Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 5 of 5

    Is it possible to get longer Mains plugs for B/Band Routers?

    This is a discussion on Is it possible to get longer Mains plugs for B/Band Routers? within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Strange question I know, but I want to plug the router directly into the phone line at the front of ...

    1. #1
      richmelvin's Avatar
      richmelvin is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 0151
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Dec 2010
      Posts
      2
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Is it possible to get longer Mains plugs for B/Band Routers?

      Strange question I know, but I want to plug the router directly into the phone line at the front of our house and there isnt a mains plus nearby.

      The reason for this is because the extension cable I currently use going to the rear of the house where the PC is located, means I can only get a speed of a few hundred kb's instead of up to 5mb which is achievable (as soon as the sky helpline learn you are using an extension line, its basically conversation over, they wont help).

      Also, if anyone can recommend a decent wireless product or if anyone has any feedback on whether wireless is anygood or not it would be much appreciated.

      Thanks everyone and all the best for 2011

      Rich


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      penrhyn's Avatar
      penrhyn is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Long Eaton
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD 1TB Box
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      Derbyshire
      Posts
      1,186
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 10 Times in 7 Posts

      Re: Is it possible to get longer Mains plugs for B/Band Routers?

      What wrong with a mains extension cable?

      On using your extension, if its hard wired then remove the connection to pin 3 (bell wire) at each end and you will find that you will get a vastly improved performance.


    4. #3
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Is it possible to get longer Mains plugs for B/Band Routers?

      You can get a longer ADSL cable to replace the grey one Sky supply. As long as it is good quality twisted pair you can go up to around 15 m, without significant loss. Belkin Hi-Speed Internet Modem Cable RJ11M-M 7.6M: Belkin: Amazon.co.uk: Computers & Accessories

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    5. #4
      fuzzy logic's Avatar
      fuzzy logic is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Apr 2008
      Posts
      463
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 70 Times in 51 Posts

      Re: Is it possible to get longer Mains plugs for B/Band Routers?

      Quote Originally Posted by Isitme View Post
      You can get a longer ADSL cable to replace the grey one Sky supply. As long as it is good quality twisted pair you can go up to around 15 m, without significant loss. Belkin Hi-Speed Internet Modem Cable RJ11M-M 7.6M: Belkin: Amazon.co.uk: Computers & Accessories
      If you buy a belkin modem cable, check the wiring to the plugs, I can recall reading about an issue with the wiring of some in another forum - the twisted pairs were wired to adjacent pins rather than one pair to the inner and the other to the outer pins, so you'd have a split pair, although it was a couple of years ago, so I would hope it has been sorted by now.

      Here we go:- extension lead interference :: DSL Hardware Discussion :: think broadband


    6. #5
      richmelvin's Avatar
      richmelvin is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 0151
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Dec 2010
      Posts
      2
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Is it possible to get longer Mains plugs for B/Band Routers?

      Thank you for all your help guys, much appreciated

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION