Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 9 of 9

    Bad Broadband

    This is a discussion on Bad Broadband within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Hi!, Ive been using Sky Connect for a good while now and after about a month or two of using ...

    1. #1
      MickSemps's Avatar
      MickSemps is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Connect
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jan 2011
      Posts
      4
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Thumbs down Bad Broadband

      Hi!, Ive been using Sky Connect for a good while now and after about a month or two of using i have been experience really annoying problems:

      1.During Peak Times ( From around 5PM to 11PM ), I Experience Ridiculasly slow Speeds! I Checked 3 days ago and was getting 46.5KB/S Download and a 250KB/S Upload!

      2.Alot of the Time i get a "Sky Internet Unavliable, Please try again in a few Minutes". This lasts all day and does not come back on even if i Restart the Router. Even if i Hard Reset.

      3.Around 5/7 Days of the Week i cannot Play on Xbox Live or PSN. I can connect but i cant play any games. I dont know why!? I would be playing and then get suddenly disconnected and not be able to play for the rest of the day!

      My Broadband is an 8MB Broadband with a 60GB Monthly Download Cap. I have 1 Laptop, 1 Computer, 1 Xbox 360 and 1 PS3 Connected to the Router. My Router is the Sagem F@st one issued by SKY when i Signed up for the Connect Package. I also have SKY TV and a SKY Landline.

      Im hate my Internet! I am seriously thinking of changing BACK to BT even though they were very bad too, disconnecting me every hour or so.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      reddwarfcrew's Avatar
      reddwarfcrew is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,074
      Thanks
      32
      Thanked 92 Times in 85 Posts

      Re: Bad Broadband

      Unfortunately that is the Connect product for you (which is the BT product resold and rebadged by Sky).

      Sky's LLU products are fantastic, but Sky Connect is awful.

    4. #3
      MickSemps's Avatar
      MickSemps is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Connect
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jan 2011
      Posts
      4
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Bad Broadband

      Yes, Connect was the Only Aviliable package in my Area

      Is there anyway i can prevent some of this?

    5. #4
      reddwarfcrew's Avatar
      reddwarfcrew is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,074
      Thanks
      32
      Thanked 92 Times in 85 Posts

      Re: Bad Broadband

      1.During Peak Times ( From around 5PM to 11PM ), I Experience Ridiculasly slow Speeds! I Checked 3 days ago and was getting 46.5KB/S Download and a 250KB/S Upload! No cure, this is connect for you
      2.Alot of the Time i get a "Sky Internet Unavliable, Please try again in a few Minutes". This lasts all day and does not come back on even if i Restart the Router. Even if i Hard Reset.
      Not heard of this before, where does this message actually appear?
      3.Around 5/7 Days of the Week i cannot Play on Xbox Live or PSN. I can connect but i cant play any games. I dont know why!? I would be playing and then get suddenly disconnected and not be able to play for the rest of the day! Again connect just isn't the right product for gaming.

      Do you know your telephone exchange name as there may be other providers who have LLU equipment at the exchange. Check here: SamKnows - Telephone Exchange Search

    6. #5
      MickSemps's Avatar
      MickSemps is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Connect
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jan 2011
      Posts
      4
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Bad Broadband

      The SKY Cannot Connect Message appears when i try to load a webpage. It takes me to the 192.168.0.1 Router config page and shows that message :/
      This is a screenshot of it:
      http://img696.imageshack.us/img696/2347/damnerror.jpg

      AOL and TalkTalk are the only other LLU equipment at the exchange.

    7. #6
      reddwarfcrew's Avatar
      reddwarfcrew is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,074
      Thanks
      32
      Thanked 92 Times in 85 Posts

      Re: Bad Broadband

      I'd move to one of the LLU providers then, it's the bestoption by far. Connect will always plague you wth problems.

    8. #7
      MickSemps's Avatar
      MickSemps is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Connect
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jan 2011
      Posts
      4
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Bad Broadband

      Ok :/ Thanks for the advice.

    9. #8
      fuzzy logic's Avatar
      fuzzy logic is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Apr 2008
      Posts
      463
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 70 Times in 51 Posts

      Re: Bad Broadband

      Quote Originally Posted by MickSemps View Post
      The SKY Cannot Connect Message appears when i try to load a webpage. It takes me to the 192.168.0.1 Router config page and shows that message :/
      This is a screenshot of it:
      http://img696.imageshack.us/img696/2347/damnerror.jpg

      AOL and TalkTalk are the only other LLU equipment at the exchange.
      I would suggest rebooting your router then making a note of your ADSL stats in its normal socket, then plugging your router into the BT test socket if you have an NTE5 master socket, see:- ::. Kitz - Improve your adsl connection speed .:: to see if either the noise margin, or sync rate increases, or the attenuation falls, any of which which could indicate that your telephone extensions are degrading your adsl connection, see the link above for solutions.

      And also try just the router and a filter in the test socket when you have problems connecting, if the problem doesn't go away then you've probably either got a line fault or a faulty router.

    10. #9
      fuzzy logic's Avatar
      fuzzy logic is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Apr 2008
      Posts
      463
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 70 Times in 51 Posts

      Re: Bad Broadband

      As you are on connect, I would also suggest running the BT performance tester, which reports both your BT line profile and speed and posting the results, and also post the adsl statistics from your router.

      BT Performance Tester

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION