his details but still not working. It recognises the ADSL connection but will not connect to internet as if there is an issue with the u/n and password.

      I then took the router round to a friends who also has SKy and tried his which worked fine, but still not back at my friends.

      Any ideas, we are all on Sky and username and passwords have all been retrieved and checked in same way.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      moleman's Avatar
      moleman is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Hadleigh EAHAE
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: DG834GT + TL-WR702N
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      825
      Thanks
      10
      Thanked 31 Times in 29 Posts

      Re: Unable to use TP-LINK router

      I suspect you are inputting incorrect data into the generator. Try your username and password at his home and his U/P at your house.

    4. #3
      jordn1's Avatar
      jordn1 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Base
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jan 2011
      Posts
      3
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Unable to use TP-LINK router

      i too have this problem, same router, same ISP.

      i just wont let me connect to the internet :\

    5. #4
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: Unable to use TP-LINK router

      Same as post #2 - 99.9% of the time it's a typo from the user on the password site. If you wanna take a photo of the router details and PM me I'll do a password check and you can compare the results. Up to you of course
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    6. The Following User Says Thank You to IWasNotTheEnemy For This Useful Post:

      gmchas (23-08-11)

    7. #5
      jordn1's Avatar
      jordn1 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Base
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jan 2011
      Posts
      3
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Unable to use TP-LINK router

      i was told i have to extract my current routers firmware and place on to my new one for it to work

    8. #6
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: Unable to use TP-LINK router

      Nope, just the login details using this site:

      https://www.cm9.net/skypass/

      That's it, along with a few other default settings
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    9. #7
      jordn1's Avatar
      jordn1 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Base
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jan 2011
      Posts
      3
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Unable to use TP-LINK router

      Quote Originally Posted by IWasNotTheEnemy View Post
      Nope, just the login details using this site:

      https://www.cm9.net/skypass/

      That's it, along with a few other default settings
      Lol you posted that a little late for me mate :P using my new router and OMG its fast

    10. #8
      rowelle21's Avatar
      rowelle21 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01992
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Apr 2011
      Posts
      1
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Unable to use TP-LINK router

      can anyone help me im having the same problem and ive done what you said and still no luck

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION