Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 25

    Connection problems - noise ADSL line?

    This is a discussion on Connection problems - noise ADSL line? within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Hi Happy New Year & apologies if post is in the wrong place, have had a good look through forum ...

    1. #1
      lukeysl's Avatar
      lukeysl is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Connect
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jan 2011
      Posts
      10
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Connection problems - noise ADSL line?

      Hi Happy New Year & apologies if post is in the wrong place, have had a good look through forum but heres my problem A we get poor broadband speed, sometimes it crawls generally its just slow
      B more recent problem is that in November our line went dead over night. It came back up and since then there has been a poor phone line – static noise and the router often gives me a flashing Orange line light – no connection. Sometimes a router reboot fixed that, sometimes not.

      So ive spoken to Sky and they got me to change filters etc and also to run the router from the test master socket. I’ve done this the last week however I still get the flashing orange light at times. In addition I have also disconnected the Bell wire from the other 2 sockets in the house (1 upstairs we don’t use, 2ndary is in the dining room for phone. Tried disconnecting this etc.

      Now this morning when the Orange light happened I tried to fault find. Tried test socket, different filters, different modem cable all to no avail. Weirdly tho if I put the phone in the filter in the test socket and plug the ADSL modem cable into the filter I heard noise – like a feint fax noise / static. Take it out – clear line. Sometimes when I put it back in the line goes quiet – shortly after the line light goes green. Sky are still saying its internal wiring but I don’t believe that as the test socket is straight out. Ive tried 4 different filters, different modem cable as it would look like they are at fault – all the same though.

      Stats below and BT speed test – all help appreciated. Speed – I might be stuck with but the crawl / no line light I think should be resolved – house has been fine or 5 months prior.

      Thanks very much - first time on Forum so sorry if in wrong place / noob question

      BT Test
      Download speed achieved during the test was - 91 Kbps
      For your connection, the acceptable range of speeds is 50-250 Kbps.
      Additional Information:
      Your DSL Connection Rate :864 Kbps(DOWN-STREAM), 448 Kbps(UP-STREAM)
      IP Profile for your line is - 135 Kbps
      Router Stats

      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 864 kbps 448 kbps
      Line Attenuation 63.5 db 31.5 db
      Noise Margin 10.6 db 10.0 db


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      PaulSky's Avatar
      PaulSky is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Location
      Essex
      Posts
      4,202
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 16 Times in 16 Posts

      Re: Connection problems - noise ADSL line?

      If you use only the telephone on the test socket you do not get noise but it appears immediately after you put the router on then something is wrong if it is happening on 4 different filters. When you are in the test socket I take it all other sockets are dead with no dial tone?
      Who is your line rental provider?

    4. #3
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Connection problems - noise ADSL line?

      Probably duff filters, try plugging two together, put the router into the first one and the phone into the second one.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    5. #4
      User05's Avatar
      User05 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Dec 2008
      Posts
      3,030
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 171 Times in 164 Posts

      Re: Connection problems - noise ADSL line?

      Can you confirm that there is no noise if you put just a phone directly into the test socket with no filters etc.? If you're only getting noise when the dsl cable is plugged in, and you've tried numerous filters and another dsl cable, then you need to call Sky and the call will be escalated to Sky's Customer Solutions Team. If line tests pass, then it'll be a replacement kit sent out (router, dsl cable, filters & psu).

    6. #5
      lukeysl's Avatar
      lukeysl is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Connect
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jan 2011
      Posts
      10
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Connection problems - noise ADSL line?

      hi firstly thanks for the reply's even on New Years Day!

      In reply -

      Paul - yes when the master socket is unscrewed and im in the test socket the other sockets are dead. I'm with Sky for talk / tv and adsl - BT openreach infrastructure.

      lsitme - just tired what you suggested will monitor it tomorrow

      User05 - two answers to that. I have had some static on the line over the last month (almost sounds like wind when you are talking to someone on a mobile!) however that seemed to stop when Sky got me to use the test socket. i've been monitoring it and the only noise so far has been noticable when I put the dsl cable into the filter. Its real noisy when I get the Orange light, less so when the router gets a green light. hope that makes sense.

      That all said - Tonight in additon to the above i've got some static on the line when having just the phone plugged in into test socket no filter. Dial tone sounded ok but I just picked up my VM and there was static on the call - so i'm guessing thats back to Sky to escalate as a line fault (all the tests they did went through ok before)?

      Cheers all

    7. #6
      User05's Avatar
      User05 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Dec 2008
      Posts
      3,030
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 171 Times in 164 Posts

      Re: Connection problems - noise ADSL line?

      Call 17070 and do a quiet line test. Do this with just a handset directly into the test socket, so no filters, bb etc.

      If you hear any noise at all, then it needs logged to Openreach. Regardless of line tests (pass or fail - usually noisy lines pass), we'd log an LL4/LL12.

      If you don't hear noise with just the handset at the test socket, and you've confirmed that this only happens when the dsl cable is plugged in, then it needs escalated to Sky CST. Makes sure you're in the test socket before you call and be ready to rhyme off what you've done already as it's 99% of the troubleshooting, the last step being running a line test. If it passes, then it'll be replacement kit sent out (router, filters, dsl cable, psu). If it fails, then it's logged to Openreach as an LL1.

    8. #7
      lukeysl's Avatar
      lukeysl is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Connect
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jan 2011
      Posts
      10
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Connection problems - noise ADSL line?

      Thanks very much, will go back through Sky now and BT if I need.

      This morning I came down to an Orange line and noise on the line, but only when the DSL cable is into the filter. Through Paranoria i've tried a new filter (the 5th!) but same thing. Phone directly into the test socket - no noise this morning (but last night I was getting static)

      Seems I have two noises. 1 the static that seems inconsistent and 2 the feint modem / fax noise and static when I have an orange line and the dsl cable is into the filter. Either way when I have a green light on the router I have no noise.

      FYI the bell wire trick seesm to have got me up to over a 1mb connection, have always been around 800k - 1mb is the max for my line I think

      Thanks for all the advice - will call round now.

    9. #8
      lukeysl's Avatar
      lukeysl is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Connect
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jan 2011
      Posts
      10
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Connection problems - noise ADSL line?

      Hi - me again. So in short Sky ran tests and agreed I had a fault / local wiring problem. they sent a BT Openreach guy round, very helpfull, he Identifed that there was a dodgy broken wire outside and also some problems with the master socket - so two problems. he replaced the master socket, and the wiring outside. Tested the line, all clear and noise free.

      However after he left I put the phone back in the extension (we run the router from the master socket on its own, and the landline from the extentsion) and I got the crackle back - quite bad. I put the phone back in the filter in the master socket - crackle. When I take the DSL cable out the filter the crackle goes. On the BT quiet line test you can hear fax noises too. It seems inconsistent, almost like the longer you have the handset up the crackling dies down. But when the crackle is there I get the Orange line / no Internet on the router.

      Long story short, im nervous about pushing Sky to send a BT guy again and face a £150 fee if its my wiring. I assume the only way to avoid a charge is if the noises only happen in the Master socket test socket as thats 100% BT's responsibility - is that right?

      whats my best way to move it forward? Will a local sparky be able to check the house wiring or does it need a specialist for BT wiring?

      My extension sockets do have the old BT logo (piper) on them. Not sure if that will cause the problem?

      Really disappointed, the BT openreach guy said my problems would 100% be the bust wiring - but anything beyond the master socket is me. so i'm nervous.

    10. #9
      User05's Avatar
      User05 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Dec 2008
      Posts
      3,030
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 171 Times in 164 Posts

      Re: Connection problems - noise ADSL line?

      Apologies if I haven't read the thread thoroughly again, but have you tried a replacement router, adsl cable and filter?

    11. #10
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: Connection problems - noise ADSL line?

      Connect to the test socket with JUST a phone - no filter. If you've got noise, fault is outside your house = Openreach's responsibility.

      Try with a corded phone as well to make sure
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

     

     
    Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION