Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 8 of 8

    Using a router other than the supplied Sky one?

    This is a discussion on Using a router other than the supplied Sky one? within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; I'm changing to Sky Broadband LLU Unlimited Tonight from UKOnline, I've been informed that I 'can't' use my router, and ...

    1. #1
      Xirix's Avatar
      Xirix is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: D-Link DSL-2640S
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Dec 2010
      Posts
      11
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Using a router other than the supplied Sky one?

      I'm changing to Sky Broadband LLU Unlimited Tonight from UKOnline, I've been informed that I 'can't' use my router, and have to use this D-Link thing they sent me. I want to use my Belkin.

      Is there a way I can do this?


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: Using a router other than the supplied Sky one?

      Use the search function, it's here for a reason...or just look further down the forum...

      Extracting Sky Router passwords
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    4. #3
      Xirix's Avatar
      Xirix is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: D-Link DSL-2640S
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Dec 2010
      Posts
      11
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Using a router other than the supplied Sky one?

      Ah I see, thanks.

      Is it true that Sky Broadband is changing from PPPoA to something else, Mer? If this is true I won't be able to use my Belkin anyway, it doesn't have that connection type.

      Is the D-Link any good? I'll be using it wired, and will need to be able to disable it's firewall and forward some ports.

    5. #4
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: Using a router other than the supplied Sky one?

      I've never used it, only the Netgear...people say it's good, though
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    6. #5
      fuzzy logic's Avatar
      fuzzy logic is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Apr 2008
      Posts
      463
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 70 Times in 51 Posts

      Re: Using a router other than the supplied Sky one?

      Quote Originally Posted by Xirix View Post
      Ah I see, thanks.

      Is it true that Sky Broadband is changing from PPPoA to something else, Mer? If this is true I won't be able to use my Belkin anyway, it doesn't have that connection type.

      Is the D-Link any good? I'll be using it wired, and will need to be able to disable it's firewall and forward some ports.
      So far, Sky Sagem router users on the new sky msans have been switched to MER. Users with D-link, or either of the netgear routers are still connecting using PPPoA, and would all need firmware updates if Sky plan on shutting off PPPoA access, so I think it fairly likely that you'll be able to continue using your belkin router for quite some time yet, although it would be unwise to throw the d-link out.

    7. #6
      deadman1984's Avatar
      deadman1984 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Ponteland Newcastle Upon Tyne
      Broadband ISP: BT Infinity 1
      Router: dreytek vigor 130 modem + archer c7
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD + multi
      Join Date
      Sep 2009
      Location
      newcastle upon tyne uk
      Posts
      3,235
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 28 Times in 25 Posts

      Re: Using a router other than the supplied Sky one?

      if sky do move from ppoa to mer or whatever its called they would have to replace the routers because they dont support mer or whatever it is

    8. #7
      User05's Avatar
      User05 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Dec 2008
      Posts
      3,030
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 171 Times in 164 Posts

      Re: Using a router other than the supplied Sky one?

      As Fuzzy Logic said, some on Sky's ISAMs are running on IPoE. Most are still PPPoA, but I have no idea what Sky's plans are in the future.

    9. #8
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Using a router other than the supplied Sky one?

      Quote Originally Posted by deadman1984 View Post
      if sky do move from ppoa to mer or whatever its called they would have to replace the routers because they dont support mer or whatever it is
      Maybe you should read Fuzzy's post..

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION