Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 10 of 10

    listen port blocked! help!

    This is a discussion on listen port blocked! help! within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Hi! all, I've just switched over from ukonline, after speaking to technical support I'm finally up and running. Then I ...

    1. #1
      amoeba's Avatar
      amoeba is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: D-Link DSL-2640S
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Dec 2010
      Posts
      5
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      listen port blocked! help!

      Hi! all,

      I've just switched over from ukonline, after speaking to technical support I'm finally up and running. Then I found out that my listen port was blocked on my bitcomet and download speed has nearly come to a halt
      I have read some threads regarding this problem and followed the example given but this has not worked!
      Would appreciate a dummies guide,my router is D-link 2640s.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      PaulSky's Avatar
      PaulSky is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Location
      Essex
      Posts
      4,202
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 16 Times in 16 Posts

      Re: listen port blocked! help!

      The routers do not have any ports blocked, have you set the router up so that it is forwarding the ports you need properly?

    4. #3
      1cst1's Avatar
      1cst1 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01458
      Broadband ISP: Sky Connect
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Dec 2010
      Posts
      5
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: listen port blocked! help!

      Quote Originally Posted by PaulSky View Post
      The routers do not have any ports blocked, have you set the router up so that it is forwarding the ports you need properly?
      by the sounds of this it may not be so much the router that is blocking anything as this wouldn't affect the speed of downloading it would be more a response or latency issue. have you checked the mtu's on your computer?

    5. #4
      amoeba's Avatar
      amoeba is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: D-Link DSL-2640S
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Dec 2010
      Posts
      5
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: listen port blocked! help!

      hey! thanks for replying guys.
      At the bottom right hand side of bitcomet I have an yellow circle and it says
      blocked, check firewall and NAT router configurations. Everything was running fine until I joined sky so I'm guessing its the router
      What's mtu ???

    6. #5
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: listen port blocked! help!

      Go into your router settings and set up a service (TCP/UDP) for BitC for the listening port shown in your BC Tools/Options page . Then the firewall rules and set a rule on the Inbound Services to allow the service. This should give you a green light.
      Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails listen port blocked! help!-fr1.jpg   listen port blocked! help!-fr2.jpg  
      Last edited by Isitme; 28-12-10 at 04:54 PM. Reason: Snips added

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    7. #6
      amoeba's Avatar
      amoeba is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: D-Link DSL-2640S
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Dec 2010
      Posts
      5
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: listen port blocked! help!

      Thanks guys! I went back to my settings and had another look, I found out that
      I entered the wrong IP address Doh!!! The green light is back on now ... yipeeee!!
      Hope it stays on. So whats with creating a static IP address?? which apparently
      was one of the solutions??

    8. #7
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: listen port blocked! help!

      Creating a static address on your PC is important especially if you connect more than one device to the Internet. It ensures that your PC always receives the same address from the router, no matter if another device is connected first..

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    9. #8
      amoeba's Avatar
      amoeba is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: D-Link DSL-2640S
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Dec 2010
      Posts
      5
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: listen port blocked! help!

      Hi! guys,

      I'm back again!! opened up my bitcomet to do some downloads and found
      that sometimes I get the blocked port message but most of the time it says "your listen port status is unknown" detect failed. closing and restarting bitcomet doesn't work.
      Any ideas? thanks!!!

    10. #9
      jimscreechy's Avatar
      jimscreechy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Waford
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Oct 2008
      Posts
      6
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: listen port blocked! help!

      You could simply enable the 'Plug and Play' config option on your router, then it is automatically done for you. UNPNP it is called.

    11. #10
      amoeba's Avatar
      amoeba is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: D-Link DSL-2640S
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Dec 2010
      Posts
      5
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: listen port blocked! help!

      Thanks! All seems normal now, don't know why I was getting the problem yesterday.

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION