Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 15

    A pitiful cry for help

    This is a discussion on A pitiful cry for help within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Hi all, New here and posted this on the feedback forum but I think it should be here. I should ...

    1. #1
      coopey's Avatar
      coopey is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01773
      Broadband ISP: Sky Connect
      Router: D-Link DSL-2640S
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Dec 2010
      Posts
      7
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      A pitiful cry for help

      Hi all,
      New here and posted this on the feedback forum but I think it should be here.

      I should have been connected to broadband on 28th October and here we are, almost in 2011 and still Sky cannot sort it out.
      After switching on the router I get a few minutes of service and then it stops.
      After numerous Openreach visits, line tests, three routers and calls to Sky Technical I am still using the 3 dongle.
      Can anyone tell me how I get to talk to someone at Sky who will claim ownership of this problem and follow it through until I get the service I am paying for.
      I was supposed to be getting regular contact from a "Level 3" specialist but he wandered off bored by it all.
      Last week I got a call from a lady at Sky telling me that the D link router (of which I already had 2) had "known issues" and that she would send me a different brand of router.
      So after another 20 mile round trip to the sorting office on Xmas Eve to pick up the new router I was not at all surprised to find I had been sent another D link router.
      It's obvious that Sky are struggling with this one so any help, advice or words of comfort you may have for me will be greatly appreciated.
      I can submit more info but this should do for starters.

      Cheers,
      Gaz

    2. The Following User Says Thank You to coopey For This Useful Post:

      tomthumb88 (28-12-10)


    3. Advertisement
    4. #2
      User05's Avatar
      User05 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Dec 2008
      Posts
      3,030
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 171 Times in 164 Posts

      Re: A pitiful cry for help

      Don't make numerous threads as things get confusing. I replied with the following on your other thread, but I suggest you keep this thread going as it will probably get more traffic on this part of the forum.

      When you say you haven't been 'connected' - the internet light (@ symbol) on the router(s) doesn't come on?

      Are you definitely on Sky Connect or are you on Sky LLU?

    5. #3
      coopey's Avatar
      coopey is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01773
      Broadband ISP: Sky Connect
      Router: D-Link DSL-2640S
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Dec 2010
      Posts
      7
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: A pitiful cry for help

      Thanks for quick reply.
      Thread on the feedback forum can be deleted - can I do this myself?
      After initial start up when I get a few minutes of service the router then goes to 2 green lights and 1 amber.
      It is Sky connect that I am on

    6. #4
      User05's Avatar
      User05 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Dec 2008
      Posts
      3,030
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 171 Times in 164 Posts

      Re: A pitiful cry for help

      Ok, just to confirm: since you've had the service activated, you have been on-line with Sky broadband for a few minutes, and ever since the internet light has been solid amber?

      If you've had call-backs and router replacements, then this will have been escalated to the Customer Solutions Team. Thus, you'll need to be specific as to what has already been tried:

      Do you have any noise or issues with your landline?
      How many telephone sockets do you use?
      Does every telephone socket in use have a microfilter connected directly into the socket, with nothing before the filter?
      Is the router plugged into the master socket or an extension socket?
      Is the router running off an extension cable?
      Do you have Sky tv connected to any telephone socket(s)?
      Do you have a test socket and has Sky had you try the test socket?

    7. #5
      coopey's Avatar
      coopey is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01773
      Broadband ISP: Sky Connect
      Router: D-Link DSL-2640S
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Dec 2010
      Posts
      7
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: A pitiful cry for help

      To run down your list...........

      I get a few minutes service each time I switch the router on

      I have just the 1 socket with built in filter in the faceplate

      No extension cables are being used.

      Sky tv is not connected to the socket.

      Test socket has been tried many times.

    8. #6
      User05's Avatar
      User05 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Dec 2008
      Posts
      3,030
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 171 Times in 164 Posts

      Re: A pitiful cry for help

      Ok, I see. What happens, lights-wise, on the router when you lose connection? You mentioned that you've had numerous Openreach SFI visits - what exactly have they done or said?

    9. #7
      coopey's Avatar
      coopey is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01773
      Broadband ISP: Sky Connect
      Router: D-Link DSL-2640S
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Dec 2010
      Posts
      7
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: A pitiful cry for help

      Lights go from 3 green to 2 green and 1 amber when I lose connection.
      Speed is about 3meg when it is running which is fine by me

      Openreach cannot find any issues within my property and have told me that there have been line faults either externally or at the exchange.
      It seems to be a bit of a standoff with both Sky and Openreach not wanting to take ownership of the problem.

      With me getting a few minutes of service when the router is started is there any router settings that can be changed to try and keep this connection going?

      By the way - thanks for the replies.

    10. #8
      User05's Avatar
      User05 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Dec 2008
      Posts
      3,030
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 171 Times in 164 Posts

      Re: A pitiful cry for help

      Quote Originally Posted by coopey View Post
      With me getting a few minutes of service when the router is started is there any router settings that can be changed to try and keep this connection going?
      It sounds like an external issue (either on the actual line or at the exchange), so no.

      When you mention the internet light goes from green to amber, does it actually just drop straight to amber, or does it go off - flash amber - then go to solid amber? If it's literally going from green to amber, then you're dropping PPP session not actual sync.

      Let's see your stats when the connection is working:

      How to get your router statistics

      When the issue occurs, log into the router as per the above link and check if you have an IP address under the ADSL Port section and also under the Modem section what the Modem Status is e.g. ADSL Link Down.

    11. #9
      coopey's Avatar
      coopey is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01773
      Broadband ISP: Sky Connect
      Router: D-Link DSL-2640S
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Dec 2010
      Posts
      7
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: A pitiful cry for help

      Hi

      First set of stats is no connection and second set is with connection.


      Port Status TxPkts RxPkts Collisions Tx B/s Rx B/s Up Time
      WAN PPPoA 825 305 0 218 205 00:10:01
      LAN 0 0 0 0 0 00:00:00
      WLAN 4543 4383 0 4293 1266 00:09:51
      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 3808 kbps 448 kbps
      Line Attenuation 53.0db 29.5db
      Noise Margin -2.-3db 24.0db



      Port Status TxPkts RxPkts Collisions Tx B/s Rx B/s Up Time
      WAN PPPoA 75 50 0 70 89 00:00:60
      LAN 0 0 0 0 0 00:00:00
      WLAN 973 881 0 8247 3330 00:00:50
      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 3840 kbps 448 kbps
      Line Attenuation 53.0db 29.5db
      Noise Margin 5.9db 24.0db

    12. #10
      User05's Avatar
      User05 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Dec 2008
      Posts
      3,030
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 171 Times in 164 Posts

      Re: A pitiful cry for help

      Ok, well you're dropping sync due to noise issues. Do you have any audible noise on your landline?

      Even though Openreach probably fitted the filtered faceplate you're using now, can you confirm that this problem still happens from the test socket with numerous filters and just the short grey dsl cable that Sky provided running to the router?

     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION